We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Caves Motor Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Caves Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

81 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 71: English reviews
Start your review of Caves Motor Inn
 Click to rate
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Caves Motor Inn is situated on State Highway 3 close to Waitomo. At the time we booked we didn't realise how far from anything it is if you don't have a vehicle. When we arrived at Otorohanga by train we took a taxi from the railway station and found that we couldn't walk places like we had planned because...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denise A
cavesmi, Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review it is really appreciated by staff and management. It’s always a pleasure to host guests such as yourself We trust you had a great holiday and if you are in the area we would love to have you stay again. :)

Retford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Bed was very comfortable but in order to get a good nights sleep you need to be profoundly deaf. They do provide ear plugs but even with these it is impossible to cut out the noise of the traffic and the trains, even in the middle of the night. Sadly this was our worst night's sleep throughout our entire tour...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
cavesmi, Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your review, unfortunately some people are more sensitive to noise than others which is one of the reasons for the earplugs, other people have reviewed saying "earplugs not needed had a great nights sleep" !! sorry your stay was not the best ... hope your visit to the area was enjoyable

Terrigal, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed 1 night recently. We were delayed at airport and contacted the inn to let them know. They reassured us that they would be available after 8pm office closing time ( cleaning up in restaurant). We finally arrived 9.45pm and were welcomed warmly. Room was provided with ear plugs based on previous reviews saying the road noise was loud. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn_traveller13
cavesmi, Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to post your positive review ... really appreciate knowing that our customers had a great stay, I trust your visit to the area was enjoyable

Ipswich, Australia
Reviewed 14 January 2017

Always a worry when the first thing you see upon entering a Hotel room is a set of ear plugs beside the bed and if you are a light sleeper then they are definitely needed. The room was comfortable enough and clean and had a nice view from the balcony but the noise from the traffic on the road was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scorps_sting
cavesmi, Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks we appreciate both positive and constructive reviews, unfortunately some people are more sensitive to noise than others which is one of the reasons for the earplugs, other people have reviewed saying "earplugs not needed had a great nights sleep" !! We advise all customers on check in if they have any concerns to pick up the phone and ring...

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We had been blindsided by getting the last vacancy in Taupo days before, so panicked and booked here. Rooms were clean and had a kitchenette, the windows were triple glazed? But being beside the highway, was still quite noisy. Efficient checkin, and closed when we tried to checkout. Odd experience really, they did provide wifi, but not available in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martin R
cavesmi, Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thanks we do appreciate both positive and constructive reviews, not sure what the heading means with regards to "misleading location" ? unfortunately some people are more sensitive to noise than others which is one of the reasons for the earplugs, other people have reviewed saying "earplugs not needed had a great nights sleep" !! On check in we explain that...

Reviewed 3 January 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights here as a family. We used this as a base to explore the Waitomo caves and Hobbiton experience. Despite its modest appearance the accommodation was exactly what we required and was spotless. We were even supplied with ear plugs to combat the road noise but only one of us felt the need to use these. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stayed in this hotel for a night on 22 December 2016. This is good location for our tour between Waitomo and Matamata. Although the town was quiet, the staff at the reception desk are most friendly and approachable with good recommendations of places of interest, including the Mangapohue Natural Bride and the Marokopa falls. The town itself has not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lifesacupcake
cavesmi, Front Office Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi So glad your stay was an enjoyable experience, if time allows there are a lot of beautiful areas to explore in the Waitomo district and some of those are free as you experienced. We endeavor to advise our customers of places of interest so thank you very much for the positive comments. All the best for 2017, I hope...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

The choice to stay here started as a spur of the moment affair because of business reasons The noise issue from the main road, as per previous reviewers' notes, was prevailing and extensive through the night. It was quite surprising that there was a welcome note in the room which came with a complimentary pair of earplugs. No surprises there....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank heino02
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

My family and i spent a couple nights here while we explored Waitomo and the caves. The rooms are spartan with no frills but clean. Office staff was friendly and helpful. Within 10 minutes drive of the caves and tour offices. Sadly our first night we had neighbors that were loud-mouthed drunkards.... thankfully the hotel bar staff realized this and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Posner1
cavesmi, Front Office Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

Unfortunately we cannot gauge what guests drink in their rooms, however we would have put a stop to the noise if we were aware of the situation. We endeavor to notify all guest when checking in that if there are any issues to please pick up the phone and let us know. Many thanks for your response, this enables us...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

We had a pleasant experience staying at the Caves Motor Inn after our black water rafting experience at the glow worm caves. The rooms are fairly spacious. We had a twin bed and a single bed. It has a small balcony that offers rather nice views. There's even a microwave oven. But what is most impressive of all is the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank summerydawn
cavesmi, Front Office Manager at Caves Motor Inn, responded to this review

Hi Many thanks for your review and for the positive feedback especially regarding the restaurant. Many regulars dine with us as well as those stopping over because they feel they are well fed and well looked after!! We look forward to hosting you again sometime in the future - all the best.

12 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waitomo Caves
7.1 km away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
473 reviews
5.2 km away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
219 reviews
0.3 km away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
Waitomo Caves Guest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Waitomo Caves
488 reviews
6.0 km away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
339 reviews
8.1 km away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Caves Motor Inn

Address: 728 State Highway 3 | Hangatiki Junction, Waitomo Caves, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Waitomo Caves
Price Range: $105 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caves Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Caves Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Caves Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Caves Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Wifi reception isn't good”
 of 5 bubbles DeniseA399, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room at the back of the complex if you are a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles scorps_sting, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Light sleepers should ask for a room up the back.”
 of 5 bubbles ChrissiWood, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the back may be quieter although with windows closed traffic noise may not be a problem”
 of 5 bubbles maws4144, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room closest to the wifi signal.”
 of 5 bubbles ESC544, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5