We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oceanstone Resort

8650 Peggys Cove Rd, Indian Harbour, Nova Scotia B3Z 3P4 Canada
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (287)
Room & Suite (93)
Videos (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 2 cottages in Indian Harbour
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Quiet, comfortable and stunningly beautiful, Oceanstone provides a natural escape from a world stuck in fast forward. Weddings are our specialty, along with corporate retreats and getaways. Close to Halifax, Peggy's Cove and major attractions.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Beach
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Wifi
Special diet menus
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Couples massage
Full body massage
Massage
Neck massage
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor fireplace
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Private beach
Housekeeping
Iron
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French
256Reviews3Q+A75Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 166
  • 52
  • 21
  • 10
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Debbie E wrote a review Sep 2023
3 contributions3 helpful votes
Property's Favourite Review
Our stay at Oceanstone was relaxing and enjoyable, and the staff were friendly and knowledgeable. However, we encountered a few minor but important things that should not have happened. Upon arrival, we went directly to the spa. We were greeted by a friendly and knowledgeable staff member who gave us the intro to the spa. Once inside a short while, we decided we would like a glass of wine while relaxing. When we each ordered a glass of Pinot Grigio wine off the menu, we were told that it wasn't available as the shipment hadn't come in. Although we still enjoyed another variety, it was disappointing that this happened. There was a liquor store less than 5 minutes away, and we also discovered that the registration office had a bottle of the Pinot Gregio wine on display. We stayed in Rhubarb Room 5 (beautiful view!), above the restaurant. One of our windows was missing a screen. It was very hot and it would have been beneficial to have all the windows open in the evening instead of running the noisy air conditioning unit. (Heat pumps would be much more efficient and quieter.) We encountered the same situation while in the Rhubarb Restaurant downstairs...the window next to our table couldn't be opened because there was no screen. These are simple maintenance items that should have been attended to. We would return as these aren't deal breakers, but having these issues attended to would elevate the experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Livebettter wrote a review Sep 2023
St. Catharines, Canada36 contributions45 helpful votes
Oceanstone Spa is new and hopefully will continue to evolve. Pro's. Treatment spaces are lovely Decor is lovely Staff are friendly Food is good Cons. Nordic Spa outside area is small. Not a lot of seating options for couples, seats are mainly for groups. Not all seats have access to fire pit. This will be limiting in winter/cooler months. The seating is on one side, and hot tubs and saunas, on the other, makes for a sense of being on top of the other guests. The riverbed walk, I don't know what that is meant to be, 2 meters of uneven ground with a trickle of water?? Strange. However my biggest complaint is the female change rooms (can't speak to the male). They are tiny, 2 showers, and 2 toilets, 1 of each accessible but no anti-room to hang towels when showering. The bench is narrow and the lockers are on top of them, plus the lockers are stacked. So people can't sit on the benches for guests accessing lockers. You're constantly disturbing someone. 7 people lined up waiting to use the showers. You have to leave the change room for towel and robe drop so towels and robes were on the. floors. Then there is this weird corridor with a mirror where you can dry your hair with the 1 hairdryer. I left without showering, which ended the day on a sour note. At reception, there was a further lineup. Perhaps this is a result of scheduling, you only get 3 hours and if guests are staggered it wouldn't be as crowded? Having said that there were only 8 people and it felt crowded. The space allocation just doesn't work. Massive reception, massive wide corridor with no purpose other than to reach the change rooms, then a 12x 8 (approx) room for everyone to squeeze into. Would I go again. Probably not. There are equally good hotel Spa offerings and for a true Nordic spa experience there are other options not too far away. I have other niggles but these are the big issues. Great effort but needs improvement to ensure return customers.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
ksneddon1 wrote a review Aug 2023
New York City, New York127 contributions87 helpful votes
This is in a beautiful location, and we overall enjoyed our stay but it’s definitely not a luxury stay, despite the fairly steep prices. Check in staff were friendly and welcoming. We were in Hollyhock 6. It’s nice, with plenty of space and comfy beds, but a few issues. First, it’s right in the center of the resort opposite the main office, meaning there is no privacy. We can hear everyone walking past and assume they can hear us. It’s also next to the “drop off” zone by the office so cars idle there… including a staff member who idled her car there for 15 mins at 10.30pm at night. So instead of hearing the ocean waves I got to hear her car engine and ingest the exhaust fumes (when I went down to ask her to turn the engine off no apology was offered). Bathroom: the mirror only goes up to your torso/neck (not kidding) so you have to squat and lean in to use the mirror. The shower is so narrow that when you shave your legs your head has to touch the shower wall. The water pressure reduces to zero every time the spa needs to get water (!) - I cannot understand how this is acceptable for resort guests. Even worse, in my case the spa clearly took only cold water as my lovely shower was reduced to a scalding hot trickle that burned me, as the cold water disappeared. Our room received no housekeeping. We got an apology and a discount which we appreciate, but would have preferred just to come back to a cleaned room. Breakfast is nice but would be good if there was a gluten free meat option - GF bread is available but the sausages aren’t GF and there was no bacon (admittedly a small thing but can make a big impact to someone who is GF). Spa experience was nice - we did the 3 hour thermal pools experience and it was very quiet and relaxing. Significant lack of shade though which made sitting out for rest periods very challenging. A few more umbrellas would be great. The Rhubarb restaurant was closed for dinner for the whole of our stay which was a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Hollyhock 6 does not have any privacy - you will hear other guests and they will hear you.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Dale_Halifax wrote a review Jun 2023
Halifax, Canada75 contributions26 helpful votes
From check-in, until check-out, the staff of Oceanstone were amazing. They offered rooms at a fantastic discount to those forced from their homes due to the wildfires, but treated us like any other guest from out of town. The breakfast was a full buffet with solid choices, the rooms were spacious, well appointed and clean, the food at Rhubarbs was great, and the views of the ocean fantastic. We cannot thank them enough for helping us and others out the way they did, and even without that, I would recommend this spot to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you can, grab a cottage right on the ocean frontage.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Daniel wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
We normally go away for a few months in the winter, but since Covid have been taking small breaks closer to home in Halifax. We have had the pleasure of trying most resorts in Nova Scotia over the past few years, and Oceanstone is something truly special. We have enjoyed it so much that we have been back three times in the past few months, and tried several different cottages and suites. It is hard to pinpoint one favorite, but Grey Owl and Hollyhock Suite 3 are so charming and have beautiful views. Very importantly to us every time we stay there, the accommodations, public areas and property are so spotless and clean. There is some construction taking place for a new spa that will be opening, but it didn't bother us in the least and is confined to one location away from the cottages. We are so excited to go back once it is open! Breakfast is complimentary and offers a good selection of tasty food. The meals that we preordered to our cottage were definitely far better then typical hotel fare, with generous portions of delicious food that were well priced and thoughtfully presented. Above and beyond all else, what really stands out here is the service. Every single employee we encounter seem genuinely happy to work here, and would bend over backwards to do anything for you. They are so friendly and kind. Our last stay was for my birthday, and they had a lovely card in the cottage welcoming us back and a bottle of wine and chocolates for my birthday. It is these small touches that separate the good from great. Thank you Oceanstone, we will be back again and again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Goldsworthy, General Manager at Oceanstone Resort
Responded Apr 9, 2023
Thank you so much for reaching out with this lovely feedback - we really appreciate that you have chosen Oceanstone as a favorite go-to for your staycations! I am thrilled to hear that you had a lovely birthday, and wish you a beautiful year ahead filled with many more seaside getaways. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our new Spa soon. Have a great spring! Robert
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Bine L wrote a review Oct 2022
Hamburg, Germany32 contributions
+1
It all began 2 1/2 years ago when we started planning our dream elopement in Nova Scotia. During our research we came across Oceanstone- what a great choice! Even if we had to postpone it by a year thanks to Covid 19 - from the first contact to departure everything was just perfect! The entire property is beautiful with great attention to detail and the Dovekey Cottage we booked was super-comfortably furnished and had everything we could possibly want (including the most amazing sunsets!) From the moment we stepped onto the resort , we felt right at home and totally welcome. The welcome by Natalie, the wedding and event planner, was so warm and so was all of her care during our time in this little paradise. Whether we were super nervous because of some confusing paperwork before the ceremony or overjoyed afterwards, Natalie was always there to support us or just share our joy. Even Robert, the manager supported us with nice words at the right time, a bright smile or a drink, when I definitly needed one. :-D The rest of the staff also did everything possible to make us feel comfortable (a happy hello to Ronda, who looked after us so warmly at breakfast, or Chris, the always cheerful man for all matters). As a "crowning finale" we were allowed to experience Hurricane Fiona in the Oceanstone - and even in this exceptional situation (days of power outage) everyone went far beyond the norm so that we could feel comfortable and safe. Thanks for that!! We will benefit from this week with you for a long time to come and we are sure that we will see each other again one day!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Choose one of the oceanfront Cottages!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Goldsworthy, General Manager at Oceanstone Resort
Responded Oct 15, 2022
Thank you so much for your lovely review - it was truly our honor and pleasure to be a part of your beautiful elopement! I have shared your thoughtful words with the team, and you have honestly made our day. We so appreciate that you chose Oceanstone and thank you for your understanding and good nature in the aftermath of Hurricane Fiona. You are both members of the Oceanstone family now, and we will look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back! Wishing you a lifetime of love and happiness together. Robert
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Dave L wrote a review Oct 2022
13 contributions1 helpful vote
Before arriving at the resort we anticipated small cottages near the sea in a cosy, quiet setting. Upon arrival on a Thursday we were blown away by the construction being done. Would have been more acceptable had we been informed of the degree of construction that was taking place. Also hard to accept that regular rates of $358 plus tax per night were charged when the property was noisy and dusty from the construction. Woken Friday morning to the sounds of equipment out our back door (Hollyhock 6). Rooms are not wheelchair accessible. Parking is located up a fairly steep hill from most accommodation Our suite inside was fine but outside the building was dusty and cobwebby. Stayed 3 nights and never had room service. Had to go to Front Desk for toiletries twice. Asked for towels one day which did come and were just dropped off in the living area. Asked daily for garbage to be removed & were told someone would be over shortly - no one came. I can understand construction impacts BUT there should have been more attention to customer service requests during construction ie. room cleaning, explanation of the amenities, perhaps a reduction in the rate. Normally I would not write such a critical review but I feel like I was mislead when booking and when on the property.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: When speaking to Oceanfront ask questions about the Spa construction. There are only a few...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Goldsworthy, General Manager at Oceanstone Resort
Responded Oct 10, 2022
Thank you for staying with us, and providing your review - all feedback is welcomed and appreciated. That being said, I will circle back to provide clarity on a few points that you have raised. We do have several lovely oceanfront cottages both large and small, which were all held for your function. It would seem that perhaps they were already booked by other members of your group or you chose to book the suite that best suited your needs, but either way you would have been aware that you were not in a cottage at the time of booking. With regard to managing expectations surrounding construction we have gone above and beyond to communicate with our guests regarding this. We actually have record of you being sent not one, but two emails explicitly outlining that not only would there be active construction, but what hours and days of the week to expect work to be taking place, so I am unsure where there was any opportunity for confusion. We are working closely with excellent partners on the project who ensure that all activity is wrapped up by 4pm daily, and that no work takes place over the weekend to minimize impact. Your chosen suites proximity to construction was taken into account when establishing the rate, and $385/night during peak season for a large suite with two separate bedrooms and living room, which also includes full hot breakfast for all guests, Wi-Fi and parking is actually excellent value and reflects the adjacent activity. Take good care. Robert
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Lisa wrote a review Aug 2022
19 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
We stayed in a beautiful cottage directly on the beach, as a seasoned traveller…. This is my favourite stay of all time. Our cottage ( perinwinkle ) was tastefully decorated. The beds extremely comfortable. Lying in a bed and listening to the waves of the ocean and watching from your bedroom window is heaven. The cottage had everything we needed. The back deck was delightful. Beautiful chairs to sit in as you drink your wine or coffee and watch the ocean . Pick up some local seafood and cook. Everything you need is here ! We loved the private beach chair and fire pit. They provided wood. Kindling and paper for the fire. The staff were very friendly and kind. If we needed anything then they were there. We will definitely be back . Thank you so very much :)
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Goldsworthy, General Manager at Oceanstone Resort
Responded Aug 26, 2022
Wow - thank you for sharing such amazing feedback about your recent stay with us! It was truly our pleasure to have you as guests, and we thank you for making Oceanstone a part of your summer plans. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful Periwinkle Cottage, it really is an ideal spot to spend some quality time seaside. It sounds like you made the very best of yours! We will look forward to welcoming you back to Oceanstone in future. Wishing you a lovely autumn. Robert
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
AnthonyH wrote a review Jul 2022
16 contributions7 helpful votes
Parents with sense of humour will know I’m joking around when I say too bad my kids were with me. A person can really get some thinking done at a place like this. We stayed at the Periwinkle Cottage, which when you come out your back deck, the Mouth of St Margaret’s Bay is down the back steps. Incredible view and background noises of the ocean made for a great backdrop. Housekeeping and staff very friendly and helpful. You can tell they want you to have a great time here. The cottage itself was awesome. Beds were so comfortable. The breakfast is really above and beyond what they promise. If you’re in the cottages neighbours are far enough away and behind trees to really bother you OR be bothered by you. Short 15 min or so from Highway 103. Recommend couples (still good family place don’t worry) and make it your home base even if you’re adventuring and don’t mind driving everywhere. We stayed there all day one of the days and had a fire on the beach right at our cabin. Wifi is good and strong if you can’t be without. No complaints so it gets the full allotment of stars. Will be back first chance I get when their spa gets up and running.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Goldsworthy, General Manager at Oceanstone Resort
Responded Jul 17, 2022
Hello Anthony, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience at Oceanstone - I am absolutely delighted that you had such a relaxing and enjoyable stay with us! It really is hard to beat one of our lovely oceanfront cottages, and it sounds like your family made the very most of your time here. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future , and will look forward to offering our new hydrothermal spa soon! Wishing you a lovely summer. Robert
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Robert B wrote a review Dec 2021
12 contributions
The property has a beautiful location right on the beach but has no parking for suite guests - you have to park in front of the lodge, unload your luggage & take it up to your suite then move your vehicle back to the upper parking lot. The flagstone walkway has lamp posts along the path to the parking lot but for some reason they were not working or not turned on making it hard to see at night. The website doesn't tell you that there is construction and/or repairs going on so be advised that large areas are fenced off. They do have a very nice reception area in the main office & all of the staff were very friendly & helpful. Breakfast is buffet style with a good selection but you have to get there early as the eating area was very cool - about 15 C & the hot food items were barely warm by 8:30 AM. Now for the "Suite" level accommodations - When you are paying upwards of $300 for "Suite" level lodging it is reasonably expected that they be maintained to a higher standard than say a roadside budget motel. The location of our suite had a wonderful view of the beach & I'm confident when they were first completed they were quite nice. This was not the case wherein our suite was in dire need of some major renovations & repairs! The pictures speak for themselves. We had privacy blinds that didn't work, leaking kitchen taps, broken bathroom shelving, very worn out kitchen counters & major mold & mildew issues at the main entrance. This stay was to celebrate a landmark anniversary but sadly it was the most disappointing accommodations we have ever stayed in at this price level. Think twice about booking any "suites" until a major repair & clean-up takes place.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: Don't book a suite until repairs & a major clean-up takes place.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Robert Goldsworthy, General Manager at Oceanstone Resort
Responded Dec 6, 2021
Hello Robert, Thank you very much for staying with us at Oceanstone, and for providing feedback on your experience. While I am disappointed to learn that your accommodation didn't live up to your expectations, I am pleased that you did enjoy our terrific seaside location, the friendly and helpful service, our main lodge facilities and the selection at breakfast. Our beautiful waterfront exposure does mean constant maintenance and upkeep to the exterior of our buildings, but I am surprised by your impression of the interior. The suite you were in is typically a guest favorite, and was upgraded just last winter. Actually, the last review of that particular unit on Tripadvisor deemed it a "luxurious and relaxing ocean side retreat", and touched on many of the recent upgrades to include bed quality, huge soaker tub, skylights and full kitchen. I apologize that was not your experience, and will certainly have our maintenance team give the suite a thorough going over. As you can clearly tell if you read our previous reviews, we take our service levels and product quality very seriously - and feedback like this is very unusual. It is unfortunate that it was not what your were expecting, but I do hope that you had a happy anniversary and wish you many more to come. Happy Holidays, Robert
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Indian Harbour area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
oceanstone inn & cottages hotel nova scotia, oceanstone inn and cottages
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Oceanstone Inn & Cottages
LOCATION
CanadaNova ScotiaHalifax Regional MunicipalityIndian Harbour
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Oceanstone Resort - Reviews & Photos (Nova Scotia/Indian Harbour) - Cottage - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Oceanstone Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Oceanstone Resort?
Nearby attractions include Peggy's Cove Lighthouse (3.5 km), Swissair Flight 111 Memorial (1.6 km), and William E. deGarthe Memorial Monument (3.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Oceanstone Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Oceanstone Resort?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Oceanstone Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Oceanstone Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Oceanstone Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rhubarb Restaurant, Shaw's Landing, and Ryer Lobsters.
Is Oceanstone Resort located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Indian Harbour.
Does Oceanstone Resort offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Oceanstone Resort?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Does Oceanstone Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Oceanstone Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.