We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
Panoramas (13)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,264: English reviews
Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2014

It's one thing liking a place, as may just possibly be evident from reviews of previous visits, but quite another to put it to the test by inviting 13 friends & family for a celebration, more specifically my wife's 60th birthday. Well, we needn't have worried..........everything possible was done to ensure that we all had a wonderful time, and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ImaxJ
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

This review is so wonderful, thank you! We are delighted to have helped your wife’s birthday celebrations! We thing that a half birthday is a perfect reason to return and look forward to seeing you soon! With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Reviewed 12 October 2014

We have just had a fabulous weekend at the feversham arms. Such a gorgeous location! The hotel is the best I have stayed in the UK . Our suite was huge and could have just spent 2 days in the room. The spa was so luxurious and really helped us chill out. The food and drink was delicious. A couple...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank todkell
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, specifically for your comments about Tony, April and Paul. We hope that you do decide to visit us again soon. With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Lovely hotel in great situation. Very helpful and friendly staff especially the waiting staff in the restaurant. Very clean and well appointed bedroom. Dinner in the restaurant was very good although expensive...an alternative menu such as a lounge/bar menu would be great as it seemed that not many people staying more than one night dined in the restaurant more than...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sue T
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this review, we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We have recently launched new menus meaning there are now three menus to choose from in the evening, including a Seasonal “Market” menu, an A La Carte and a six course Tasting Menu. At lunchtime, we do have a Bar/Lounge...

Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2014

We stayed here for one evening expecting an amazing experience.. On arrival the hotel is everything that the promotional literature says that it is, the building is amazing with a fantastic ambience so my expectations for our room were high (especially with the cost). I have to say that I was sorely disappointed, it was small with very little 'space'...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jellybaby66
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa and for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay; we don’t feel that we are a pretentious hotel and certainly make efforts to be warm and welcoming to all guests; however we are sorry that you did not feel...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2014

My wife and I had booked a night here for our wedding anniversary. Specifically, my wife wanted us to have a spa package so she had decided on this one as it was relatively close by and not one we had not visited before, although, we had paid a visit to Helmsley. Anyway, it was a nice pleasant drive through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Herobear
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for writing this very fair review, may we start by saying how sorry we are that your stay was disturbed by other guests. Thank you for your kind comments about our Hotel Porter, he is indeed an asset to the hotel and it is always lovely to read when our hardworking team members are recognised. We hope to...

Reviewed 2 October 2014

Stayed at this hotel with 3 friends and had the most wonderful weekend, staff were very helpful, service excellent. We enjoyed use of the spa facilities, particularly loved the outdoor heated pool, hot tub and the steam rooms. Can't fault the breakfast or the evening meal we had, both delicious. Hotel is in a great position for country walks and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JuliaAtlasVilla
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

What a fantastic review, thank you! We’re glad that you and your friends enjoyed yourselves and we certainly do hope that you choose to return to the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa again in the future. With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

England
Reviewed 1 October 2014

Reading the reviews of this spa I arrived with great anticipation but it didn't really deliver. I suppose I should have guessed when I booked a spa day, because unlike other spas I have used, this one was very restrictive about substituing treatments. When I arrived it was pleasant enough but a bit tatty, the robe was not towelling and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank DebEngland
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Verbena Spa. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations as we do wish that all guests enjoy their visit. With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 October 2014

I have stayed a couple of times over the last few years so have noticed the changes. It is no longer the same welcoming Yorkshire hotel -you could be at any overpriced hotel apart from the lovely man taking care of your car. The setting remains special and it is such a pity the Feversham has lost its way. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank DMF500
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for returning to the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa. We are delighted that you found our Hotel Porter to be “lovely”, however we are sorry that you did not find your stay to be as good as on previous occasions. We have seen many changes recently and we are in the process of many more and so...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 September 2014 via mobile

It all started badly when Valentina on reception obviously doesn't know anything about customer service or must of been having a bad day! Everything seemed a job from showing us round, to showing us the room. When we couldn't work the complicated television system and had to phone down reception to ask for help we felt bad for asking she...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Sophie P
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we have responded to your comments on the telephone and via email to your mother. With kind regards, From all at the Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 September 2014

Don't waste your money. Staff unhelpful, snobby and when we asked for our coats, were told you'll get them when credit card transaction finished!!!! Food seriously over-rated - needs a new chef with skills appropriate to what this hotel is trying to portray, but failing miserably. Very slow service with more attention to clearing crumbs from the table cloth than...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Tim W
Feversham A, Manager at Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa, responded to this review

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your lunch with us, but we are most disappointed that you found us to be “snobby” as we do not mean to be perceived this way. We hope to offer all guests a warm welcome into our cosy hotel and we are sorry that you did not feel that you experienced this....

560 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (272)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (125)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (250)
Viewed
Amenities (25)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (23)
Viewed
Executive Double Room (28)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 14 (37)
Viewed
Junior Suite - 19 (29)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Spa Suite (38)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Helmsley
0.1 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,416 reviews
0.2 km away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
608 reviews
35.3 km away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 4 in Helmsley
330 reviews
32.2 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
37.7 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in a picturesque market town by the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors, this elegant Hotel boasts superb dining, full spa facilities, a heated outdoor swimming pool and free Wi-Fi. Surrounded by glorious countryside, this wonderfully secluded retreat is a haven of laid-back luxury and indulgent relaxation. Famous for its welcoming hospitality, it blends the traditional comforts of its Victorian heritage with an irresistible boutique design. Beautiful, peaceful and thoroughly unique, one visit is simply not enough. Guests can choose from a range of 33 individually designed en-suite bedrooms and suites each with their own unique decor, style and character. Cosy and intimately homely, they all feature Egyptian cotton sheets, soft exquisite duck down duvets (or cotton blankets), free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, DVD player, luxurious Anne Semonin toiletries, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. There are accommodation options to suit all purposes, including Small and Classic Doubles, Junior and Deluxe Suites and, for the ultimate indulgence, Luxury Poolside and Spa Suites. Superb food plays a big part in life at Feversham. Here diners can enjoy classically inspired dishes from a menu that draws heavily from fresh local ingredients such as rich Yorkshire game and tasty North Sea fish. It's also home to one of the most talked about cheese trolleys in Yorkshire, traditional afternoon tea in their cosy fireside lounge and an impeccably well-stocked cellar. Throughout the warmer months, dishes can be served poolside on the terrace and gardens. The hotel's award-winning Verbena Spa offers an idyllic haven from the pressures of everyday life. Here guests can kick back, relax and immerse themselves in luxurious indulgence. They offer a range of treatments from manicures, facials and massages through to full spa day experiences. Revitalise and enjoy their famous heat experience with saunarium, aromatherapy room, salt vapour room, monsoon shower, ice cave, foot spa, outdoor heated pool and hot tub. The Hotel is situated in the North Yorkshire town of Helmsley just off the A170. Complimentary on-site parking is available. The city of York is just a 40 minute drive away and it offers excellent transport links to the rest of the country. There is also a local train station at Thirsk, a 25 minute taxi ride away. For those flying in, Leeds Bradford International Airport is about an hour's drive from the Hotel. Beautifully located in the depths of the stunning North Yorkshire Moors the Hotel is the perfect place from which to explore this remarkable area. Yorkshire is renowned as a place of distinct yet diverse appeal, from the majestic Castle Howard to the Gothic seaside town of Whitby, the ruins of Rievaux and Bylands Abbey to luxury designer shopping, Michelin starred restaurants to quaint marketplace tea rooms, there is truly something for everyone. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa

Address: 1 High Street, Helmsley YO62 5AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Helmsley
Price Range: $192 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Helmsley
Feversham Arms Hotel And Verbena Spa
Feversham Arms Helmsley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
cleveland
16 days ago
Teeside
over a year ago
Lincoln, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“At the back rather than the main road”
 of 5 bubbles flo5050, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the best you can afford. It's worth it.”
 of 5 bubbles KathM272, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for upper floor in the main building overlooking the outdoor pool.”
 of 5 bubbles Anthony_from_DCR, 26 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a suite with a pool view”
 of 5 bubbles willp144, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not at the front if you want the window open.”
 of 5 bubbles christine_bedford55, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5