We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Wheatsheaf Inn

TripAdvisorUS$70*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lowest price we found
US$70*
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Wheatsheaf Inn
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

192 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Wheatsheaf Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 192: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2014

I stayed at the Wheatsheaf last night (Thursday) and found the evening experience totally different to the morning one. I arrived during a wet and windy afternoon to a roaring fire and a warm welcome. I was shown to my room, which was nothing special, but clean and comfortable. The bar had a couple of real ales, one local and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulsGlobalOdyssey
AliceTodd23, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thank You taking the time to write this review all your comments have been taken on bored. we are glad you enjoyed your evening with us and we are sorry you didn't enjoy your breakfast. we are also sorry you had to wait for your breakfast but we do cook our breakfast to order and normally when guests are in...

Derbyshire
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Staff nice enough but the rooms are dreadful. Tired, shabby, paint pealing, stains, bed like a banana, dirty carpets. Food not home made just warmed up. Won't stay again. Website misleading. Stayed march 14 in a double room. Ingleton is nice, this pub was a real let down.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paulhitch
AliceTodd23, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, all reviews are greatly appreciated, we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are looking into making changes to our letting rooms. All our food is freshly prepared on site and we are sorry you did not enjoy your meals thanks Alice

glasgow
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Relaxing,welcoming and lovely food (big breakfast and even bigger dinner!) The team work hard to keep everyone fed and watered. The room was basic but comfortable and clean. It has been a few years since we were last here but we will be back soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fiolau
AliceTodd23, General Manager at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for tacking the time to leave us a review, your comments are greatly appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay as our team do work hard to make sure everyone has an enjoyable stay. Your comments will be passed on to the team as they thrive on comments like these. We look forward to seeing you again...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Decent pub in a great location for walking in and around the area. Grub was very nice on the Saturday evening and an impressive breakfast on the Sunday morning. Our room was reasonably clean and a good size. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great value. Recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IanDawson
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving us a review It is always good to get positive feedback on our guests stay. We are all glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeeing you again Thanks Mat Cooper Country Village Inns Ltd

Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Great start to 2014 by walking in the Yorkshire Dales. Three days walking and they upgraded our room for no charge. Think they made the difference from the amount we spent in the bar with food and drink! Friendly staff and good food and a few nice ales to sample as well. Room was good for the price.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alexander W
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for leaving your review We really appreciate this sort of feedback and i've ensure it has been passed onto the rest of the team. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon Thanks Mat Cooper Country Village Inns Ltd

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Fantastic value, excellent food and drink and a very warm welcome from friendly accommodating staff. Our room was spacious and clean with an amazing shower! My husband and I are seasoned customers of 'chain hotels' - this experience has made us realise what we are missing.......the warmth, friendly and personal touch. If our dog could talk she most certainly would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz B
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so glad you enjoyed yoru visit and we look fowward to welcoming you back this year Thanks Mat Cooper

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Love it here! Mat Alice and the team make you feel so at home. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Really enjoyed the food. Great value! Complements to the chef! The whole atmosphere in the pub is warm and welcoming. I'd recommend the wheatsheaf to anyone. Thanks again guys for a great weekend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tjane_13
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for such a nice review... we are all glad you enjoyed yourself here and we look forward to your return visit Mat

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

The MacGregor Buthcher/Horton annual visit to the Ingleton Folk Festival. Yet again Mat, Alice and team did yet another flawless job. A good selection of real ales, and we are glad the jegermeister machine was back working. We were not in our usual room but we were not disappointed, the room still of the highest standard. the food was awesome...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigGav68
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

HI Always a pleasure having you guys over for the weekend... plenty of laughs and good atmosphere... see you all again soon Mat

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Only 6 minutes walk through village from bus terminal at Community Centre, just past post office. Staff very helpful. My wife and I had burgers and chips from menu. Didn't have to wait the 30 mins advised on menu. Portions generous and food excellent. Breakfast excellent with generous portion again. Room overlooking beer garden comfortable and well stocked with toiletries,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KennethC767
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thanks fortaking the time to leave us a review We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. it is always good to pass on praise to the team for their hard work. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future Thanks Mat

Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Have stopped here twice now both times for the three peaks challenge, It is a nice quaint place in a small quaint town. The staff are friendly the food is very good and there are always a nice choice of ales at the bar.. the TVs in the rooms are a bit tiny and if you get a room near...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
CooperUK, Owner at The Wheatsheaf Inn, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Thanks Mat

115 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (90)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Other (26)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ingleton
1.3 km away
Marton Arms Hotel
Marton Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ingleton
274 reviews
6.3 km away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
493 reviews
14.8 km away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Seed Hill Guest House
Seed Hill Guest House
#5 of 22 in Ingleton
120 reviews
0.1 km away
Ingleton Hostel
Ingleton Hostel
#4 of 10 in Ingleton
56 reviews
0.9 km away
Thorngarth Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wheatsheaf is steeped in history stretching as far back as the 17th century. This Coaching Inn was extended in the 1800s to include a Blacksmiths shop and stables, now being utilized as the dining room. There is a large beer garden to rear and food is served every day. Black sheep is our main beer on the bar but we do have other guest ones for you to try. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Wheatsheaf Inn

Address: 22 High Street, Ingleton, Yorkshire Dales National Park LA6 3AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Ingleton
Price Range: $88 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Wheatsheaf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wheatsheaf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheatsheaf Hotel Ingleton
The Wheatsheaf Inn Ingleton, Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Wheatsheaf Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Read trip advisor, we did”
mikelaughton, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“We had a bedroom overlooking the beer garden! Never disturbed by any noise!!”
597leab, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 5 has a four poster bed which is very quaint and then a modern bathroom which doesn't quite fit but it does. We loved both”
884JulieC884, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
“No comment”
O8918YKmarkb, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent, being a quiet village not much noise”
645margaretannm, 16 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$70* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Toprooms.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates