We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

African Game Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
African Game Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 173: English reviews
Start your review of African Game Lodge
 Click to rate
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed on 19 - 21 March for our anniversary. Booked via Wikideals on a special. We had a very very relaxing and quiet stay which we really enjoyed - there is no wifi or mobile reception, so you can really just relax and switch off completely. We were greeted so warmly by Monwa - he was lovely and helpful...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Talia G
MorneXanet001, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I am glad to know that Monwa took good care of you on a sunday and monday. We have a total of 12 staff members to make sure everything is done for Monwa to welcome you. When arriving on a sunday afternoon all 12 will unfortunately not be standing in a row. Every monday at...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were completely enchanted by the African Game Lodge. The location is remote, totally peaceful and utterly magical. Given the extremely reasonable price we were expecting fairly basic accommodation but on the contrary we found our cottage very well and tastefully furnished and extremely well appointed. It also stayed remarkably cool even in the midday sun and had a huge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NigelH_UK
MorneXanet001, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! It was a pleasure having you. Hope to see you again soon. Regards

Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Need to get away from your hectic schedule ? This is the venue for you. Tucked away in the mountains on a scenic dirt road, we were impressed by the location and quality of the cottages. Eland roamed the camp regularly. We enjoyed the silence and night skies and enjoyed the quality of dinner served. The freedom of walking anywhere...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lindo H
MorneXanet001, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure having you. Regards

Capetown
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The unit we stayed in had no aircon as it is solar powered, however it was really cool thanks to the high ceiling and grass roof. The hot water is heated with gas but the supply to the shower was at constant temperature, we stayed at some places where it is really uncomfortable to shower as the temperature and pressure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bobby G
MorneXanet001, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure having you. Regards

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Difficult to put in words how GREAT this lodge is. Monwa is an absolute STAR! He is one of those rare persons who makes a great place a WOW place. The scenery is amazing & the chalets are really world class. Will definitely return & recomment the place to friends & family. Sad to say unfortunately, but the restaurant is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hennie v
MorneXanet001, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It was lovely having you. We will look into the restaurant issue. Regards

Wiesbaden, Germany
Reviewed 22 February 2017

The African Game Lodge is a wonderful opportunity for a bush experience very close to Cape Town. The chalets are beautifully furnished and equipped with everything you need. It is very relaxing to stay here and everybody was very helpful.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank H3559CDandreas
MorneXanet001, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure having you. Regards

Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 19 February 2017

The unit we stayed in was quite comfortable. We enjoyed the serine Karoo beauty of the area and the extreme remoteness. We took a self-drive and saw some game and went to view the Bushman art. On the downside....unfortunately the fridge (solar/battery powered) did not work very well but the Lodge is well prepared with ice. The pool was a...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 519charlv
MorneXanet001, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure having you. Regards

Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

Not much can be said that already hasn't in the great reviews. Mowana is always around and so helpful if you need him. He even let us feed the cheetahs with him. The views are stunning and you really feel like you can relax as it's so quiet. The food we had was fantastic too, we were treated like royalty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan J
MorneXanet001, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review! It was a pleasure having you. Regards

Luanda, Angola
Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

After having had a slight problem with the GPS which decided to send us the long way round 80km of dirt track we arrived at the resort and we're welcomed by an ostrich . The place is very nice the houses are well equipped we regret not having spend more time there we will be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Itguy_792
MorneXanet001, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. It was a pleasure having you. Regards

Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt, France
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

Overall we enjoyed our stay in the little cottage with its spacious terrace where you can truly relax and take in the views. The remoteness and scenery out weigh the animals which are fairly scarce ( not with standing we saw ostrich, wildebeest, kudo & Eland). It was nice to be able to freely walk out in the countryside amongst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TodgeProvence_France
MorneXanet001, Owner at African Game Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for the review. I will have a look into the menu. I believe that Monwa is more than capable of handling and hosting guests. I am busy on the farm sunrise to sunset and not always available, therefore we have Monwa. Regards

220 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (98)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montagu hotels
22.5 km away
Montagu Country Hotel
Montagu Country Hotel
#1 of 2 in Montagu
526 reviews
21.8 km away
Montagu Springs Resort
Montagu Springs Resort
#2 of 2 in Montagu
85 reviews
22.9 km away
Sanbona Wildlife Reserve - Tilney Manor, Dwyka Tented Lodge, Gondwana Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Galenia Estate
Galenia Estate
#5 of 33 in Montagu
142 reviews
18.8 km away
White Lion Lodge
White Lion Lodge
#12 of 33 in Montagu
89 reviews
23.0 km away
Montagu Vines Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestling in a vast valley amidst the spectacular highland mountainous scenery of the Little Karoo, lies African Game Lodge, a private nature reserve where wild animal have a future. Whether you are looking for a relaxing nature break, need to recharge your batteries or you are looking for an active holiday where you can hike & bike in natural surrounds, African Game Lodge is ideally situated, being only 2 ½ hours from Cape Town and just 30 minutes from the magical town of Montagu. Well-appointed thatch cottages, built in traditional Karoo architecture, provide a comfortable retreat where you can relax and look out over the valley, open spaces and surrounding mountains. Each Cottage is equipped with a fireplace for those chilly winter evenings, and the thatched roofs ensures an inviting coolness during the heat of summer. Awake from a good night sleep, and venture out into the healthy mountain air to choose from a variety of activities such as day hikes, short walks, self-drives, Eco & Game Viewing Drives, bird watching, nature exploring, or just sit and absorb the absolute silence and sounds of nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about African Game Lodge

Address: Driekuilshoogte Pad, Montagu 6720, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Montagu
Price Range: $104 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — African Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your African Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from African Game Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Lewes, Delaware
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from African Game Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All chalets are nice and private with view, so you can stay in any of them”
152taliag, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All six main cottages have awesome views and total privacy. Two more cottages closer to the reception might not be quite as private”
NigelH_UK, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Amazing views, quite, peaceful, plenty of wild animals”
hvandermescht, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Chalets are very well equipped, crisp white linen.”
  • Morning visitors
  • Such comfort
Aehrintyler13, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“All cottages have a beautiful view”
NicolaConradie, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5