We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oakwood Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oakwood Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

386 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Oakwood Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 385: English reviews
Toronto, ON
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

We were two small families; a family of 2, and family of 3 - both with children around 2 years of age. We all stayed in the honeymoon (I believe) suite - which had a huge and amazing jacuzzi tub that filled from the ceiling which the kids loved, and a lounge area that was closed off by French doors...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GypsyStylist
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your time here at Oakwood Resort, we hope to see you back again soon!

Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 27 June 2016

This is our second time staying here...last year we were in Grand Bend for the Drag Races and got rained out...but we had a great time in any event. This year we planned a little better and booked the spa and the golf ahead of time and again went to the Drag Races....The room was adequate and anything that was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HBuchanan
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay once again. We will look forward to hosting you again next year.

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Look, I've stayed at a lot of hotels in my life. A LOT. Just in the past 30 years I easily have stayed at hundreds and hundreds of amazing 5 star hotels that are brand new. The Oakwood probably hasn't been remodeled in 30 years. I suppose in a way that might give it a little retro / rustic charm...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Adam R
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback as we are always looking for ways to improve our property and the experiences for our guests. Resorts are quite different from five star hotels wherever you go but we try hard to provide excellent value for our many guests.

Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night at the Oakwood Resort in the Longhouse. The room was a bit dated and had a musty smell, but was a good size and had a separate area for storage and closet space with a small fridge. The room had some cobwebs and dead bugs in the light fixtures but we viewed it more as a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Amanda C
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I will be sure to pass your experience on to our senior management team to review. It is unfortunate that your issue was not fixed as we try very hard to provide all guests with prompt service and great value. We do hope you will reconsider and return so we can show just how great...

Reviewed 21 June 2016

we didnt stay at the oakwood but the staff was very nice and the food was almost very good we when for a wedding june 18 we didnt plan to stay so we didnt have a room but the manager said we got get ready there .that was very nice of them thank you again oakwood we will be back...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Erica J
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Oakwood and we look forward to hosting you again soon!

Kitchener, Canada
Reviewed 17 June 2016

We arrived Monday and stayed to Wednesday - things were very quiet, although there appeared to be a small conference going on, as well as a golf tournament during our stay. We booked online and requested an upper floor with a balcony... but unfortunately were given a main floor room, with a patio door facing the roadway, next to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tourist155
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your comments. We always try to accommodate requsts whenever we can, however this is unfortunately is not always possible. I will be sure to pass your comments regarding the breakfast on to our food & beverage manager for review as well. It is good to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and we...

Toronto
Reviewed 15 June 2016

I had the opportunity to spend a night recently as part of a conference. The facility is a lovely family style golf resort directly on the lake. The rooms, are basic, but clean. Overall a nice facility

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

Brampton, Canada
Reviewed 12 June 2016

Golf weekend with a group of friends. This event takes place each year and has occurred over many years. Course if "okay". Resort needs to get their act together at the restaurant at the turn and completion of nine holes. People going into get food can wait up to 30 minutes just to get a hotdog. This frustrates golfers and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TheKnights2
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, w are not under new management, however we do appreciate your comments. We do agree that the Pub can be a busy spot and we do try to get food out for golfers as quickly as we can. We also suggest pre-ordering from the course with a quick phone call which can certainly help speed...

Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Went for 3 days. Rooms are a little tired. Food was fine but bar hours are too short and customer service poor. I knew I left something in my room after I removed my belongings. When I went to checkout later in day I asked if anything had been found. House keeping indicated nothing was found. I checked out and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and for making us aware of the issue around the belongings you left behind in your room. I will be sure to look into this and will review with our housekeeping manager the protocol for when items are found in the rooms. Since our housekeeping staff clean a large number of rooms prior to returning...

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 20 May 2016 via mobile

I loved the ambiance here. Walking through the buildings and the rooms felt like a cottage or lodge with all the wood. It smelled like cedar so almost felt rustic and yet the amenities were lovely. The bed was very comfortable with a tasteful duvet cover. The room was spacious and had a nice balcony overlooking the golf course. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelling-Goddess
OakwoodResort, Manager at Oakwood Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience so much of what Oakwood has to offer!

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (124)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Bend
12.0 km away
Hessenland Country Inn
Hessenland Country Inn
#2 of 3 in Bayfield
61 reviews
16.9 km away
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
Bee 'n Bee Bed 'n Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Grand Bend
13 reviews
40.1 km away
Dreamz Inn
Dreamz Inn
#2 of 9 in Goderich
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Brentwood on the Beach
28.1 km away
Bayfield River Cottage Colony
22.2 km away
The Gregory Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oakwood Resort is a family owned and operated resort located in Grand Bend Ontario. The resort is nestled within a natural setting featuring large mature trees and plenty of green space all just steps away from the beautiful white sand beaches of Lake Huron. With 126 rooms offering a variety of accommodation options including deluxe rooms, suites and cottages. We are the ideal location for a family getaway, a corporate retreat or just a weekend away for two. We also offer a wide range of things to do on site including an eighteen-hole golf course, relaxing spa, dining room and pub, indoor pool, indoor and outdoor hot tubs, tennis courts, fitness center, access to our private beach, children's play area and ten thousand square feet of banquet and conference space. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oakwood Resort

Address: 70671 Bluewater Highway, Grand Bend, Lambton Shores, Ontario N0M 1T0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Lambton Shores > Grand Bend
Price Range: $107 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakwood Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Oakwood Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hotel Grand Bend
Oakwood Hotel Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Sarnia
Oakwood Resort Grand Bend, Ontario
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oakwood Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago
Littlefork, Minnesota
over a year ago
Littlefork, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Oakwood Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book somewhere else :)”
 of 5 bubbles X7192LGaudreym, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in Pine Lodge are dated and beds are old. Request the Oak Lodge.”
 of 5 bubbles jesssmart, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I personally like the cabins/cottages but usually they are booked far ahead.”
 of 5 bubbles georgekM2626SU, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay at pine lodge if you're going to use hotel amenities. That way you don't have to walk far to get back to your room.”
 of 5 bubbles vijaib, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“request a balcony room facing the golf course.”
 of 5 bubbles 736sethn, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5