We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 Malaysia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (1861)
Room & Suite (870)
Pool & Beach (314)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#5 of 16 hotels in Batu Ferringhi
Travellers' Choice
Tucked away in an idyllic spot along Penang's coastline, Lone Pine is Batu Ferringhi's only luxury boutique hotel. Renewed and rejuvenated after a lovingly undertaken restoration, Penang's favourite beachside boutique resort infused with its colonial spirit and idyllic charm that has made it one of Penang's legendary and romantic hotels with the largest rooms of 45sqm2 all facing the beach and the sea. Most rooms are set with a plunge tub on the balcony and its day bed, a great place to unwind in front of the Andaman sea!
Read more

Location

Full view
94Great for walkers
Grade: 94 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
97 Jalan Batu Ferringhi, Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island 11100 Malaysia
Getting there
Penang Intl Airport21 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
1887Reviews46Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 811
  • 669
  • 225
  • 102
  • 80
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Kristine M wrote a review Mar. 2021
Penang, Malaysia8 contributions1 helpful vote
I must say that the Lone Pine went ABOVE AND BEYOND to provide everything we needed to hold our AGM and during CMCO nonetheless. When we were looking for venues back during MCO, the Lone Pine was the only one to even respond to our emails. They spent a lot of time with us to plan our event (without even knowing if MCO would be lifted and if we could even have the event). The event was planned out to the "T", with all SOPs carefully thought out. We had an outdoor breakfast on the lawn by the pool. They had stand up tables with plenty of space for social distancing. We had carefully planned out the menu beforehand and it was all perfect. We had asked if they could add mini chicken pies to the breakfast menu and they did and they were delicious. Our event was held upstairs in the Matsu room. The room easily held 50 seats spaced out for SOPS. The Matsu room has a large balcony around 2 sides of the room. On the balcony they had cold water and glasses for all to enjoy. Inside the room they had coffee. Everyone I spoke to had nothing but nice things to say about the food, the delightful venue, and your wonderful staff, who must be complemented on their pleasantness, courteousness and quick helpfulness. They were a credit to the hotel. Our guests appreciated that there were a range of different places to stand and sit, allowing people to spread out nicely. We worked with Badrul on our event and he was fantastic to answer all of our questions and help make our event to be just what we needed. My only suggestion would be some additional stand up fans as the room got quite warm with 50 people in it. We thank you for your professionalism and the generosity shown to us. This is the 2nd event we have held at the Lone Pine this year and we will definitely be back. Thank you.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Francois Sigrist, Other at Lone Pine Hotel
Responded Apr. 16, 2021
Dear Kristine M, We are honestly so delighted and happy to receive your great score and wonderful feedbacks, it is really so so rewarding and great moral boosting to all of us at Lone Pine, The Boutique Hotel by The Beach; Glad you to know you were pleased with the organisation of your function with consideration of all the SOPs and that all went well a great relieve and sense of satisfaction as at time reading other feedbacks, here and other social media, we feel very demoralised but thank you so much for your great reassurances and amazing moral boosting. You gave us a greater energy to keep working harder in achieving our guests satisfaction, THANK YOU! We look forward to welcome you and members more frequently and assure you wonderful constructive time in our beautiful settings. Have an amazing and awesome time ahead and please stay safe. Most sincerely, Francois
Read more
Julia H wrote a review Mar. 2021
Kulim, Malaysia1 contribution
Not a prestigious hotel anymore. We had a terrible hospitality from our check in till check out. Definitely no second stay,anymore! * Poor hygiene. * Poor SOP. * F&B staff are nice. But the food served are lousy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Francois Sigrist, Other at Lone Pine Hotel
Responded Mar. 23, 2021
Thank you, JuliaH4595, for sharing with us here, I would like to first of all, offer my sincere and deepest apologies that on this occasion, regarding various aspects of your stay, we have fallen below the high standards you may expect of our hotel. I sincerely and deeply regret that we did not have the chance to have met you during your time at our hotel whereby we could have heard your concerns and taken immediate action to assure you a more enjoyable time with us. Again our aim, here, is to assure all our guests have memorable time with us but it is very important to share when something is not as per your expectation immediately and enable us to review and correct to the best we can! It is honestly very difficult to find out only after you left what really happen having no feedbacks nor any comments or room number to refer to. We look forward to welcome you back and prove to you we are better than that! I hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and prove to you that we are better than that and surely not our normal standards! let us know and will ensure a more pleasant experience! Most sincerely, Francois
Read more
Joey L wrote a review Jan. 2021
Malaysia59 contributions74 helpful votes
+1
This used to be our fav Hotel in Penang. We have been here almost 3-4 times now. But our current stay is horrible and we just checked in. First, guests are going into the pool in their normal clothes. Signs are displayed that you need proper swim attire. Second, we see guest eating McD takeaway in the pool area in public. Third, we had 3 towels (even after asking for new ones) with stains. Sorry, we will just keep the old memories and will no longer return. Such a huge difference compared to the last 3 nights when were at Angsana, Teluk Bahang.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Francois Sigrist, Other at Lone Pine Hotel
Responded Jan. 7, 2021
Dear Joeylow2018, First of please accept my sincere apologies for any discomfort caused with the poor standards of services provided. I have been trying to find out if you were in house or left already as It would be so much more practical to contact us immediately to assure that we can rectify an issue or poor standard to assure you a more enjoyable time with us. We make mistake , I don t deny, our people at time overlook and it is why by contacting us while with us we can assist you after it is a little difficult to change your perception alas! Concerning the dress code in the pool , we do advise all the guests but at time some are not very supportive regrettably but we will keep trying harder to succeed. I hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and prove to you this was an accident and not the norm of our hotel. Have a wonderful time ahead and stay safe Most sincerely Francois
Read more
Lisa T wrote a review Jan. 2021
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia86 contributions34 helpful votes
We stayed in the old wing - Premier seafacing room for 2 nights. The check-in took about 20 minutes due to crowd. I do applaud the the staff in handling the irate customers. Due to SOP, there was no welcome drinks etc.and limited seating capacity. The room itself is dated but spacious and should be able to comfortably fit 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 kids. And i liked that there is a seating area at the balcony with ceiling fan. It has nice views of the garden and also beach. Unfortunately there were ants where they kept the sugar/ tea/ coffee drawers and the balcony was dusty. The phone was not working but we bumped into the bell boy who then took our complaints and request for additional towels and toiletries. They ratify our complaints when we return to hotel after dinner. The gym is adequate but again dated. The pool is crowded so we stayed away. The garden area with deck chairs however are so relaxing. We totally enjoyed relaxing after dinner there sipping our drinks. Not a perfect stay but still worth the penny we spent. Kudos on the great customer service.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Francois Sigrist, Other at Lone Pine Hotel
Responded Jan. 3, 2021
Dear Lisa T, It is such a great pleasure to receive our good score. I sincerely apologies for the ants issue and hiccups with the phone Our ultimate aim is to assure our guests satisfactions are not only met but exceeded. We look forward to welcome you back and provide you further memorable experiences with us. Have an amazing time ahead and stay safe. Most sincerely, Francois
Read more
Amna E wrote a review Jan. 2021
3 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotel is no longer the respectable reputation it used to be with unkept facilities and room service not up to mark. Such a pity as its low density development and matured casuarinas amongst a large lawn is a unique selling point. Deck chairs are in disrepair. Food selection and quality at the restaurant can be better particularly at breakfast buffet. The beach is not great as a stagnant stream shared with neighboring lots pour waste out to sea. The council can do much to assist the hotel industry for the good of Feringhi beach tourism. Staff were friendly and not to fault but manpower is just inadequate. Management needs to look at investing for the long run. Unfortunately not worth the price you pay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Francois Sigrist, Other at Lone Pine Hotel
Responded Jan. 3, 2021
Dear AmnatE2, we are very thankful for sharing with us here, I sincerely deeply apologies for any discomfort caused and will assure an immediate improvement. Glad to know our team did it right for you and provided you with a friendly service. In this time of terrible crisis for our industry and other, we do our very best to keep most of our associates on the job and assure we can go through this difficult economic time; we will keep improving. Next time you visit Penang do let us know and we will ensure to provide you a more positive and memorable experiences. Have a beautiful time ahead and stay safe. Sincerely Francois
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandBatu Ferringhi
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Lone Pine Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Lone Pine Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bora Bora by Sunset (0.3 km), Batu Ferringhi Night Market (0.1 km), and Yahong Art Gallery (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Lone Pine Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
Which room amenities are available at Lone Pine Hotel?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Lone Pine Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Lone Pine Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Lone Pine Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Knife and Fork Restaurant, Andrew's Kampung, and Long Beach.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Lone Pine Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Lone Pine Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Lone Pine Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Lone Pine Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Lone Pine Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Lone Pine Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Malay.