We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Travellers' Choice award winner
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shangri-La\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,909: English reviews
Start your review of Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa
 Click to rate
Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have just returned from 7 nights at the hotel it was purely amazing. we stayed in Rasa wing in Superior Room. I highly recommend staying in Rasa wing as yyou get son many extra benefits wiht the hihg tea and happy hour which is free drink frm 5.30-7pm and some canapes it was lovely. Food Buffet is the best...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Adamslouise22
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Came here with husband for 3 days 2 night. The amenities is little, no shaver no comb, only one tooth paste (sharing one with my husband), no coffee no tea. When we called them for tea bag, they brought way too many coffee, tea, sugar, coffee mate and put aside the tv like a garbage, without placing them properly. My...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shazanaj2017
SL_Penang, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear shazanaj2017, Thank you for sharing your review with us. We appreciate your comments and have highlighted them to the respective department for our continuous improvement. We regret to hear about the inconvenience you have experienced and hope to welcome you again for a true Shangri-La experience at Rasa Sayang in the near future. Best regards, Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman...

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel between the 4th and 18th of April. We booked a Premier room, 2530, in the Rasa Wing and was certainly not disappointed. The room was very clean and spacious with a double balcony with a table, two chairs, a sun lounger and bath for two, with views over the extremely well maintained...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Phil P
SL_Penang, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Phil P, It has been our privilege to have you with us during your stay in Penang. We are pleased that you have chosen Rasa Sayang as your home away from home and are already looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit! Best regards, Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman Director of Communications

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Kid's bedsheets was not changed for 5 nights. A glass of warm milk took over 30 mins to deliver past 1030pm. Fire alarm went off in the wee hours on my 3rd night (unavoidable). HDTV showing stretched and blurry SDTV. Jellyfish warnings on the beach. Front line staff was friendly and welcoming. For the high premium charged, it certainly did...

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dcnlog
SL_Penang, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear dcnlog, Thank you for your feedback. We have highlighted your comments to the respective departments for further improvement on our services and facilities in order to better provide for our guests. We are sorry to hear about the challenges you have encountered and hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future with...

Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

location is nice, room was perfectly cleaned, thanks to the room attendant (Mr. Nazmul). Our room number was 1310. Thanks to housekeeping and Mr. Nazmul. We wish to visit again in near future. we would love to recommend this hotel to our friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank masud4
SL_Penang, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear masud4, Thank you for choosing Rasa Sayang as your vacation home. We are glad that you had an enjoyable holiday at our resort. Hope to see you again very soon! Best regards, Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman Director of Communications

Penang Island, Malaysia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

nice place to stay. well maintained. good rooms, good food. excellent housekeeping. We had kids with us and the room attendant was professional dealing with the guests and the kids also. Mr. Ismail, the room attendant was really helpful and cared about cleaning. well done boys. Our room no was 1529 stayed for four nights

 Report
Helpful?
Thank masudjahangir
SL_Penang, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear masudjahangir, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you had a fantastic stay at Rasa Sayang. Looking forward to delighting you again with our Shangri-La hospitality on your next holiday in Penang. Best regards, Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman Director of Communications

Staffordshire
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

If travellers are expecting to be able to lounge on the beach & dip in & out of the sea, then they'll be disappointed. The beach is dazzling white but more like builders' sand than the soft powdery type we expected. And alas, the sea is murky & out of bounds anyway due to jelly fish. There are signs as...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carolina05
SL_Penang, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Carolina05, Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you had an overall pleasant stay with us and can't wait to delight you even more on your next visit to Penang. Best regards, Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman Director of Communications

Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Do not let this hotel's big name mislead you.Unfortunately it is far away from Shangri La's expected standards. First of all it is a huge complex and out dated. It reflects old fashion tourism mentality built/designed for mass crowds. Beside this, I sincerely believe that this hotel has a serious hygiene problem. Our bathroom marble walls and floors were full...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amkunt
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I almost give it a one bubble review as they have difficulty confirming the requested 2 rooms for king size bed to be located on the same floor. Subject to availability is not good enough as if they could not give it to me, I will not book this hotel. As a hotelier, definitely, I know they can super block...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oedipus98
SL_Penang, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear oedipus98, We appreciate your comments about your recent stay at Rasa Sayang. Thank you for sharing your stay experience. We are glad that your family had a wonderful holiday with us. We can't wait to welcome you back to our resort on your next vacation in Penang. Best regards, Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman Director of Communications

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Wow! What an amazing resort. We had 6 days of bliss here. I found the Rasa very hard to fault. Beautiful grounds next to the ocean, a great swimming pool, good food and the night market on our doorstep. Very affordable, value for money I thought. The staff were great, especially in the spice market cafe. We loved our time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gemma B
SL_Penang, Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Gemma B, Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back again on your next holiday in Penang! Best regards, Suleiman Tunku Abdul Rahman Director of Communications

2,811 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2379)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (450)
Viewed
Dining (170)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (364)
Viewed
Room/Suite (314)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (9)
Viewed
View from Room (178)
Viewed
Bathroom (66)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
2:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (825)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (416)
Viewed
Amenities (90)
Viewed
Beach (13)
Viewed
Garden Wing Jacuzzi (2)
Viewed
Garden Wing King Room with Balcony (40)
Viewed
Main Pool (20)
Viewed
Rasa Wing Jacuzzi (2)
Viewed
Rasa Wing King Room with Terrace (42)
Viewed
Rasa Wing Pool (16)
Viewed
Rasa Wing Studio Suite with Balcony (51)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
The Hotel (94)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Batu Ferringhi
0.4 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
1.9 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
3,793 reviews
1.2 km away
PARKROYAL Penang Resort, Malaysia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,390 reviews
1.1 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
Holiday Inn Resort Penang
#5 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
2,120 reviews
11.5 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort and Spa has a sense of history, place and tradition. A 5 star resort located in Batu Feringgi, Penang Malaysia. The sprawling gardens of the resort are ideal for team building exercises, outdoor meetings and allow you to enjoy your meetings and conventions in a tropical setting. Exchanging lifetime vows under our sheltering rain trees will make your wedding unforgettable. Also, nothing creates more wonderful memories than a perfect day in our beautiful gardens. Rasa Sayang resort and Spa is also connected to George Town via our complimentary daily shuttle. With so much cultural history and vibrant street art, it's no surprise that Penang's capital, George Town, has been designated as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.George Town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa

Address: Batu Ferringhi Main Road | Kampung Tanjung Huma, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > Batu Ferringhi
Price Range: $220 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 304
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Hotel Batu Ferringhi
Shangri-La`s Rasa Sayang Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Hotel
Rasa Sayang Penang
Shangri Las Rasa Sayang Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa Penang/Batu Ferringhi, Malaysia
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Business Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Family Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in Batu Ferringhi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
67 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (67)

Questions? Get answers from Shangri-La's Rasa Sayang Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“good location and great food.”
Adamslouise22, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“good views, well maintained property.”
masudjahangir, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose the seaview room on upper floor and request not to face the car park lot.”
oedipus98, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“RASA WING is the wing to stay if can afford”
thommo051966, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“we loved the rasa wing”
carolynj396, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5