We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Highgate Cottages

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newtown
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Highgate Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Highgate Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 52: English reviews
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2013

The building is beautiful and our room was comfortable, spacious and full of character. The breakfast was good and the lady who was running the B and B was very welcoming and helpful. This is a perfect break for anyone looking for peace and quiet, as the B and B is situated in the countryside, surrounded by fields and beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria T
uk
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have been to Highgate in total over 10 times and on every occasion the experience has been fantastic Sarah and Chris are brilliant, the quality in the B&B is outstanding, the breakfast fills you up for the day, the friendly and relaxed atmosphere is outstanding. The cottages are amazing we love Orchard cottage the views over the trout pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steve m
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We were given a night's stay at Highgate for Christmas and decided to stay for the weekend to explore the surrounding area. We drove here after work and got terribly lost as our Mobile phone GPS would only work if you had reception which we lost about 5 miles out. Once word of warning, bring a map! We stayed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NasPin
Ipswich, Australia
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Highgate House. It is a lovely old house. The rooms are large and well furnished with sitting chairs. The shower was good with plenty of pressure. The breakfast was good with plenty to eat. We were in U.K. for 5 weeks and this was the only B & B that offered me porridge. Welsh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scuddsy61
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed in one of the cottages, well equipped and spacious. Our 4 children (ages 7-15) immediately felt at home and we all had a great stay. I can imagine that the combnation of self-catering and B&B must make for an excellent family get-together. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ndcd
Crawley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Everything about "Highgate" is superb. The location is stunning, beautiful countryside views all around and so peaceful. The beautiful 17th century farmhouse has so much character with exposed beams, sloping bedroom floors & olde world charm. Tastefully decorated to reflect the period. Sarah made us feel very welcome, nothing to much trouble. The breakfast was delicious & set us up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steph_and_Jon_13
London
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I booked Highgate Bed and Breakfast on a buyagift voucher (2for1 Hotel stay). For the price that I paid, I didn't expect much from the accommodation but I have to say I was amazed at the quality of the Bed and Breakfast and the level of service we received. Even from the road the Tudor style farm house looked beautiful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Grace L
Notts
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed for 2 nights B&B. The room was super clean, well appointed and very spacious. The bathroom was excellent with a power shower. Breakfast was first class. Hosts were as friendly and as helpful as could be. The garden was beautiful. We dined at the local pub (The Bull & Heifer) after the host had booked us a table. This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fairymac
HighgateAccomodation, Owner at Highgate Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you very much indeed for such a glowing review, it is always our aim to show Highgate and mid-Wales off to the highest standard possible, we are very lucky to live in such a beautiful area and it is always a pleasure to share it.

Gloucestershire
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed at Highgate for two nights B&B and would love to have stayed longer but unfortunately the accommodation was fully booked. Our room was very good and had all the facilities required - including a decent WiFi connection free of charge. The owners were both very friendly and very helpful concerning local facilities - nothing was too much trouble....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chubbykneesthree
HighgateAccomodation, Owner at Highgate Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you very much for writing your review, we are especially pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay here, the WiFi can be a little intermittent in very rural mid-Wales, I am glad it was working well for you. Powis Castle is always worth a visit what ever the time of the year you are here we...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stayed over for just one night ( sadly). Fantastic quality accommodation - very friendly and welcoming . Room was perfect - large , beautifully decorated and with all facilities . Good breakfast and very helpful advice on where to walk , where to eat and what to do locally. They suggested the local pub - the Bull an heifer which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
HighgateAccomodation, Owner at Highgate Cottages, responded to this review

We are just so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here so much, Mid-Wales is the most amazingly beautiful place to visit, although some of our hills are pretty steep but well worth the effort.

35 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtown
6.6 km away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
310 reviews
20.8 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
552 reviews
2.2 km away
Penygelli Apartments
Penygelli Apartments
#1 of 5 in Newtown
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
The Forest Country House B&B and Cottages
2.9 km away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#2 of 16 in Newtown
95 reviews
0.0 km away
Gregynog Hall
Gregynog Hall
#3 of 4 in Newtown
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set within the extensive grounds of Highgate House, our cottages can offer you the peace and tranquility of the stunning mid Wales countryside, as well as a gateway to explore nearby Powis Castle, Lake Vrynwy, the Welsh coast, Snowdonia National Park and beyond. Our 3 & 4 bedroom cottages benefit from a private balcony terrace overlooking a tranquil mill pool and a stunning rotunda and patio seating area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highgate Cottages

Address: Highgate Bettws Cedewain, Newtown SY16 3LF, Wales (Formerly Highgate Holiday Cottages)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Newtown
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Highgate Cottages Newtown, Wales, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highgate Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Highgate Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we split the building so the rooms under the dining room were quieter, with late night socialisers staying under the lounge”
 of 5 bubbles susieh898, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles 446stevem, 3 Nov 2013 | Read review
“All rooms I saw were superb - we had room B which had wonderful views .”
 of 5 bubbles stephenhooker57, 1 Jun 2013 | Read review
“Ask Sarah! I originally requested a double but stated we were tall and Sarah suggested the super king would be more comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles JandDExeter, 17 Mar 2013 | Read review
“All rooms seemed equally lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles AspyPreston, 17 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5