We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Bleak House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Bleak House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

160 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Bleak House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 159: English reviews
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Although Bleak House has an interesting history, the hotel itself feels tired and does not feel like a 5 star hotel. We stayed in the Fagin suite at £155 which had a very large and I must say very comfortable bed so no complaints there. The views were pretty good of the bay from the bathroom but of an area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SUSAN M
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking your time to review Bleak House. Were pleased you had a nice stay in the Fagins Suite and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards

Reviewed 4 September 2016

The room was lovely for a group of us seven ladies for Afternoon Tea. It was £19.95 for the tea and a glass of sparkling wine - although two of requested white wine, which was readily given instead. Sandwiches were nice and a good choice. The little cakes were acceptable. The so-called cream tea was served with a very large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Su F
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Customer, A lot of effort goes into preparing our afternoon teas, The scones are baked each morning by our chef and our clotted cream is sourced from our locally. We do not use or stock a thick cream here at Bleak House. Our afternoon tea consists of a selection of five sandwiches per head, a large baked scone and...

Bury St Edmunds
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Just back from spending 2 nights here. We were fortunate enough to have the David Copperfield Suite which is quite outstanding and has a balcony and large windows which look out over Viking Bay. Charles Dickens study is fascinating and to have the opportunity to stay somewhere so steeped in history was a real treat. If you want to push...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank candybaines
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is fantastic news to hear you had such a pleasurable stay at Bleak House. We do hope you will be back to stay here with us again in the future for another unforgettable Bleak House experience. Kindest Regards Bleak House Team

Wirral
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Have stayed here and also called in for a drink during the day (when it was fully booked, or else would have stayed again). Room was very clean and comfortable. The hotel has a lot of character and a great courtyard/outside area with stunning views of Broadstairs. Staff are very helpful. Would definitely return here when possible.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SubaKat
N_H_M_12, Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive comments, we are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us. Please come again soon as we look forward to seeing you. Thanks Again Nicola

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 August 2016

Lovely old house very quirky. We had the Copperfield Suite that had magnificent views over Viking Bay it also had a small terrace which was bizarrely located off the bathroom but the room was huge. Its more or less located right in the centre of Broadstairs and all the amenities it offers. Breakfast was delicious and service attentive. We wanted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deb187055
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Bleak House with such positive comments. Our establishment offers enough allocated parking spaces for one car per room. Parking is overall very limited in Broadstairs and we are fortunate enough to have this parking as I do know most hotels locally offer none at all. We do hope this will...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We arrived earlier than the normal check in time but the young man on reception duty was very helpful and checked us in as our room was ready. Throughout our stay the staff were all very friendly and helpful. We had the Little Dorrett room which was lovely, full of Victorian charm. The bathroom was a lovely mix of of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sharon H
Bleak H, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, How wonderful to hear such positive comments about your Bleak House experience. We aim to offer all of our guest the most special experience. We do hope to see you again in the near future. Kindest Regards Bleak House Team

orpington
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Lovely Hotel very friendly staff, stayed in the Copperfield suite which was huge with lovely views of the bay while sitting on the balcony, clean room lovely breakfast in the morning with loads of choices. Had a tour of the museum very interesting seeing where the smugglers used to go, car park small but this did not cause us a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pgubby
N_H_M_12, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review Bleak House. We appreciate your positive comments and aim to maintain an excellent hotel with excellent service. Please come again soon. Kind regards Rose

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

staff friendly, room adequate, breakfast not bad not enough choice though, definitely not a FIVE STAR bed and breakfast and not worth £135 per night. I think its only got those many stars because of the history of the house. Needs a lick of paint, and tidying up allround really. However saying all this we had a fab weekend in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leesmummy
N_H_M_12, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Sorry to hear Bleak House failed to meet your expectations. Here at Bleak House we pride ourselves on delivering the highest quality of service. Unfortunately we can not please everybody, however your review is appreciated. I would like to say being awarded the 5*'s took a lot of hard work and is maintained each year by our excellent...

Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Nicholas Nickelby suite which has three rooms and a bathroom. This was because it was the only one left, it was quite expensive at £300 but if that was to be shared between three couples then actually it would be fairly reasonable. The stay was one which I have mixed feelings about, there are some lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Well this was a lovely place to stay. A fantastic location and lovely rooms with comfortable bed and great shower and ensuite. Staff were extremely friendly and the breakfasts were excellent. As a bonus you can get into the Dickens museum whilst staying here. There was a bit of a mix up at the start and I was put in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Technologytt
N_H_M_12, Guest Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to give such a positive review to the Bleak House Hotel. We really appreciate here at Bleak House as out team strive to maintain a service of excellence. We do hope to see you again soon.

120 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.2 km away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
541 reviews
0.9 km away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
77 reviews
3.4 km away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
528 reviews
3.9 km away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
966 reviews
5.6 km away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set above the English Channel overlooking Broadstairs and Viking Bay, Bleak House was the summer home of arguably Britain's greatest author, Charles Dickens, from where he wrote "David Copperfield". ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bleak House

Address: Bleak House Fort Road | Kent, Broadstairs CT10 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Price Range: $221 - $456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bleak House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bleak House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bleak House staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Bleak House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms are different but unique and fit in with the over all theme of this historic hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 734jant, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“no lifts - stairs to go up.”
 of 5 bubbles Tkdreje, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“we did not stay in a room.”
 of 5 bubbles 952suf, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have a sea view, but the Charles Dickens room is not ensuite.”
 of 5 bubbles mrsquick123, 21 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Jeff is a great asset to the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles MareeR977, 18 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay