We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

802 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 425: English reviews
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for two weeks, the first week we had all inclusive. Great food, very good selection. Different food every day. Even the all inclusive beer was good! The staff are so friendly and very helpfull, and the location is amazing. Will come back!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Karianne S
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
129 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2015

We stayed at Porto Platanias for 6 days in July when the hotel was full. Like many visitors who come during this period, we became frustrated with the chaotic environment that we found. The Good: * Food was generally good quality, though often repetitive. Probably the best watermelons I have eaten in years. * Rooms are comfortable and well equipped.... More 

Helpful?
13 Thank Eugene E
Sofia K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Eugene E., First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post your review in regards to your last stay in Porto Platanias. Further to your comment, we would like to apologize for the disappointments that you encountered during your stay with us. Specifically, on behalf of our management we are deeply sorry... More 

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2015

This is certainly not a 5 stars hotel. On a rather small land, they tried to squeeze a maximum amount of rooms. Pools are loaded of tourists, you can't find a chair. The cafeteria (not a restaurant) offers a lousy buffet. Even if you paid for the breakfast and the dinner, you have to pay for your water or your... More 

Helpful?
11 Thank maripel_08
Sofia K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear maripel_08, First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback concerning your last stay in Porto Platanias. Further to your review, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your stay with us. I feel very sorry to read that you left the 4th day of your stay. I wish I knew... More 

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2015

Beach crammed costly bed hire and noisy. Pool bed to bed all round very intimate. Hotel actualy a village complex, balcony not a place to sit and relax overlooked and most on walk ways. Food good, plenty fresh choices but duplicated often. Room think premier inn without the finish and style. Shower and air conditioning unit bathroom leaked so wet... More 

Helpful?
6 Thank Theresa O
Sofia K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Theresa O, First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to post your feedback concerning your recent stay with us! We would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations regarding some sections of your stay and more specifically the beds reserving at the beach area and the pools. However, we would like... More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

A good place for family with children. Pools everywhere, i don't know if i found all the pools in one week. Some hotelrooms got their own pool. One pool is only for adults, alot of pools for children and teens. The city is out the door with the reseption and it's pretty big. The beach is near the hotel. Not... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Kokkepiken
Sofia K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Kokkepiken, First of all, we would like to thank you for your time sharing your experience regarding your last stay in our hotel. Furthermore, we are delighted that you were fond of our pool facilities for adults and for children as well as of our service and the breakfast quality! We hope we will get the chance to welcome... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2015

If you are looking for a luxury 5* hotel then this hotel is definitely not for you. Me and my partner paid well over 2000 euros expecting 5* luxury but were left thoroughly disappointed. When we arrived at the hotel we were told we were staying across at the "Garden Village" across the road which was not made clear when... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Giantbeee
Sofia K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Giantbeee, First of all, we would like to thank you for taking your time to write your review concerning your last stay in Porto Platanias. Further to your post, we would like to apologize for not meeting your desires regarding your accommodation with us. However, we would like to inform you that the type of the room that you... More 

canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2015

We had a lovely sea view room-rooms were quaint and nice. The service was very good and the breakfasts and dinners were good. We were on the half board- spa was lovely- the only bizarre thing that irritated me that no drinks were included for dinner- NOT EVEN WATER!! I thought this was bizarre and tacky. The pool area was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank dallywall
Sofia K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Dallywall, First of all we would like to thank you for your wonderful review and for your recommendations! We really appreciate it! Further to your post, we are very pleased to read that we have managed to meet your expectations regarding our room facilities, the Spa and the pool areas! Your kind comments for our staff are shared with... More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2015

we stayed here for a week.Very cozy hotel, excellent location next to the sea especially if you are traveling with kids.Only a few minutes away from the center so we did not use taxi to go anywhere.Breakfast as usual, enough and satisfing.I do not Know if lunch-dinner is good because we prefered to eat at Carpe Diem (clean and fresh... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank natasa h
Sofia K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear natasa h, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays in Crete! Further to your post, we would like to warmly thank you for your kind words regarding our facilities, the central location, our breakfast buffet and service! We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel! Kind... More 

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2015

Spent five days half board in June at this hotel and had a great stay. The hotel is very clean and tidy, the staff are very helpful and the food is great lots of choice and presented well, had breakfast in the roof garden. The location is beautiful with great views, just enough shops and bars and restaurants around and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn E
Sofia K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lynn E, First of all, we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays in Crete. Further, we are delighted that your stay with us matched your expectations and that you enjoyed our prime location in the center of Platanias, the hotel facilities and our food selection! Your nice words for our staff are... More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2015 via mobile

Just had 2 weeks at this hotel could not fault it. Location superb. We were only bed and breakfast, but upgraded to half board as food was great. Everything is on the doorstep. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
4 Thank Malcolm H
Sofia K, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm H., First of all, we would like to thank you for your positive comment on Tripadvisor! It is a great pleasure to hear that the hotel was excellent for you! We are delighted that you took advantage of our prime location and we appreciate your comment that “everything was to your doorstep”! We are also glad that you... More 

586 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (534)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (90)
Viewed
Dining (44)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (54)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (246)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platanias
4.6 km away
Asterion Hotel Suites and Spa
0.5 km away
Blue Dome Hotel
Blue Dome Hotel
#9 of 68 in Platanias
110 reviews
2.3 km away
CHC Galini Sea View
CHC Galini Sea View
#7 of 32 in Agia Marina
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Cretan Dream Royal
Cretan Dream Royal
#2 of 23 in Stalos
456 reviews
0.5 km away
Sunrise Village Hotel
Sunrise Village Hotel
#4 of 68 in Platanias
311 reviews
6.4 km away
Louis Creta Princess Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa

Address: The Beach Front, Platanias, Crete 730 14, Greece
Region: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Platanias
Price Range: $150 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Platanias Beach Hotel Platanias
Porto Beach
Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa Crete - Chania
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Platanias
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Platanias
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
44 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (44)

Questions? Get answers from Porto Platanias Beach Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Service was great.”
 of 5 bubbles elainecorbett, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Pay the extra for a side sea/ sea view room. There is no privacy sitting on your balcony overlooking the pools!”
 of 5 bubbles Harrivdv, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea view high room or maisonette if you can afford it”
 of 5 bubbles 562Christine, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Sea view high floor”
 of 5 bubbles 214gwenm, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Definetly choose sea or pool view room!”
 of 5 bubbles 351ma_a_, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay