We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
16 Government Road, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0 Canada
E-mail hotel
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (60)
Room & Suite (44)
Pool & Beach (10)

About

#1 of 6 Specialty lodging in Grand Bend
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Join us at the Beach! A Perfect Get Away for Families and Couples.Welcome to the ONLY Specialty Motel located ON the Beach in Grand Bend.Relax on our terraced front lawn in one of our colourful signature lawn chairs, look out over the sparkling waters of Lake Huron to capture the beauty of our world class sunsets. It’s a short stroll to Main Street for shopping, dining, entertainment and those summer must haves, ice cream and fries. After your day of Fun, return to ‘Our Peaceful Slice’ of exciting Grand Bend. 16 Unique, Clean & Comfortable units, all with refrigerators, air conditioning and DVD players. Children under 15 stay free Monday to Thursday up to 2 in a double room. Pets accepted for a small fee. Open May through mid October.Kristie, Dave and Our Friendly Staff are here to make your stay an enjoyable one and invite you home year after year to your Beach House.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Room features
Air conditioning
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Bath / shower
Private balcony
Seating area
Separate living room
Sofa
Private bathrooms
Kitchenette
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, French
102Reviews4Q+A38Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 78
  • 20
  • 1
  • 1
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
SassyLass7 wrote a review Jul. 2022
Toronto, Canada221 contributions88 helpful votes
I'm disappointed in your response Bob. We paid a great deal of $$ for less than a five day stay and you totally ignored my concerns in my previous review. Please don't deflect by bringing up the view only as that has nothing to do with the lack of comfort we experienced at your establishment. "Response from Bob Newmaster, Owner at Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and easy access to the beach. Yes, the sunsets are spectacular and I'm happy you were able to experience their beauty. Bob" Here is my original review and I think you should invest in upgrading that room. I can still smell the mustiness of damp carpet and years of repainted refurbished furniture in my nostrils: "I'm giving this place a 3* due to the beautiful view and close proximity to the beach and marvellous sunsets.I think the entire basement is due for renos as the smell of damp, mildew and mustiness from the carpets cannot be masked by carpet powder or even professionally steamed cleaned. Please also stock up on further kitchen items ie (whisks, large cutting board, and skillets). Maybe a new stove with a fan to air out steam from cooking. And it was also disappointing that bbqing is not allowed. I don't like being in the kitchen all the time when on vacation.That's my two cents worth. Sorry, but for the amount of $$ spent here I expected a fresher smelling room and better lighting in the kitchen."
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do not stay in basement room. The odour of mustiness and dampness from old furniture and carpet...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Melanie T wrote a review Jul. 2022
Barrie, Canada3 contributions
We stayed 3 nights with our two boys in room #16. It was a large room with a nice view of beach. The staff were excellent and we appreciated the morning coffee and tea. Room was a bit tired in particular the carpet on the floor but I’m sure it is due to wear and tear in a beach area. The beds were very comfortable and they had extra blankets. Room was air conditioned which was nice. Room was very clean as well as the property well maintained. They advertise the manor just as it is! A beautiful spot close to beach which included parking on the premise. It is a close walk just steps to the main strip. Overall We loved it! And we did book for next year. Grand bend was a great time! The Bonnie Doone manor was great spot .
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bob Newmaster, Owner at Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
We appreciate your kind words and are looking forward to the opportunity to serve you again on your next trip to Grand Bend. Please be well until we meet again, Bob
Read more
Kim F wrote a review Jul. 2022
Dundas, Canada8 contributions1 helpful vote
These accommodations are located in the most perfect location! Second year staying here and it was even better than the first. Just like last year, our room was meticulously clean. The housekeeping staff do a great job. We travelled with our 18 year old son, who also enjoyed the visit as much as last year. Our favorite activity....glass of wine on the beautiful Muskoka chairs out front, watching the beach, lake, people and sunset. Loved the morning swims in the lake before anyone else made it to the beach. Parking right our front is super convenient. We keep all of our beach equipment in our trunk. So we can leave our room and just grab it and go set up for a day at the beach. Thank you to everyone at the Bonnie Doone. Look forward to seeing you and our stay next year. :-)
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bob Newmaster, Owner at Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach
Responded 3 weeks ago
Kim: Thank you for taking the time to share a review for the Bonnie Doone in Grand Bend. Our team and I appreciate your kind words and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again, very soon! Wishing you well, Bob
Read more
Sil A wrote a review Jun. 2021
1 contribution
After a day at the lake enjoying the sunset at BDM is an excellent call. BOB was an amazing host, the room if you can pick number #20 is definitely the best pick, corner unit with walk out to your own lawn lazy chairs with a outstanding view. 2 full queen beds, fully equipped kitchen, full size fridge, toasters, coffe maker, plus 2 single beds on a Solarium with air conditioning also with lake views. Really clean and luxurious. Definitely will be back. Silvio n monik
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bob Newmaster, Owner at Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach
Responded Jun. 7, 2021
Silvio, glad you enjoyed your stay at Bonnie Doone Manor Hotel on the beach, hope to see you again soon.
Read more
losdosgringos2015 wrote a review Sep. 2020
Ontario, Canada285 contributions141 helpful votes
Bonnie Doone Manor consists of an older gabled home and a somewhat larger two- storied building, standing side to side. The house is likely from the fifties or sixties and the hotel building slightly newer. There are a couple of dozen rooms ticked into nooks and corners in the two locations. The office and interiors are clean and cheerful, but dated and not accessible to anyone with mobility issues due to multiple stairs and sharp turns. Large or obese people would also have difficulty with the close dimensions of some of the rooms and showers. That said, the manor sits high on a hill directly facing the beach. From the hill, the gorgeous views dominate almost every room, with sunsets that are really remarkable. Just across the street is a delightful new playground, a bandshell, the municipal entrance to the beach, and picnic tables for comfortable takeout dining. (Don't miss the rooftop benches above the municipal facilities!) For this, the rates are about double what the hotel would be able to charge if it were located elsewhere. We knowingly paid for the location and were not sorry because we enjoyed the convenience. However,the staff were somewhat less than warm and did not wear masks, despite signage to the contrary for COVID.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The website explains which rooms face the beach.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Marlene M wrote a review Sep. 2020
Mississauga, Canada111 contributions56 helpful votes
It was exactly as expected. Wasn't sure about this one until I read the reviews prior to booking. It was one of the more expensive hotels in our Ontario road trip, but you pay for location, directly across the beach. The room was small, but it fit a Queen size bed, mini fridge and desk, had a great balcony and looks right out onto the beach (over the parking lot), crazy busy location, but really interesting people watching. The balcony has two bar high chairs and a nice ridge for your drinks so you can relax and enjoy the beautiful sunset. We actually ate our take out dinner on the balcony, very nice. We stayed in room #11, nice and bright. Yes small, but we expected that. Very clean, very nice folks at reception and also did well with managing COVID. Had complimentary (very good) coffee in the morning went down for seconds! The hotel is right in the heart of Grand Bend so we were able to walk over to Growling Gator for our take out (went there twice, food was really good). Room was $220 after tax for one night, but good experience. Grand Bend itself experience is like March Break in Florida. We stayed one night and had a beach day (too busy for us) and head off to our next destination. I would recommend Bonnie Doone, oh yes it was nice to sit out on the Muskoka Chairs on the front lawn and enjoy a beverage and watch all of the people, very nice!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Like the lake view, second floor. Small room, but great view. #11
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bob Newmaster, Owner at Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach
Responded Sep. 14, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your review for the Bonnie Doone in Grand Bend. Our team and I appreciate your kind words and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again, very soon! Wishing you well, Bob
Read more
Pam R wrote a review Aug. 2020
Toronto, Canada59 contributions17 helpful votes
The place is dog friendly, the view is wonderful. We came for the beach, and we got it. We stayed in room 22 which is nice in that it is large, but it is called the rec room because you are in the basement. The decor, and whole feel of the room is an 80s rec room. We also could hear everything above us. The bed needs replacing. I would come again however as it was over all a sweet spot to access all that Grand Bend has to offer.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Bob Newmaster, Owner at Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach
Responded Aug. 23, 2020
We appreciate your kind words and are looking forward to the opportunity to serve you again on your next trip to the Grand Bend area! Please be well until we meet again, Bob
Read more
Mitzie wrote a review Aug. 2020
1 contribution
If you are planning to travel to grand bend..DO NOT stay here! The place is called a "manor" for a reason. It is terribly outdated and smells very musty. They charge you a ridiculous amount of money but do not offer any amenities to justify the price gauge. The location is nice because its across from the beach but that is the ONLY thing positive that I can actually say about this place. The rooms are so small, it is actuslly creepy and everything is just old. The owners have not put any money into this place. The receptionist is so rude and does not make you feel welcome at all. We would NEVER stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bob Newmaster, Owner at Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach
Responded Aug. 12, 2020
Thank you for your input. I'm glad you enjoyed our location and private parking adjacent to the beach. We are proud of being the only hotel with an uninterrupted lake view . Some rooms are smaller than others but we do offer rooms with complete kitchens and will accommodate up to 6 guests.
Read more
tangoreturn wrote a review Aug. 2020
Brampton, Canada32 contributions38 helpful votes
This is our 2nd time staying at this hotel. It is right on the beach. We somehow ended up with same room as last time, in the court, ground floor with a view of the beach. This property has been sold since we were there 2 years ago and new owners are trying their best, especially during the covid pandemic. Room was ready upon arrival, check in quick. Got to the room and air conditioning was not working, hubby tried different things for 1/2 hr, then I went to front desk.. Receptionist said she would call some one. waited for about 1/2 hour, in comes new owner, he plays with air conditioner, electrical panel and fuse box, nothing working,so moves us to a ground floor room in back of the hotel, below ground room, but at least air was working, off he went, back in 1/2 hr, new to install new air conditioner, will try and have our room ready by next morning. Next morning we go for breakfast, then check in about room, won't be ready till around noon, so we wait. Finally I go back at noon, and ask, yes its ready, we move our luggage again, now have wasted Sunday afternoon and Monday morning, no beach time yet. Air is working, we are moved, off to the beach. Next 2 days at the beach. Overall an ok stay, but no offer of discount for our troubles, when I asked, was told we were moved to more expensive room, only upgrade to pours was a full kitchen that we did not need or book. The location is great as we are across parking lot to the beach, but hotel is old and in need of renovations, which I have been told will be done over the winter. our room was exactly the same as it was 2 years ago. We may try them again next summer as you cannot beat the location and beach is great.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: some rooms have a view, great sunsets
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Bob Newmaster, Owner at Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach
Responded Aug. 12, 2020
It was great to have you back. I apologize for the a/c issue, which we replaced as soon as possible. We anticipate renovations over the winter to make your next stay as enjoyable as we can.
Read more
BlacksmithBob wrote a review Sep. 2019
Hamilton, Canada36 contributions5 helpful votes
Small, but VERY clean room. Checking in was a breeze. Beautiful grounds right on the beach !!! Private balcony with a view for days !!! Close to ALL other amenities ie; restaurants and the main drag of Grand Bend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from BonnieDooneManor, General Manager at Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach
Responded Oct. 10, 2019
Thank you for your kind review and looking forward in seeing you again.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioLambton ShoresGrand Bend
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach
Which popular attractions are close to Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach?
Nearby attractions include Wave Limo and Tours (0.5 km), Grand Bend Beach (0.9 km), and Paddingtons Pub Eatery, Ale house and Wine Bar (0.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, reduced mobility rooms, and complimentary tea.
Which room amenities are available at Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach?
Conveniently located restaurants include F.I.N.E. A Restaurant, The Lake Hound, and Paddingtons Pub.
Is Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Grand Bend.
Are pets allowed at Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Does Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the lake view available here.
Is Bonnie Doone Manor-On-The-Beach accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.