We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Pinewood Inn

07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Pinewood Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 65: English reviews
Start your review of Pinewood Inn
 Click to rate
Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I had not stayed at the Pinewood for a number of years and it is under new ownership since I had last stayed. I was greeted by a very pleasant host (Yvette) and checked in. The room was clean and comfortable. Despite the motel being quite busy, it was very quiet. I would definitely recommend the Pinewood for anyone in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank msp2147
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the time to review. We are very glad you decided to come back and stay with us. Our goal is for guests to enjoy a clean and comfortable place to stay and it seems we achieved that goal! So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again. Yvette & Mark...

Reviewed 12 March 2017

The rooms were large and very clean. Microwave and refridgerator worked well. Newly renovated bathrooms and lots of hot water. Comfortable new beds . Excellent management service.The owners went out of their way to make the stay pleasant

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joann V
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Joann for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you and your group were comfortable. Hopefully we will see you on your next visit to the Legion! Yvette & Mark :)

Reviewed 18 October 2016

Ever notice that hotels have separate bins in the rooms for garbage and recycling yet the housekeeping carts only have one garbage bag where everything gets dumped together? The Pinewood is the real deal. They not only recycle, but they have organic waste collection, environmentally friendly soaps and are very energy conscious. I really appreciate the extra effort made here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 928jefk
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much Jef for your sharing your feedback! As a family and a business we do what we can to be eco-conscious and sustainable. Doing our part to be environmentally responsible is an important lesson to teach our son. As you said, its vital that we (all) be good stewards of our planet and are truly grateful that...

Garrettsville, Ohio
Reviewed 7 October 2016

the price was 50.00 more than was quoted when we got there. #2 there was no phones in the rooms. i never have been to a motel with no phone service. . #3 there was no giddeons bible in the rooms. never seen that one before either. I would not go back .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

This guest reserved through a booking agent, not with us directly. Their issue with the price misquote has nothing to do with Pinewood Inn, nor is it an accurate representation of our business practices. We operate this motel with integrity and pride. In this era of cell phones, we made the decision not to incur the added cost of land...

Kingston, Canada
Reviewed 30 September 2016

Arrived a couple of days ago and just spent the night at the Pinewood Inn. Very reasonably priced-45 minute drive from Algonquin Park. Enjoyed using the backyard...had a picnic supper on the lawn chairs facing the lake. We both enjoyed that very much....better than heading out for supper to a restaurant. We'd both come again. In fact, we're already talking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicki M
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Vicki for taking the time to review. We appreciate receiving such positive feedback, particularly when guests have enjoyed the use of the backyard. We are so glad you slept well in our comfy beds. We look forward to seeing you again next year! ..a note for future guests: not all rooms are dog friendly. Yvette & Mark

Aachen, Germany
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Our stay with Yvette and Mark and their son Hayden was really nice! We were a group of five students and needed a place close to Algonquin the night before and after our three days canoe tour. So we booked the room with two beds and a pull out couch. When we arrived we were quite excited about our first...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luisa_Abroad
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Luisa for your lovely review! It was wonderful hosting you ladies (please give Carolin my regards). It was so awesome that you got out to Algonquin to camp. You inspired us and we were able to get out to the Barron canyon the next weekend and got a day canoe trip in! It was beautiful (I posted some...

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed at this motel based on the positive reviews on this site and we weren't disappointed. Yvette, the owner, was very friendly and most helpful in suggesting the sights and places to eat. As we had already chosen the Wilno Tavern for dinner, she immediately offered us a 10% discount coupon (yay!!!). The room had two queen beds, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank secretdragonfly
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in Barry's Bay. We are renovating the bathrooms slowly (its only hubby doing that job). We hope you choose to stay with us again...when you can enjoy the backyard! :) Yvette & Mark :)

Ottawa, Ontario
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We stayed there on a motorcycle trip, and made reservations the night before, so we got the last room available, which doesn't have access to the backyard. Still, the bed was super comfortable!!! The owner is super friendly, she even called us shortly after we left to let us know we had forgotten our sun lotion!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank geick_38
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you were comfortable. Sunscreen is so important when your on a motorcycle on a sunny day...I wouldnt have wanted you to burn! ;) Yvette & Mark :)

Collingwood, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

We called last minute to see if this business had rooms left. Lucky for us, Yvette and Mark had 1 room left. It was nicely furnished (from bedding to curtains). Coffee pot, fridge, accessories all worked well. Yvette and Mark are very friendly and provide great local info if you let them know what you need. We walked down the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sarah H
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah for your taking the time to write your lovely review. I'm so glad it worked out! We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will make it back to stay with us on one of your trips to through to Algonquin! Yvette & Mark :)

Reviewed 11 August 2016 via mobile

I have been going to Pinewood Inn for approximately 15 years. The new owners have made many great improvements! Cleanliness, comfort and peace & quite are top reasons for my stay! If you're looking for heaven stay at Pinewood Inn because you're there! Sandra Loudon, Gravenhurst.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lorne C
YvetteandMark, Owner at Pinewood Inn, responded to this review

Our dearest Sandra. Thank you for taking some time to review us. Your perspective is so valuable. You have the unique position of seeing the massive changes we have made since taking over 6 years ago. When we bought this place it was a mess. In disrepair, fifthly and earning a less than stellar reputation. We are really proud of...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Barry's Bay
5.2 km away
Mountain View Motel
Mountain View Motel
#3 of 3 in Barry's Bay
56 reviews
1.7 km away
Fortune's Madawaska Valley Inn
27.9 km away
Sands on Golden Lake
Sands on Golden Lake
#1 of 1 in Golden Lake
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
No photo provided
The Balmoral Hotel
#2 of 3 in Barry's Bay
2 reviews
8.9 km away
Hush Lodge & Cottages
Hush Lodge & Cottages
#2 of 7 in Barry's Bay
17 reviews
15.4 km away
Spectacle Lake Lodge
Spectacle Lake Lodge
#3 of 7 in Barry's Bay
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pinewood Inn is a quiet, family owned and operated motel next to beautiful Kamaniskeg Lake. We are the closest motel to town and steps to a public beach, playground, tennis courts and public dock. Algonquin Park is just 45 minutes away on Hwy 60. Downtown Barry's Bay is walkable from our location. There is a Shell gas station with Foodmart next door and a family restaurant is only 500m from the door. There are many accessible trails, including the snowmobile trail which is groomed right to our large parking lot. Our rooms feature comfy pillow-topped beds, carpeting, private bathroom and all our rooms have fridge/microwave and in-room coffee. Also A/C, satellite TV and free WiFi are available. We can accommodate small to larger families, and our guestrooms have a back door leading to our spacious backyard with seating, BBQ's and a relaxing view of the lake. If you are lucky you might see deer travelling through the backyard. A Cozy Place to Stay While in Barry's Bay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pinewood Inn

Address: 378 John St. Hwy 62 S, Barry's Bay, Ontario K0J 1B0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Barry's Bay
Price Range: $93 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pinewood Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Pinewood Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinewood Inn Ontario, Canada
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Pinewood Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pinewood Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet, pet-friendly, nice place to escape from "city life"”
  • The sky at sunset
VickiM69, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“do a visit before you pay for your room.”
794derricks, 30 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Room with queen bed and sofa was relatively large and comfortable. Did i mention Clean?”
KevinC600, 28 Jan 2013 | Read review
“we stayed in room 12, it was great. Shower had awesome pressure.”
ColmM647, 21 Aug 2012 | Read review
“I'm sure all of the rooms are great!”
JulieM252, 21 Aug 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotwire.com
Expedia.com
Orbitz.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates