We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Koo Karoo Guest Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Koo Karoo Guest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

150 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 138: English reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

You couldn't want more from Koo Karoo. Close to the main road but calm and peaceful. Spotless rooms were large and comfortable with kettle, fridge and clean towels provided. Plunge pool cooled us off after a hot day on the road. Shirley is a wonderful hostess, who will welcome you, book you a table at the best restaurant in town...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sian W
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou so much Sian & Henry for your wonderful words. I am so happy that you enjoyed your time here and I am pleased I was able to help by printing and scanning the required document, it was a pleasure to be of assistance! I do hope that you will return to Montagu one day in the future. Enjoy all...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was met the owner, Shirley. Absolutely neat as a pin. Very spacious unit. Appreciated the 5 Roses tea (My brand of choice). Lovely setting opposite a beautiful church. Well kept garden with a small pool.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lucyg444
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks Lucy for taking the time to post a kind review of your stay here with me at Koo Karoo. I am happy that you enjoyed the facilities supplied and that the standard of everything was acceptable for you. Best Wishes for all your future travels, Shirley

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here as a stop gap on our drive from Knysna to Cape Town, and we were so pleased with our choice! The owner Shirley, a fellow Brit, was so friendly and helpful with recommendations of local restaurants and things to do. The room was a very decent size with high ceilings and equipped with teas and coffee and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lili S
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks Lili & Ian for your wonderful review. I am pleased that my suggestions on things to do and restaurants locally were helpful to you and that you had some Montagu sunshine whilst you were here! I wish you many more successful travels and I hope maybe a return visit to Montagu one day in the future. Kind Regards,...

Edam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We've visited Koo Karoo guesthouse on our cycling Holiday and it was a very warm welcome. Shirley and Anne are very kind and helpfull. The rooms are clean, big, bed allright and there was a nice livingroom with television and lots of games. The breakfast was perfect and we did enjoy our stay very much. The house is in The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diana662014
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou Diana & Jaap for your positive review. It was a pleasure to help you both with advice on places of interest in the area and on places for coffee stops whilst you were cycling to your next destination. I hope you enjoy many cycling holidays and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to Montagu one day in...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Every other recent review has summed up Koo Karoo for you. It's quiet, well appointed, comfortable, homely, clean and welcoming. Look no further.....Shirley ( who runs it ) will ensure that your stay is fabulous. Montagu is a lovely town with beautiful buildings and flora. The Guest House is nice and central, close to restaurants and shops, and we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Derek P
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou Derek & Keyna for your 'heart-warming' review. I am so pleased that you found things to be acceptable for your stay and that you enjoyed Montagu and its surroundings. It was certainly a pleasure to host you and I hope that you will return to SA and Montagu for a future visit. Wishing you many safe travels, Shirley

Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

And once again i have done my usual holiday.this time i have decided to go to montague.....so i have booked Koo Karoo lodge.On my arrival i got greeted by the most friendliest person called shirley(the owner)explaining me the town.....showing me to my room....and i must say..wow.....wow....my room(nr 3)..a kingside bed...dstv.....bath with and a shower.....coffee and wifi ....a fridge.....swimmingpool...The place is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ursula j
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks Ursula for your wonderful review. It was a pleasure to host you and I am so happy that you enjoyed some peace and relaxation whilst you were here from your hectic working life. I hope that you will return for a visit and that we can have more chats! With my very best wishes to you, Shirley

Reviewed 22 October 2016

On our trip through ZA we've been to several guesthouses and Koo Karoo was one of the best. Shirley gave us a warm welcome and introuced in everything very well. The rooms are tidy and spacious, the guesthouse itself has a nice location in Montagu. We had a good time here. Thank you! Gerald and Claudia

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gerald H
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou Gerald and Claudia for your review of your time here at Koo Karoo. I am so pleased that everything was acceptable for your stay, it was a pleasure to offer some local advice to you both. I hope that we may meet again one day in the future if you return to Montagu. Wishing you many successful holidays, Shirley

cape town
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Spotless facilties. Safe parking. Its like home from home. Excellent eating places closeby if you don't feel like cooking. Very quite area, so a good sleep is guaranteed. One of the best establishments on the R62. Highly recommended. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hermann21
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks Hermann for your review. I am pleased that you found the accommodation to be clean and comfortable and that you had a good nights rest. I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back one day in the future. Warm regards, Shirley

Reviewed 18 September 2016

Hostess Shirley was very friendly and welcoming. She also gave me a map to the wedding venue where we were attending a wedding on Saturday. The room was spacious and very comfortable. There is a safe parking area. The breakfast was delicious. We will definitely go back as the setting and the price was perfect. Thanks Shirley !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LizMunt
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks Lizette for your welcome review. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with me and that the wedding you attended was wonderful - even if the temperature was a little chilly! I hope to see you back in Montagu one day in the future. Kind regards, Shirley

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed at the guest house for 1 night only, but were so sorry to leave so soon! The friendly hostess and comfortable cottage (at the back of the house) made the stay a real pleasure! It is also very child friendly with a patch of grass in an enclosed garden so that parents can relax without the little ones...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jolene V
Shirley T, Owner at Koo Karoo Guest Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks Jolene for your positive review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your short break in my cottage and I hope that you will re-visit one day in the future. With my best wishes, Shirley

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
0.3 km away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
460 reviews
0.2 km away
Airlies Gastehuis
Airlies Gastehuis
#4 of 27 in Montagu
302 reviews
0.4 km away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Four Oaks Guest House
Four Oaks Guest House
#11 of 27 in Montagu
92 reviews
0.4 km away
Vineyard Country House
Vineyard Country House
#2 of 27 in Montagu
388 reviews
1.0 km away
Somerset Lodge
Somerset Lodge
#6 of 33 in Montagu
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spacious en-suite B&B rooms with private entrances. Economy double/twin; queen double and king double. Economy room and Queen room offer tea/coffee facilities, heater/fan and SABC TV. King room offers tea/coffee facilities; modern airconditioning unit and overlooks the garden. Early breakfasts catered for if required! Secluded garden, braai area, gated off road parking and small pool. Free WiFi available in all rooms. Visa & Mastercard accepted. Two self catering facilities with well equipped kitchens and lounge areas with DSTV (30 channels)located on the same site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Koo Karoo Guest Lodge

Address: 5 Piet Retief Street, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Price Range: $56 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Koo Karoo Guest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Koo Karoo Guest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koo Karoo Guest Hotel Montagu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Koo Karoo Guest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose one of the self contained units for a spacious and quiet stay.”
 of 5 bubbles 529DerekP, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I loved the quiet of a garden facing room.”
 of 5 bubbles Filetmylar58, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Room no 3 of the guest house of cottage for self catering”
 of 5 bubbles 147fionas, 8 Sep 2015 | Read review
“We had a family room which sleeps 4 and it over-looked the beautiful garden.”
 of 5 bubbles 904ilseh, 7 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Self catering is value for money”
 of 5 bubbles Theresa1962_12, 26 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay