We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Green Dragon

Traveller (30)
Room & Suite (16)
Dining (8)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
Come to The Green Dragon in Welton, a gorgeous country pub and hotel steeped in history. Set in a sensitively refurbished 17th Century coaching inn said to have been a favourite haunt of highwayman Dick Turpin, our pub combines character and charm with modern facilities. Dine with us and choose from a menu that includes roast chicken, British classics, traditional favourites with a fresh twist, world food, and indulgent desserts. Stay with us and enjoy the relaxed pace of village life, and easy access to the city. Hull is just 3.5 miles away. We have 11 cosy ensuite guest rooms in the converted stable block. A complimentary breakfast is included in the room rate. We look forward to welcoming you!
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Room features
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
HOTEL CLASS
342Reviews
77Photos
1Q+A
45Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 162
  • 96
  • 40
  • 27
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
So after weeks of drooling over pictures of food on facebook, we booked for an early birthday meal. Having been for a walk first we rang ahead to say we would be a little late which was no problem. The choice of drinks at the bar was reasonable and we were served in a polite and
Read more
Response from GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon
Responded 1 week ago
SSIGD, we are sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with you experience.If you could let me know a couple more details as to when your visit was etc, just so I can investigate into it further. We hope that you will give us another try! KInd Regards
Read more
We visited on a cold Monday lunchtime and we wasn’t disappointed. There is a great selection of sandwiches and lighter bites as well as hot meals. I opted for a sandwich with chips which was lovely - decent bread! My family had fish and chips and cottage pie, both was thoroughly
Read more
Response from GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon
Responded 1 week ago
charlied1987, thank you for such positive feedback! We are pleased that you found everything up to the high standards that we strive to achieve. Next time you visit please quote #tripadvisorfreedrink to get one on us! Kind Regards Amy
Read more
What a lovely pub. Staff are very friendly and welcoming. The food is spot on. We got cosied up next the the roaring fire. We had a couple of pints and a couple of sharing platters. Lovely food, surroundings and company. What a lovely day. Will be making this our local .
Read more
Response from GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon
Responded 4 weeks ago
Meat P, Thank you for such a lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to seeing you again. Next time you visit please quote #tripadvisorfreedrink and get one on us! Kind Regards Amy
Read more
A family evening meal was enjoyed by all. The food was well presented and proportioned and the puddings, for those who could manage one, were delicious. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the restaurant quite full.
Read more
Response from GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon
Responded 4 weeks ago
Peter T, thank you for such positive feedback! We are pleased that you all enjoyed your experience with us! We would just like to know what else we could have done to get that extra fifth star? Kind Regards Amy
Read more
My friend recommended we visit here for my visit up north, the pub is set in a lovely location, beautiful little village, we both ordered what was described as "kebabs" we ordered the holloumi and vegetable ones along with CHUNKY CHIPS. On arrival we were very disappointed,
Read more
Response from GreenDragonWelton, Manager at Green Dragon
Responded 4 weeks ago
Hello, We are sorry to read your review and find that you were so disappointed with your visit. We had hoped that we had rectified the kebabs by replacing your meals with something different, and when you were checked back with your Vegetarian Burgers you had said that you were happy with your meals. We are a dog friendly pub, however we do have areas that are not dog friendly, and if you had told us about this issue we would have been more then happy to find you somewhere more suitable to sit. We hope that you do give us another try, Kind Regards
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining
Photo provided by managementGreen Dragon
Photo provided by managementGreen Dragon
Photo provided by managementGreen Dragon
Photo provided by managementGreen Dragon
Photo provided by managementGreen Dragon
PreviousNext
1234
"Adequate service and single room. Breakfast satifying"
"We've stayed in two different rooms in the converted house and both were equally as nice. There's also a converted stable block."
"Did not stay. Passed though and had lunch."
"Ground-floor room was excellent for my heavy bags and bad leg, as there is no elevator."
"If you feel your meal is taking longer than expected, ask about it rather than waiting."
PreviousNext
1234569
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
green dragon hotel welton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireWelton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing