We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

High Blean B&B

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
High Blean B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

48 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 47: English reviews
Start your review of High Blean B&B
 Click to rate
Reviewed 14 September 2016

We stayed in room 2 and the view from the window was absolutely stunning, you got a fantastic view of the lake and the hill/mountain pass to Hawes. The location was ideal, it is far enough away from the main roads (about 10 minutes down a single track road) but close enough to a local village for the shops (10...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Benbo80
Rochester
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in early September at High Blean and cannot speak highly enough of the warm reception given by our hosts, along with the delicious food we ate there and great and comfortable rooms and amenities we were offered there. From the moment of arrival, when we were fed a delicious cream tea, throughout our stay, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emptynest2
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We were lucky enough to book one of High Blean's two beautiful rooms for a last minute May bank holiday getaway, and we are so pleased we did. From being greeted on arrival with tea and home made scones on the patio, where we spent a happy hour in the sunshine enjoying the unbroken silence and watching the lambs and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noots83
Bleany, Owner at High Blean B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and provide us with feedback. We were pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay at High Blean and it is really helpful to understand the particularly aspects of a stay that guest find important and appreciate. If you do manage to make it back to Raydaleside we...

Yorkshire
Reviewed 30 August 2016

We had extended our stay here for 3 nights instead of 2, and it was the best move indeed. David and Suzanne run a near perfect B&B, we have never stayed anywhere better than this. Pampered is an understatement. Just absolutely lovely and perfect hosts. The personal joke about the crockery will remain between us, BRILLIANT!! Thank you again for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jj151201
Bleany, Owner at High Blean B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to provide us with feedback, which is really helpful in ensuring we provide a service guests find appropriate and enjoyable. It was a pleasure to have you as guests in our home and very rewarding to read you had enjoyed staying with us. Thank you also for recommending us to your friends...

Leeds
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We have stayed in several B&Bs around the country - and High Blean was the best of the bunch. It is in an idyllic and peaceful location, with stunning views from the back of the property across Semerwater. The bedroom was extremely comfortable and spacious, with all sorts of lovely touches - such as a vase of sweet peas from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie_10SC
Bleany, Owner at High Blean B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your stay at High Blean. We were very pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to have you as guests. Your comments are not only appreciated but really valuable in helping us in our aim of ensuring our offer...

South Hams
Reviewed 17 August 2016

I haven't read every review but I have read several and they are absolutely correct in what they say. This is B&B of a luxury class. The attention to detail is wonderful, from the greeting; tea and scones on arrival; flowers in the room; fluffy white towel robes in the wardrobe; the cleanliness and comfort; fabulous view from Bedroom 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frank P
Bleany, Owner at High Blean B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, which is very much appreciated. It was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay with us, and rewarding to see the aspects of our offer you found appealing, this helps keeps us on track. I have to say your photographs were wonderful and especially those of the...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

We couldn't have wished for a better stay! David and Suzanne were perfect, warm and welcoming hosts and it was a pleasure getting to know them and their Fox Terriers (don't worry, if you're not fond of dogs then they will be kept separately). We knew it was going to be good when we were greeted with tea and homemade...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank LambyDarcy
Bleany, Owner at High Blean B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, your feedback and comments are very much appreciated. It was a real pleasure to have you as guests, so we were delighted to read you had enjoyed your stay with us, the surrounding area and local pubs. We were also glad to read that our sausage had passed muster, we...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 March 2016

My wife and I could not fault our stay at this B&B, the service we recieved from the start ( meeting us at the gate ) to waving us off on leaving was just 1st class. The room we had was beautiful, the bed was so comfortable it was difficult to get up in the morning to go down for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 648StuartG
Bleany, Owner at High Blean B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review of your recent stay with us. It was nice to come out of our winter hibernation and have guests staying with us again, even if we could easily have remained dormant for the whole of March. So we were very pleased to get our new season off to...

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We stayed for one night at High Blean B&B. It was a lovely experience from the moment we arrived. Located in a quiet valley with stunning views from the bedroom, there was nothing at this B&B that could be faulted. We would highly recommend and certainly be coming back ourselves.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna H
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2015

From the warm welcome on arrival by David and Suzanne to the farewells on our last day the experience was brilliant! The most warm welcome from our gracious hosts who provided a cream tea on arrival with to quote Dave "scones nicer than Betty's tea rooms :)" The B&B is spotless the rooms comfortable spacious and clean, the wonderful breakfasts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaWhelan85

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Askrigg
6.1 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
371 reviews
8.6 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
3.1 km away
Riverside Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Skeldale House B&B
Skeldale House B&B
#1 of 8 in Askrigg
344 reviews
4.7 km away
Thornsgill House
Thornsgill House
#2 of 8 in Askrigg
110 reviews
5.5 km away
Ebor House
Ebor House
#3 of 23 in Hawes
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
High Blean dates back to 1674, and nestles on the south side of Raydale, one of the most peaceful of the Yorkshire Dales, which is home to Semer Water. With High Blean sitting 135 feet above the valley floor there are magnificent views of Semer Water from the house and garden. Though High Blean is an old house that has retained many original features, we do offer two good sized en-suite rooms, one of which can be made up as a twin. Each room has its own TV, hair-dryer and tea & coffee making facilities. Guests take breakfast in the dining room, which has a large inglenook fireplace with an open grate.This fire is lit in cooler months to take the chill off the morning air. Guest have use of a lounge, which has a log burning stove and is an ideal spot to read and relax in. We have ample parking, and a safe area to secure bikes overnight. There is a boot room where we would be happy to store your walking boots and walking or ridging clothes over night. ... more   less 

Additional Information about High Blean B&B

Address: High Blean Raydaleside | Semer Water, Askrigg, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL8 3DJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Askrigg
Price Range: $145 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your High Blean B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Blean B&B Askrigg, UK - England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from High Blean B&B staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from High Blean B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 2 had amazing views and so cosy”
 of 5 bubbles Benbo80, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Best view room 2”
 of 5 bubbles jj151201, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Bedroom 1 is bigger with a dressing room and bath but Bedroom 2 has the view”
 of 5 bubbles frankp782, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“One ensuite room has a lovely view down to the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles LambyDarcy, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room1 is spacious with a king bed or twin, bath & shower, room2 is smaller with ensuite shower & impressive views of Semer water.”
 of 5 bubbles LisaWhelan85, 30 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5