We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
8650 Peggys Cove Rd, Indian Harbour, Nova Scotia B3Z 3P4 Canada
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 7 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (260)
Room & Suite (93)
Videos (2)

About

#1 of 3 in Indian Harbour
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Quiet, comfortable and stunningly beautiful, Oceanstone provides a natural escape from a world stuck in fast forward. Weddings are our specialty, along with corporate retreats and getaways. Close to Halifax, Peggy's Cove and major attractions.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Beach
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Special diet menus
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
Neck massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Private beach
Housekeeping
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French
247Reviews3Q+A72Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 162
  • 50
  • 18
  • 10
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Robert B wrote a review Dec. 2021
11 contributions
The property has a beautiful location right on the beach but has no parking for suite guests - you have to park in front of the lodge, unload your luggage & take it up to your suite then move your vehicle back to the upper parking lot. The flagstone walkway has lamp posts along the path to the parking lot but for some reason they were not working or not turned on making it hard to see at night. The website doesn't tell you that there is construction and/or repairs going on so be advised that large areas are fenced off. They do have a very nice reception area in the main office & all of the staff were very friendly & helpful. Breakfast is buffet style with a good selection but you have to get there early as the eating area was very cool - about 15 C & the hot food items were barely warm by 8:30 AM. Now for the "Suite" level accommodations - When you are paying upwards of $300 for "Suite" level lodging it is reasonably expected that they be maintained to a higher standard than say a roadside budget motel. The location of our suite had a wonderful view of the beach & I'm confident when they were first completed they were quite nice. This was not the case wherein our suite was in dire need of some major renovations & repairs! The pictures speak for themselves. We had privacy blinds that didn't work, leaking kitchen taps, broken bathroom shelving, very worn out kitchen counters & major mold & mildew issues at the main entrance. This stay was to celebrate a landmark anniversary but sadly it was the most disappointing accommodations we have ever stayed in at this price level. Think twice about booking any "suites" until a major repair & clean-up takes place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Don't book a suite until repairs & a major clean-up takes place.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Goldsworthy, General Manager at Oceanstone Resort
Responded Dec. 6, 2021
Hello Robert, Thank you very much for staying with us at Oceanstone, and for providing feedback on your experience. While I am disappointed to learn that your accommodation didn't live up to your expectations, I am pleased that you did enjoy our terrific seaside location, the friendly and helpful service, our main lodge facilities and the selection at breakfast. Our beautiful waterfront exposure does mean constant maintenance and upkeep to the exterior of our buildings, but I am surprised by your impression of the interior. The suite you were in is typically a guest favorite, and was upgraded just last winter. Actually, the last review of that particular unit on Tripadvisor deemed it a "luxurious and relaxing ocean side retreat", and touched on many of the recent upgrades to include bed quality, huge soaker tub, skylights and full kitchen. I apologize that was not your experience, and will certainly have our maintenance team give the suite a thorough going over. As you can clearly tell if you read our previous reviews, we take our service levels and product quality very seriously - and feedback like this is very unusual. It is unfortunate that it was not what your were expecting, but I do hope that you had a happy anniversary and wish you many more to come. Happy Holidays, Robert
Read more
JFLeBlanc wrote a review Oct. 2021
Moncton, Canada3284 contributions331 helpful votes
+1
We recently checked into this resort area. Such a beautiful place to stay at. Staff members were extremely nice, very helpful, and it was obvious they care about customer service! We stayed in Rhubarb room # 5, which was very nice, cozy, comfortable bed. The only disadvantage really was that the restaurant downstairs is open until 9-10pm ish, and its somewhat loud. When the customers were all gone, they crank the music for cleaning time (I get it, I do the same thing at home). Other than that, no issues at all!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Goldsworthy, General Manager at Oceanstone Resort
Responded Oct. 18, 2021
Thank you so much for choosing to spend some time with us at Oceanstone! I have shared your kind words about customer service with the team - it means a lot to all of us. Providing our valued guests with warm and welcoming service is something that we take a great deal of pride in, and I am happy that you felt that during your stay. I must apologize about the noise that carried over from the restaurant, thank you so much for your understanding. We will certainly be mindful of music volumes moving forward. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the resort again in future. Have a great autumn! Robert
Read more
Norm J wrote a review Oct. 2021
1 contribution
Typically when a place exceeds all of your expectations, time seems to pass too quickly. The wonderful energy and ambience of Oceanstone has a magical effect that seems to slow your mind, body and spirit down..so that you can truly see, hear and feel this special haven. We were blessed to stay 2 nights in #3. Swing the big comfy chair around to face the sea and feel the fresh air of the sea and the warmth of the coastal sun. Thank you for a wonderful welcome and a cleansing and regenerative visit. We really enjoyed the wine. A perfect (COVID delayed) honeymoon :) See you next time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Goldsworthy, General Manager at Oceanstone Resort
Responded Oct. 18, 2021
Thank you so much for this lovely review - we are so pleased that your honeymoon was everything that you could have hoped for! It sounds like you really tapped into the transformative qualities that make Oceanstone so special to us too. I truly appreciate that you chose to spend your time with us, and hope to see you again soon. Wishing you congratulation on your wedding, and a lifetime of happiness! Robert
Read more
youonlyliveonce2017 wrote a review Sep. 2021
Canada8 contributions4 helpful votes
I absolutely recommend Oceanstone for anyone that wants a taste of Nova Scotia! First of all we received great assistance thru the booking process! Upon arrival we were impressed with the cottages/cabins and rooms spread out on a beautiful footprint! Unfortunately we could only stay 1 night at the Periwinkle Cottage! It was a 2 bedroom with a pullout couch! Beautiful rustic feel with big deck looking right on the ocean! Had a little private beach with chairs and a man made fire pit! Also, as luck would have it , the Blunose 2 was sailing by and it was a perfect sight! We preordered food that was prepped BBQ ready! It was a burger/sausage/hotdog combo with potato & macaroni salad plus marinaded asparagus & peppers! Everything was top notch! We had perfect weather and had a fire after supper! I thought we had run out of wood so dashed up to office and was going to take some of theirs! I was told to relax and that he would bring us out a wheelbarrow full! I then noticed some wood at our front door that I had not noticed! I apologized to him for wasting his time! He laughed it off and brought us a second wheelbarrow full! Thank you “Murito for your help and understanding! We used all the wood! Breakfast the next morning was a nice combination of hot & cold foods! Plus great coffee! Highly recommend Oceanstone to everyone!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Goldsworthy, General Manager at Oceanstone Resort
Responded Oct. 2, 2021
What wonderful feedback - thank you so much for sharing your Oceanstone experience! It truly is magical when we get a sail by from Bluenose 2...so glad that you caught it. I have shared your thoughtful feedback with the team, and we are so pleased that you enjoyed the service, accommodations and food. I hope that we will have the great pleasure of welcoming you back to Oceanstone again in future. Wishing you a beautiful autumn. Robert
Read more
tshep42 wrote a review Aug. 2021
Halifax, Canada3548 contributions606 helpful votes
+1
We stayed in the Hollyhock and it was a great size & comfortable. Small kitchen and dining table. Soft bed. Even had a soaker tub. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. Not a great variety but tasty nonetheless. All the staff are so friendly and great. There’s a fire pit outdoors to enjoy and a small beach with some chairs to watch the sunset. Rhubarb restaurant is on site and excellent. Only lost a star because there was no water at the resort in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Goldsworthy, General Manager at Oceanstone Resort
Responded Aug. 22, 2021
Thank you for sharing this feedback on your recent stay at Oceanstone, we truly appreciate it! I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your accommodations, the food, and our wonderful team - but do want to apologize for the brief interruption to our water service on the morning of your departure. It is certainly not the final impression that we would like to make. I hope that the rest of your memories about Oceanstone are positive, and that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future. Enjoy the rest of your summer! Robert
Read more
Previous
123456
ALSO KNOWN AS
oceanstone inn & cottages hotel nova scotia, oceanstone inn and cottages
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Oceanstone Inn & Cottages
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaHalifax Regional MunicipalityIndian Harbour
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Oceanstone Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Oceanstone Resort?
Nearby attractions include Peggy's Cove Lighthouse (3.5 km), Swissair Flight 111 Memorial (1.6 km), and William E. deGarthe Memorial Monument (3.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Oceanstone Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Oceanstone Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Oceanstone Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Oceanstone Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oceanstone Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rhubarb Restaurant, Ryer Lobsters, and Shaw's Landing.
Is Oceanstone Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Indian Harbour.
Does Oceanstone Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Oceanstone Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Does Oceanstone Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Oceanstone Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.