We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Gregynog Hall

17/07/2017 18/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Gregynog Hall
Add a photo
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

82 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 82: English reviews
Start your review of Gregynog Hall
 Click to rate
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a private group visit and we were well looked after. Nice meal in the upstairs restaurant and an interesting l talk by the librarian. It is good to see the hall so well looked after now that the University of Wales have taken it on. The grounds were in superb condition, all thanks to three hard-working gardeners.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sidjen2015
Management response:

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here at Gregynog. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We love Gregynog and this time of year the gardens are spectacular. Part of the enjoyment was popping into the courtyard cafe which last year we did sometimes twice a week. That's an indication of how much we liked the place. However this year has seen changes. We arrived on the first day of the new season with anticipation. At...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mochdredarli
Management response:

Thank you for your review, we are continually looking to improve our service and so we value your feedback. We are very disappointed to hear that you do not like some of the changes which have taken place here at Gregynog. We are pleased to hear that you like our newly redecorated café, there are a lot of refurbishments which...

Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I attend a conference here, difficult to find - sat nav tried to send me down a foot path! limited parking and when you arrive you are at the back of the house and have to wonder through the gift shop to find the hotel. However, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rest of the house though was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Collette W
Management response:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to see you had difficulty finding us, Sat Navs do sometimes struggle to locate us due to our rural location! We are aware of this and have a “directions” section on our website which does also give directions for Sat Navs. We are aware that the car...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Two orders of coronation cray fish were served with mouldy bread and very brown salad leaves .Complained and received a five pounds off voucher we will not be returning a shame because the house and Gardens are stunning

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cillajonesy
Management response:

We are very sorry to hear about your experience. We value your comments which have been passed onto our catering department for investigation. Our chef has expressed his apologies and asked that you please contact us to discuss the matter further. We thank you for your comment about the house and gardens and hope you may change your mind and...

Llanbrynmair, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We met friends for lunch at the Courtyard Café before a walk round the estate, but were disappointed with the food. The "local Welsh burger" was not the worst,but not good either. The Middle Eastern Shakluka was an incredibly small portion, and was pretty tasteless, but verysweet, and very poor value for money. One member of our party enjoyed her...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
Management response:

We apologise for the delay in responding to your review. We are very sorry to hear you were disappointed with the food. We value your comments and are constantly looking to improve our service. Your comments have been passed onto our chef who has responded by saying he is very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy the food....

Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Having spent the afternoon following the woodland trails with our dog we were keen for some refreshment - the courtyard cafe didn't disappoint. Staff were friendly, service was quick and the cakes scrummy- I had the coffee and walnut sponge (which was a sizable slice) and my husband had the Bara Brith. Would definitely recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Stayed for one night in the court yard. Had our dog with us and think we were the only residents. Found the setting lovely but eerie and wasn't until we came home we read the haunted history of this place. Would still go back.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gary C
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Upon arrival around 18.30 we looked for the Reception desk, this was closed. A member of staff from the gift shop beckoned us into the shop as the keys to the "courtyard" room we had booked were in an envelope behind the counter. The chap was very pleasant and asked if we knew that the main hall was closed which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LorraineHey
Newtownabbey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We come here several times a year with the dog, do one of the long woodland walks, have a spot of lunch in the beautiful courtyard cafe and do another of the short woodland walks before going home, revitalised and relaxed from the peacefulness and tranquility of this incredible place. For £2.50 car parking fees, you can stay all day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marian D
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016

My husband and I visited today. We planned a quick lunch and then a walk in the gardens. We were forced to wait OVER AN HOUR for a simple bowl of soup, panini, and quiche. No apologies, no excuses. Later a half hour wait for just a cup of tea and slice of cake. The waitress said they were busy....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 425anne

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
17/07/2017 18/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newtown
0.0 km away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
324 reviews
0.0 km away
The Dragon Hotel
The Dragon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Montgomery
260 reviews
0.0 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Welshpool
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Mellington Hall Hotel
Mellington Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Mellington
380 reviews
0.0 km away
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
Lake Vyrnwy Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llanwddyn
1,442 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gregynog - an ancient house with a Victorian face, famous for its hospitality for at least 400 years and situated at the centre of Welsh history, art and politics. Once a landed estate now a historic house conference centre. The grounds are silent but the birdsong is loud. The conference rooms echo with debate, music and laughter but there are quiet corners for reading and dreaming ..... Set in 750 acres and a National Nature Reserve, as well as Grade 1 Listed gardens, Gregynog offers 57 bedrooms catering for conferences, weddings or just a weekend getaway. Enjoy peace and tranquility in the heart of Mid Wales. 101 guests can be accommodated with a selection of grand historic rooms, traditional en.suite and single study bedrooms. Hosting conferences since the 1920s, we now offer wireless internet, full IT support and office services with 8 conference rooms. The famous Music Room seats up to 180 people, the Dining Room 100 and the c.1636 Blayney Room can cater for a reception of 40. Four of our historic rooms are licensed for civil ceremonies and the grounds offer fantastic photograph opportunities. Waymarked walks and year round events programme, courtyard cafe and shop. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gregynog Hall

Address: Gregynog Gregynog Gregynog | Tregynon, Newtown SY16 3PW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Newtown
Price Range: $105 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Gregynog Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gregynog Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gregynog Hall Newtown, Wales, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Gregynog Hall staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Gregynog Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“main hall...1-11, all large nicely furnished, clean, shared bathrooms along corridor ( big deep baths water red hot)”
WarwickshireSmith, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Great views”
Janie564b, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“best rooms seem to be in the courtyard”
groucho007, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Make sure you get a room with ensuite!”
  • Common toilet
  • Entrance to the bedroom
Francesca_in_London, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“only came for a walk/lunch”
Gillyjasper, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
TripAdvisor
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates