We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

White Hart Hotel

TripAdvisorUS$91*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$91*
US$91*
US$91*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
White Hart Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

685 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 682: English reviews
Start your review of White Hart Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Had never been before, so it was a bit of pot luck when trying to find somewhere for dinner in the middle for four couples to travel to. The reviews looked good so I opted for the White Hart. The service was great, and the selection of drinks was really good so we tried a few we hadn't had before....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ssnicholls
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Last weekend we had a party for my mums 90th birthday. We were given a separate room to have the meal for the whole family. The staff were excellent, which made the evening a night to remember. Nothing was too much, service was excellent and the food was enjoyed by all. The bedrooms are individual and full of character. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
Makati, Philippines
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in town for a christening and could not have chosen a better location to stay. The White Hart Hotel really was a picture perfect ye olde pub & inn with great beer, food, friendly staff, and cosy rooms. Oxford City centre was also only a 15-minute drive away. We wholeheartedly recommend this place.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony R
Orlando, Florida, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We did love the White Hart for the friendly people in the pub, and the good food, but the room was like an old, cheap motel room. We stayed in a room that was 3x the size at The George across the street, for a lower price ! Recommendation: Stay at The George, and go to the White Hart for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WilliamElliot
Nigel O, Owner at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and I'm pleased the food and service was to your liking. As in most hotels sited in a historic buildings we have rooms that are all shapes and sizes from standard to multi-roomed suites. Please re-visit the Whire Hart and I'm sure we can find you a room that...

Nice, France
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect location within bypassed village and near to the Thames - quiet, quaint with relaxed walks and in an explorable area. Dinner was not good, crab cakes just ok and different but calves liver main saw what should be strong vegetables overdone and submerged below liver and onions. Breakfast on day 1 poor, on day 2 very good. Owners need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mhill873
Nigel O, Owner at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review

I've checked this out and and we did have staffing problems on the night in question - I apologise and hope you will visit again and we can demonstarte our usual high standards.

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights mid week on a deal via Travelzoo. The room (although a little tired) was perfectly clean and well serviced and the shower had absolutely excellent pressure! the bed was comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful. We had a lovely dinner which was well presented and lovely surroundings and the staff went to the trouble...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo M
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Comfortable and clean rooms. The location is quiet and very pleasant. Staff helpful and the breakfast was excellent. The hairdryer adjacent to the wall mirror - not rocket science - but often not there! Excellent. Great firm mattresses.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Netgezien
Copthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017

Whilst a member of staff felt the quiet village (resulting from the building of a bypass) may be a disadvantage, we felt the tranquility and beauty of the location was an outstanding advantage. Dorchester Abbey was memorable and we had a restful night in an hotel with character. Food good and room adequate and overall a nice experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 April 2017

Stayed at this hotel for two night break, booked with Travelzoo offer with tickets, very nice hotel. Really friendly staff, had a double bed with en suite overlooking car park, lovey just to wake up to the sound of birds singing in the morning no traffic. Breakfast was really good, Evening meal wasn't great we had rump steak which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Really friendly,helpful staff. Had a lovely twin room out in courtyard. Excellent dinner on both nights & breakfast was plentiful. Would definitely visit again! Lovely little village with beautiful church.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kate367

133 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (125)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorchester-on-Thames
14.3 km away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 1 in Nettlebed
588 reviews
39.1 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
495 reviews
5.6 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wallingford
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Belmond Le Manoir aux Quat'Saisons
8.8 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.0 km away
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
Shillingford Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shillingford
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Hart Hotel dates back to 1691 and is situated in the "chocolate box" village of Dorchester on Thames in Oxfordshire. The hotel's 28 bedrooms retain all the character of the old coaching inn whilst providing the requirements for today's modern traveller. The restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for fresh food dining and offers a delicious a la carte menu as well as a 3 course fixed price Market Menu. Car Parking is free and CCTV monitored. Dorchester on Thames nestles on the banks of the Thames between Henley and Oxford and is an ideal starting point for visits to Oxford City, Blenheim Palace, the Thames Pathway, Bicester Designer Shopping Village, and many Stately Homes and Gardens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 26 High Street, Dorchester-on-Thames OX10 7HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Dorchester-on-Thames
Price Range: $162 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel White Hart
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from White Hart Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Bideford, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Oxford, United Kingdom
Brixham
over a year ago
Southampton, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from White Hart Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Beware of room on ground floor as you will most probably hear those in rooms above you.”
mhill873, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 5 overlooking car park”
blann0, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Shillingford is ideal for disabled guests but room 20 where our friends stayed has a couch and beams. Both large, clean and comfortable”
CatherineK211, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“If you want a twin room then the room named 'Oxford' is lovely.”
jadec956, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't bother with an upgraded room”
Dean-Waterman, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$91* /night
View Deal
LateRooms.comUS$91
PricelineUS$91
Booking.comUS$91
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates