We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Occidental Papagayo - Adults only
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,945 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,458: English reviews
Reviewed today NEW

We booked tours through our travel agent and although they were good tours they were a little out-of-the-way. One trip was 4 hours away from the hotel. We met Larry on the beach and he helped us with the rest of our tours. He was awesome and helped us pick tours that suited us. So if you're going I suggest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joseph F
Cape Girardeau, Missouri
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Negative: After reading some of the negative comments about this resort I was a bit hesitant to go! The comments about the food being “boring and the same” did not ring true with me. The comments about “too much walking” and “too many stairs” were exactly what I loved about the place. The grounds were beautiful and I saw some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank goodhart2017
Oxford Mills, Ontario
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had an excellent trip. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. The food was amazing. There was always a free lounge chair at the pool or beach. We are actually looking at going back in the future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank catherineptfitness
College Station, Texas
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Beautiful, friendly, fun, and safe! I left this place so spoiled!! The staff were amazing. They paid great attention to the details, big and small. I never wanted for anything. The excursion choices were great and reasonable priced too! I will be back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Melissaprice25
Papagayo O, Gerente at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear Melissa, We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit. They help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Occidental Papagayo was an enjoyable one. We continuously strive...

Lakeport, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Fabulous views of Culebra Bay, Gulf of Papagayo from building 23. Excellent food from two buffets and three specialty restaurants. All service staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Many tour bookings available from hotel sight at fair market value. Great swim and snorkel beach on property. Only 30 minutes from Liberia airport. Near several other swimming beaches.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank nicknmary
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear nicknmary; Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time and appreciate all of your feedback. We would also like to say how grateful we are to you for your review, highlighting important features of the resort and providing our future...

Rochester, New York
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed for two nights at this all-inclusive adults-only resort. The friendly staff and good food made our stay enjoyable. The pool and grounds were well-maintained and beautiful. The beach was good for wading and snorkeling, both of which we did. There were kayaks available also, but it was quite windy, so we passed on that. We...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank truckingschantz
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear truckingschantz; Thank you for the great feedback of your recent holiday experience at our Occidental Papagayo; guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that, we are happy our hotel and staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay. It was our pleasure to attend you throughout your stay and...

Cambridge, Canada
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed from Jan.27 -Feb 10 at this beautifullynappointed and well landscaped resort. The staff are very friendly, and determined to please, most speak Spanish and some English, some very fluently. The specialty restaurants are excellent especialljy we liked The Oriental. The Buffet has a lot of Costa Rican dishes and the best things are the wonderful fresh fruit, pineapple,...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DavidandJill2014
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear DavidandJill2014< Thank you very much for sharing this great review of your recent stay at our Occidental Papagayo. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and certainly agree that our dedicated staff plays a key role to our guests' overall experience. The entire team works very hard to ensure that we deliver a high standard of service...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Before I left, I read many reviews. Most were excellent, and there are always "those people." After being there a few hours, I honestly can't believe anyone would ever complain about this place. If you do, I think it's you with the problem. The grounds are beautiful, food is awesome (including the buffet), the beach is accessible and has a...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Shandy W
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear Shandy W; Thank you for your fabulous review of Occidental Papagayo. We are delighted that you choose us as your holiday destination. We aim to provide each and every guest with a wonderful and memorable experience and I am so pleased that we did it for you. It is a privilege to have guests like you. We look forward...

Chicago, IL
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I are in our mid 60’s from suburban Chicago and have visited Costa Rica 3 times (Panama twice and Nicaragua once). Two of the three times in Costa Rica we have stayed at the Occidental Papagayo Resort (Barcelo Hotel) in the Golfo de Papagayo because of the resort’s size, service, food, and staff. For our first visit...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank STCBob
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear STCBob; Thank you for your loyalty to re-elect Occidental Papagayo for your recent vacation, also for taking the time to write such a positive comment regarding your third experience in our hotel.We know that our staff effort is rewarded with your kind words. We are so pleased to read you enjoyed the intimacy and friendliness of our “Adults Only”...

Flat Rock, Michigan
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved the Hotel Grounds and the location. The views of the ocean were really nice. But the beach was small and if tides were high than you can say bye to the beach. The food was okay. But was closed for 1 hour during day and closed by 930-10pm ao there is no place to get something to eat if...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elizabeth B
Jean Marie P, Director General at Occidental Papagayo - Adults only, responded to this review

Dear Elizabeth B< Thank you for taking the time to share your recent vacation experience at Occidental Papagayo. We are so pleased to read that you had a great time and we appreciate all of your feedback. We regret that you did not like our times for getting some food and for not meeting your expectations regarding entertainment we sincerely...

3,047 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (2801)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (511)
Viewed
View from Room (169)
Viewed
Room/Suite (243)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (638)
Viewed
Dining (97)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (61)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
0:35
Videos (4)
Viewed
Other (1058)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (217)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Beach (12)
Viewed
Ocean View Room (with Honeymoon Premium Package) (26)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
Royal Club Luxury Room (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gulf of Papagayo
5.8 km away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,301 reviews
2.2 km away
El Mangroove, Autograph Collection
3.0 km away
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
Secrets Papagayo Costa Rica
#3 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
10.7 km away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
5,830 reviews
25.6 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in Guanacaste on the Pacific coast of Costa Rica,The Adults Only Occidental Grand Papagayo is only at 25 minutes from the Liberia International Airport. This Resort surrounded by nature, boast lush tropical lanscape with scenic views of Bahía Culebra in Papagayo Golf.Ideal for couples, honeymooners and adult guest seeking a relaxing getaway. The Occidental Grand Papagayo offers a highly persolized five star all- inclusive experience delivered by an attentive and dedicated staff. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Occidental Papagayo - Adults only

Address: Playa Buena, 485000, Costa Rica (Formerly Occidental Grand Papagayo by Barceló)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Gulf of Papagayo
Price Range: $252 - $703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Papagayo - Adults only 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Barcelo, Hotels.com and BookIt.com so you can book your Occidental Papagayo - Adults only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Papagayo Hotel Gulf Of Papagayo
Occidental Grand Papagayo Gulf Of
Occidental Grand Papagayo Costa Rica
Grande Papagayo Costa Rica
Grand Papagayo Liberia
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#5 Spa Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#6 Luxury Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gulf of Papagayo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Occidental Papagayo - Adults only staff and other travellers.
319 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (319)

Questions? Get answers from Occidental Papagayo - Adults only staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We got the ocean view and LOVED it! It's more on the quieter side of the resort, easy to get to the beach!”
 of 5 bubbles goodhart2017, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Building 23”
 of 5 bubbles nicknmary, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ocean view, we upgraded had wonderful viejw.”
 of 5 bubbles DavidandJill2014, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I believe I had the deluxe room.”
 of 5 bubbles shandyw2017, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Splurge for the Royal Club if you can!”
 of 5 bubbles terryroo, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5