We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Hotels.comUS$194*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$221*
US$194*
US$221*
US$194*
US$221*
US$194*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Professional photos
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,305 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,304: English reviews
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2015

My wife and I recently spent the night at this hotel, as part of a "Food Lover's Break". We paid for a room upgrade to an executive double, and as part of our original package, received a cream tea on arrival, and a tasting menu as our evening meal. This hotel advertises itself as being contempory, but it is worth...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian K
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

This was such a lovely review to read, thank you! Your description of your bedroom was just perfect, and we are pleased that you loved it because we do too!, however we do understand that (like you say) this is a personal preference, and maybe our more modern Spa Suites might suit some guests better. Thank you also for your...

manchester
Reviewed 23 February 2015

Me and my daughter stayed here for her 21st birthday. The hotel has a real homely feel about it and quite quirky which is a lot nicer than staying in a large chain style hotel . We had a very warm welcome on arrival, and where shown around the hotel. The room we had booked was an executive double on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank vickiloo
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Wow thank you for this fantastic review! We are so pleased that we helped you celebrate your daughter’s 21st birthday! We were pleased to read your comments about our Restaurant and Verbena Spa, but we were especially delighted to see that you specifically mentioned our team and service. We hope that we might see you again for your next special...

Cumbria
Reviewed 23 February 2015

There's lots to like about the Feversham Arms. It's a lovely building; the rooms are first rate and (in our room) quirkily decorated with lots of nice touches; the staff very professional and friendly; a wonderful breakfast; the outdoor heated pool. If I could change anything; well the spa is OK but not brilliant - on a Friday afternoon the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CumbriaTiger
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

This is a lovely 5/5 review thank you so much! We hope to see you again soon. With kind regards, From all the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2015

Several friends had recommended Verbena spa, so when I went for a twilight session with my daughter, we had high expectations. Unfortunately, the spa was smaller than we expected, with the outdoor pool water temp too cold and the hot tub temp unbearably hot (all customers commented on this). The footspa was out of order during our visit. The lights...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 922Lancashire_lass
Newcastle
Reviewed 21 February 2015

I booked the food lovers package for my husbands birthday. We had an over night stay with breakfast, cream tea on arrival and a 5 course tasting menu. The food was excellent and the service was fantastic. The staff were friendly and informative creating a relaxing atmosphere. It wasn't cheap but was worth the money for a special treat. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Montom21
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Feversham Arms Hotel for your recent getaway, our Food Lover’s Break is really popular and we are so pleased that you enjoyed it. We are also, of course delighted that you found our service to be “excellent”! We do hope that you choose to visit again soon, With kind regards, From all the team at...

Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

This is the best hotel we've ever stayed in.. The staff are warm, friendly and can't do enough for you, the food in the restaurant is delicious, the room was beautiful, clean and spacious and the spa is heavenly - my massage and facial were well executed and just what I needed. (Don't let the outside pool put you off,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicki L
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Wow, thank you so much for this incredible review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Excellent comments such as yours are a fantastic way to motivate the team so we really do appreciate you taking the time to write this feedback. With kind regards, From all the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 February 2015

We have just returned from an overnight stay. The room was lovely and was ready ahead of stated check in time. The public areas need some attention, very dusty and very shabby cushions. The evening meal was good, as was breakfast. When we booked, we were asked if we were celebrating a special occasion and we told them it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Feversham Arms Hotel and for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased to read that you liked your bedroom and the restaurant food, however we were sorry to read that you were woken by noise; this shouldn’t be the case so we will raise this with our Head Housekeeper to ensure that...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Our stay here was excellent, we were given a upgrade when we arrived so that was a bonus for us the spar and pool were really good ,our evening meal was super and breakfast the same ,the staff very helpful with the car and Hanna is a lovely young women .Will be back for some more pampering!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank linda g
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely comments! We do hope that you choose to return again soon. With kind regards, From all the team at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Reviewed 16 February 2015 via mobile

Fourth visit to hotel Good and bad Room lovely and spacious Staff really friendly and helpful at all times from check in to check out. Tasting menu with matched wines lovely and service spot on. Pool warm and jacuzzi fun if not a little busy. The bad is mainly opinion of partner who felt that the price this visit was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank legalbegal
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this charming review, we are particularly pleased that you found our staff to be “really lovely”, we are sorry that your partner didn’t feel that we offered value for money over Valentine’s weekend, hopefully if you choose to return for a fifth visit we can help arrange the package for you as we would love to...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2015

Myself and my partner stayed on valentines night as a romantic break away from the hustle and bustle of Leeds. Upon arrival we where told that our room was not ready on time (3pm) and that we where more than welcome to wait at the bar, i was disappointed tho i assumed they might have been adding some nice romantic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for visiting the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa for your Valentine’s break. We are extremely grateful for your very fair review and 4/5 grading. We were pleased to read your many positive comments, however we were very sorry to read your comments about some of the service you received. You will see from our more recent reviews...

579 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (134)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (23)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 14 (37)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 19 (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Spa Suite (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,508 reviews
0.2 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
667 reviews
0.2 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
32.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
37.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Price Range: $200 - $718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
cleveland
2 months ago
Yorkshire
Teeside
over a year ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Deluxe pool view room is a must.”
WillGreen88, 10 May 2017 | Read review
“Avoid 3 and 5 (and some others) - traffic noise.”
ItalianLakesRus, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid rooms at the front not worth the price”
karenalana, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pool view rooms are great some with balconies.”
Whiteball, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“south side rooms are peaceful”
colleen246879, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$194* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$194
TripAdvisorUS$194
CancelonUS$221
View all 14 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates