We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashcroft Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haltwhistle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Ashcroft Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

465 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 459: English reviews
Bishopton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Brief overnight stay, received a warm welcome from Geoff and Christine. The Ashcroft was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was cooked to order and nothing was too much trouble and it was delicious! Would definitely recommend and would stay again!

Helpful?
Thank emmaharding16
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We try our best to make Ashcroft a decent place to stay and we are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. It was great to see you and we look forward to another time. More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We(2 couples) stayed at the Ashcroft on the evening of 15th Sept. Christine &Geoff run a beautiful establishment. THE BEST I have ever experienced. The property and grounds are superb & well maintained. It is in a fantastic position for the Town & surrounding countryside including Hadrian's Wall. We will not hesitate to promote the B&B to anybody who requires... More 

Helpful?
Thank rtombs007
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review. We do value the feedback from all our guests and we know how important it is to future potential visitors. We are so pleased that you eventually made it here at the second attempt. We hope it was worth the wait. We very much hope that the... More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We did not have a reservation here, but happened upon the Ashcroft Guest House when we were driving through the area and needed a place to stay for just one night. Even though we arrived fairly late in the evening, the hosts could not have been more gracious (lucky for us we snagged the last room available that night). We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marilyn G
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for making the effort to leave your lovely comments. We are so grateful that you stopped by the local Gas Station and Winnie recommended us. We had kept our last room just waiting for such a lovely couple as you two to turn up. We are thrilled that your stay was enjoyable and we would hope to see... More 

Oak Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Things important for a good stay - The Ashcroft checked all the right boxes - convenient to drive to, clean, BRIGHTLY LIT rooms (Hooray!), well-functioning windows, quietness, comfy beds and furnishings (Yes - sofas and a chair in the room and dressing table...), great amenities provided and a modern shower-room. Plus tea/coffee facilities... The breakfast bar and vcooked brekkies were... More 

Helpful?
Thank richardlo2016
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased that you felt able to write such a thorough review. We do try to provide a good and varied breakfast with something for everyone. Hopefully you do get the chance to return before you have to move away. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed for two nights in the two bedroom apartment of this lovely BnB. Unfortunately, the weather was not great and one of my son's was unwell. It helped that we had a beautiful apartment with plenty of space that he could just rest and watch tv or read. And the location was great. You could easily walk to town... More 

Helpful?
Thank Penciltoon
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed our Apartment. We are current half way through building another similar one. Unfortunately we cannot control the weather but we try our best to make the other parts of your stay as good as we can. Maybe next time the weather will... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

What can you say about Ashcroft that hasn't been said before. Geoff and Christine are fantastic. They have the most lovely guest house and provide the perfect short holiday break. We have been four times now and plan our travels around the 'Ashcroft experience ' If you haven't visited, just book and find out yourself.

Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. We feel honoured that you chose to bring all the family to Ashcroft to celebrate such a special occasion. We are thrilled that you all seemed to have such a happy time. After almost 21 years at Ashcroft, you have no idea as to how much we look forward to seeing our regular visitors return. We... More 

Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Christine and Geoff were splendid hosts during our 3-night stay. Nothing was too much bother and they were pleased to be of help in any way possible. The premises are kept in pristine condition and the gardens were quite beautiful. There was ample private parking. The Centre of Haltwhistle is just around the corner. The breakfast room provided a lovely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Manfred B
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a wonderful review of your stay. We enjoyed having you stay and hope to see you again on a future family visit. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Geoff and Christine thank you so very much for a great adventure. Hospitality was excellant and your assistance with transportation was deeply appreciated. The grounds of the BB are beautiful and the accomadations were outstanding. Only problem is we wished we could have stayed a couple more days and evenings!!! Hope to someday return for a longer visit. Highly recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Don F
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

We are very grateful that you chose to stay with us on your trip to see your ancestral home. It was our pleasure to offer you the advice etc. That is why we are here. Thanks for your lovely comments and we hope that more of your family might want to visit their Castle. More 

Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 13 October 2016

A very comfortable room in an immaculately kept house. Great breakfast, particularly the black pudding! However when I left my debit card would not work! This was no problem with Geoff who could not have been kinder and I paid when I arrived home. Great to find such a good service and splendid hosts. Terrific countryside also.

Helpful?
Thank Graham B
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving this great review. We are so grateful to you for leaving a review which will be well read by many people looking for somewhere to stay in the Haltwhistle area. We are pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and we look forward to a return visit sometime. I hope that you managed to sort your card... More 

Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Stayed for several nights in early October in a large, nicely furnished room. Geoff and Christine are wonderful hosts and keep their premises in tip top condition. In a peaceful location with attractive garden and private parking. Excellent fresh breakfasts, with ample choice. A good base for surrounding area attractions.We have travelled extensively and this is one of the nicest... More 

Helpful?
Thank iandm9
Geoffcj, Owner at Ashcroft Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, you are very kind. We loved having you to stay with us and we are pleased that Ashcroft suited your needs. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your trip. More 

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haltwhistle
12.7 km away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,002 reviews
2.0 km away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast Hadrian's Wall
0.1 km away
Centre of Britain Hotel
Centre of Britain Hotel
#3 of 15 in Haltwhistle
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Grey Bull Hotel
Grey Bull Hotel
#7 of 15 in Haltwhistle
146 reviews
8.8 km away
Bush Nook
Bush Nook
#1 of 8 in Gilsland
315 reviews
0.1 km away
Manor House Inn
Manor House Inn
#11 of 15 in Haltwhistle
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Ashcroft Guest House

Address: Ashcroft, Haltwhistle NE49 0DA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Haltwhistle
Price Range: $137 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ashcroft Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ashcroft Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“They are all excellent, especially the four poster bed!”
 of 5 bubbles rtombs007, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Front rooms overlook lovely gardens, although some traffic noise in the distance. The windows when closed are completely sound-proofed.”
 of 5 bubbles richardlo2016, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room overlooking the Garden as this provides a lovely view across the surrounding countryside.”
 of 5 bubbles 356manfredb, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Overlooking the garden. Also there is a super annex for families/groups”
 of 5 bubbles StephenW857, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Garden views, obviously :)”
 of 5 bubbles LisaEight, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5