We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Otorohanga Holiday Park

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Otorohanga Holiday Park
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

38 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 33: English reviews
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I stayed here in October. I had a powered site (as I had a caravan). Really handy having a tap beside the power. The hedges gave some privacy. The amenities were clean and tidy with good showers and washing machines/driers. the grounds were well kept. Wifi worked for me and had no issues connecting. The hosts were friendly and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NZRelievingTeacher
Billie-Ann G, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi NZRelieving Teacher thank you for your review. Really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Nambour, Australia
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We were a bit desperate when we had the information centre in Te Kuiti make this booking for us. All the motels in the area appeared full due to the much anticipated opening of a supermarket in town the next day (as it turned out there were in fact some beds available in a nearby motel). We paid $120 for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glaitken1
Billie-Ann G, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi glaitken1, Really sorry to read you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Would like to clarify that we aren't a motel and we don't have motel units. We are a holiday park with a range of accommodation, cabins, en suite units and self contained units. We do have very firm beds in all our units and keep them up...

Jyvaskyla, Finland
Reviewed 25 August 2016

We stayed here for one night in in the first week of January. The place is nicely build, with lot of open space to park your campervan. The showers were in good condition, as was the kitchen area. The only negative aspect was the nightly noise from the trains that passed the campsite nearby. Other than that, this place was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoonasHM
Reviewed 14 June 2016

We really enjoyed our stay here but I do agree that the cabin rooms can change temperature drastically! At night they were cold and during the day it was sweltering hot but each problem can be rectified with blankets/heater and opening the doors/ windows. It a beautiful little holiday park with ample parking, a few well equipped kitchens, super clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lady_Peekaboo19
Billie-Ann G, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi thanks for your review. Great you enjoyed your stay and you were able to make use of our fitness facility. Unfortunately during April our weather is very changeable, we can have all four seasons in one day. Thanks again for your review. Cheers Billie & Kelvin

Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed 11 January 2016

I booked this through isite which was my first mistake. I should have seen the property first. I paid $69 for a hot tin box. The wi-fi wasn't free like I had been told. Usually there is at least a sink in the room when there are shared facilities. No sink and the shared facilities were across the driveway. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seniortraveler65
Billie-Ann G, Owner at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi , Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay. We do have a number of photos on our website and also list with online travel agents who have photos as well. We also welcome inspection. Sorry you were told our wi-fi was free, unfortunately we do have to pay for it, so therefore, we have to pass this cost...

UK
Reviewed 31 December 2015

Otorohanga is not, in itself, an exciting small town but it is in a good position if travelling from Waitomo to Rotorua. It also gives the opportunity to take in the Kiwi House and Native Bird Park. We only stayed overnight. The people at the Holiday Park are very helpful. The accommodation we had was roomy, with its own ensuite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank active_traveller_UK
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

$30 per person per night in the cabin. The shared kitchen and toilet is close within 100 metres. Coined laundry facilities. Walking distance of about 10 minutes to the main street of town where there are relatively lots of good food and choices. Good place to stay for visiting waitomo caves. About 20 minute drive from waitomo caves. Free parking....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel Zi Yi Y
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 September 2015

Booked this room as it had a nice little deck and looked good from the photos. Seemed private (as good as you can get in a holiday park), but I didn't have a really GOOD look. There was the very bare minimum of tea and coffee type facilities, a rather inefficient wall heater and the bed looked and felt very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2xs
Billie-AnnG, Manager at Otorohanga Holiday Park, responded to this review

Hi, Sorry to read you didn't enjoy your stay at our park. I am not sure which unit you had booked but going by your comments I think it was our en suite unit. This unit is suitable for one or two adults and has a private bathroom. It has a double bed which is less than a year old...

cambridge
Reviewed 11 May 2015

Areas for campervans were divided up by hedges which gave some privacy as the site is quite small. The kitchens and bathrooms were nicely laid out but could have done with a clean. The owner was very helpful and knowledgeable. Not very quiet, as there is a train line closeby. There is an onsite 24 hour gym if you feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina F
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 March 2015

This is a camp site with motor home / caravan parking and nice motel units from the very basic bedroom only to the self contained. The accessible unit had a proper wooden ramp apart from the toe of the ramp which was impossible to use without help as it was almost a 45 degree angle. The owners will look at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobertAkld

19 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otorohanga
13.7 km away
Waitomo Caves Hotel
Waitomo Caves Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
436 reviews
13.2 km away
Woodlyn Park
Woodlyn Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
206 reviews
12.3 km away
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
Waitomo Top 10 Holiday Park
#1 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Otorohanga and Waitomo Motels
8.0 km away
Glow Worm Motel
Glow Worm Motel
#2 of 5 in Waitomo Caves
67 reviews
16.4 km away
Waitomo Lodge
Waitomo Lodge
#1 of 3 in Te Kuiti
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy a friendly stay at the newest holiday park in the King Country / Waitomo region. Located in the centre of Otorohanga, the kiwiana town of New Zealand. Stroll to the towns many unique shops, restaurants and bars, view our native bird the Kiwi at Otorohanga’s nocturnal Kiwi house and native bird park. Otorohanga Holiday park is only a 15 minutes drive to the World Famous Waitomo Glowworm Caves and Black Water Rafting adventures. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Otorohanga Holiday Park

Address: 20 Huiputea Drive, Otorohanga 3900, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Otorohanga
Price Range: $66 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Otorohanga Holiday Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Otorohanga Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Otorohanga Holiday Park staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Maybe if you are in a camper this works but not if looking for a bare minimum of amenities.”
 of 5 bubbles Seniortraveler65, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“If you are travelling here with kids, pay the extra to stay in the one bedroom unit, ideally Unit 6/7 which are right by reception and the entrance gate, but also has a picnic table/grassy area/trampoline and small childs playground immediately in front of the units which makes it a safe place for kids to play.”
 of 5 bubbles ClaudiaJHunt, 25 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Hedge-lined area at the back of the site adds some privacy if you're using a powered site.”
 of 5 bubbles LittleMissSunshine24, 10 May 2014 | Read review
“The little cabins are great if you travel alone. There's a bunk bed fitting a couple (below) and one more person (top), but you can have it all to yourself too.”
 of 5 bubbles Bakoyma, 5 Jan 2014 | Read review
“I am not sure there is a quiet spot”
 of 5 bubbles 757carol, 18 Oct 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay