We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Hotel Access Road, Waitomo Caves 3943 New Zealand
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
ZenHotels.com
StayForLong
View all 7 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (13)
Dining (1)

About

#5 of 5 hotels in Waitomo Caves
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Modern and friendly, our facility includes private Chalets with en suites or a Backpacker lodge with shared bathrooms. You have a choice of single, twin, double, quad or family rooms. We offer a self-catering kitchen, Free wifi in Reception/Cafe, a games room complete with pool table and TV, a laundry, luggage storage, and all linen is supplied.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Public wifi
Restaurant
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Breakfast available
Show more
Room features
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
229Reviews1Q+A24Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 32
  • 71
  • 63
  • 26
  • 37
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Samantha B wrote a review Apr. 2021
North Shore, New Zealand96 contributions40 helpful votes
We stayed here as a group of four for one night at Easter. The accomodation generally met our needs as a place to crash overnight but a few improvements would go a long way. The carpet was threadbare and there was significant water damage outside the bathroom. The bathroom itself needed an extractor fan and the shower could do with being modernised. For a room sleeping 5, more than two chairs would be useful. The bunk bed was flimsy and the beds in general uncomfortable - some new mattresses wouldn’t go amiss. The kitchen is currently located in what was previously the on-site cafe. An array of appliances are strewn across the bar with various extension cords snaking around the place. One appliance generally needed unplugging to be able to use another. No proper crockery and cutlery was available - some disposable bowls and cutlery were on offer. Luckily we had a picnic set! Customer service could also be dramatically improved. Prior to arriving we were advised our booking had not been confirmed due to no credit card details apparently being provided. Our room had therefore been given to someone else but they had an alternative available (5-person ensuite as opposed to the kitchenette room). We are unclear as to how this happened given you have to put in credit card details to book and we had a confirmation email. However when trying to find a solution, the person spoken with was defensive and becoming increasingly aggressive and there was no apology. On arrival we found our alternative room had no power and when we contacted the front desk, the communication was, again, defensive and not apologetic. It is well located, competitively priced and there is some evidence of recent improvements (internal painting, parts of the wooden decking) but there’s still a way to go to bring this place up to scratch.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Waitomo Kiwipaka, Guest Services / Front Office at Kiwi Paka
Responded Apr. 4, 2021
Hi Samantha, Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. Please accept our apology as we failed to provide you the best possible guest experience.
Read more
VJ1S wrote a review Feb. 2021
33 contributions
+1
The motel reception was closed, had to pay for the room and pick up the key at the bar next door. Basic room, dated furnishings, curtains are see through, generally clean, musty odour. Terrible night's sleep. Because it's so quiet, You can hear everything in the carpark. The pillow cases and duvet covers have some discolouration, not sure if they got a bit of bleach on them or what, but I wouldn't let my kids put their heads on those pillow cases, we cover with our own pillow cases anyway. Was ok for one night, I personally wouldn't stay for more than that unless you were just in the room to shower and sleep. There's a little outdoor balcony area which is good for smokers I suppose, I didn't use it. The local bar and grill is walking distance and had some decent grub. Waitress that greeted us was lovely. The general store is down the road where they have basics. Caves are 5 min up the street.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
T M wrote a review Feb. 2020
Christchurch, New Zealand7 contributions2 helpful votes
Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We had a chalet with a small deck. Everything was clean except unfortunately for the deck which had mould which is carcenogenic so I did not use that.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from KiwiPakaWaitomo, General Manager at Kiwi Paka
Responded Feb. 22, 2020
Thank you for your feed back we appreciate you taking the time. Many Thanks Glenn
Read more
Wendy D wrote a review Jan. 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom108 contributions70 helpful votes
For one night to visit the caves we booked a chalet room. Met all our needs although basic. Staff are friendly and helpful. Food options locally are extremely limited and finish early. Plan ahead! Glowworm caves are well the visit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from KiwiPakaWaitomo, General Manager at Kiwi Paka
Responded Jan. 25, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to review us we really appreciate it Many Thanks
Read more
Hannah McGrath wrote a review Jan. 2020
Houston, Texas7 contributions3 helpful votes
First day in New Zealand on our honeymoon and arrived at our accommodation. We were greeted at the reception desk by a burly male with uneven eyes. He was appalling! Arrogant, rude, obnoxious! Almost as if he was going out of his way to be a p***k! The rooms themselves were spacious, although there is no AC so it was unbearably hot. The bed was possibly the worst I have ever slept in but the one positive was the shower was great! I just hope the rest of our honeymoon is better than the reception we got here from that a hole!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from KiwiPakaWaitomo, General Manager at Kiwi Paka
Responded Jan. 6, 2020
Thanks for sharing we always appreciate your feed back. We are sorry if our staff seemed out of sorts that day we will address this issue. I am sad to read that although you enjoyed the shower the rest of your experience was not up to your expectations for which I would like to offer my sincerest apologies.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$44 - US$67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
kiwi paka waitomo hotel waitomo caves, kiwi paka waitomo north island
LOCATION
New ZealandNorth IslandWaikato RegionWaitomo DistrictWaitomo Caves
NUMBER OF ROOMS
47
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kiwi Paka
Which popular attractions are close to Kiwi Paka?
Nearby attractions include Caveworld (0.1 km), Ruakuri Walk (2.6 km), and Ruakuri Cave (1.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kiwi Paka?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Kiwi Paka?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Kiwi Paka?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Kiwi Paka?
Conveniently located restaurants include Huhu Cafe, Waitomo Homestead, and Waitomo General Store.
Is Kiwi Paka located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Waitomo Caves.
Does Kiwi Paka offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Is Kiwi Paka accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.