We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hanmer Backpackers

  • Free Parking
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hanmer Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Awesome cosy very well equipped kitchen and bathroom dinning room. Awesome outdoor BBQ and entertainment area. Stunning area for a break. Close to town. everything in walking distance from hostel. Relaxing massage chair and stunning library with awesome books and games in the lounge

 Report
Helpful?
Thank larap220
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

I've stated at a huge amount of backpackers but none have come close to this quality - beds were fully made, heater and blankets provided in the cupboard, massage chair, books, board games and a fully equipped kitchen. Owners were lovely and the whole vibe was super relaxed and fun. Bathroom was top notch. Would definitely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lauren D
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Hanmer Backpackers is run by a pleasant Japanese woman and sleeps 22. When we were there, there were 12. The first night a group of 70+ were the most social ones around. This was on a Friday. Saturday had a younger crowd, however, the staff became rather bitter when the volume of the music was slightly raised at 1930 (regardless...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bertie B
HanmerBP, Manager at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Bit disappointing with your review there, yet thank you for taking the time to do so. We can always learn from feedback. In our defense there are a couple of things we would like to point out. On the contrary to the title we actually actively encourage an sociable environment. We strife to create an comfortable place for everybody and...

Christchurch
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

We had a good experience and Tristan is quite a carector, well traveled. The rooms are clean and a good sized and well equipped kitchen. We are staying there again at the end of the month. You can see all the main street from the backpacers so every thing is close.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michael H
HanmerBP, Manager at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for you nice feedback. It was great having you again last week and we hope we can welcome you again in the near future. Kind Regards, Tristan

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Thanks Tristan for a fabulous stay... you are a delight !!! We had a private room in the main house with shared bathroom... and we had two bathrooms to choose from, which was great. Tristan the owner sat with us and chatted for a while which was nice. We had a table and chairs outside our room so after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JazzyPerth
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks you for the great feedback. It was a pleasure to have you here and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards, Tristan and Yoko

Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 21 March 2016

It`s very cozy. I loved the style of the house, like a chalet. The staff members were very friendly. Facilities were clean and they even have a massage chair. The kitchen is well-equipped and there is a nice bbq spot. It`s close to everything because Hanmer Spring is quite small. I would stay again, it`s one of the best backbackers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Webca
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. We look forward to seeing you again. Tristan and Yoko

Bristol, Wisconsin
Reviewed 16 March 2016

Nice little hostel in town. Very small but clean and friendly service. The wood burning stove kept the place nice and toasty. Nice lounge area with lots of books. Beds were comfortable. They also had some fresh picked blackberries and lots of spices available to everyone in the kitchen. If your looking for a lively backpackers this is not the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank William L
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our little hostel. Your feedback matches with our management style. We focus on the hostel being sociable, friendly and a comfortable place to relax, yet, indeed, we are definitely not a "party backpackers". Enjoy your travels. Tristan and Yoko

Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

Should not be in hostel business. We had 4 people paying for a room and 2 guests visited us. They were to camp that night, but were just hanging out (not drinking at all) in our room showing videos and photos from the trail we had recently hiked. Sure, they over extended their welcome despite us telling them they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

To avoid going over the many half truths and complete lies in your review we sum it up as follows: Our hostel, and backpacking in general, is based on honesty and respect, both were lacking in your group and you were dealt with accordingly. Hostel operators do inform other hostels about free loading "guests". A lesson learned...

Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Reviewed 12 March 2016

It was an absolute pleasure staying here! The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. I will happily stay here again in the future and recommend to any all of my friends who are looking for a friendly atmosphere.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ProbablyTony
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your friendly review!

Seddon, New Zealand
Reviewed 28 February 2016

This was a very average place.The room was good and the beds were comfortable but there were a lot of rules. One couple in our group even had their booking cancelled on the morning of their stay with no warning because they had changed their credit card.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TrevorJohns
HanmerBP, Owner at Hanmer Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. There are some (common sense) rules in the hostel to ensure everybody has a comfortable stay, we never had any negative feedback about them, but will keep it in mind. We do require valid credit details to secure a booking. If a card has been voided we...

57 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 km away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
610 reviews
0.1 km away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
424 reviews
1.2 km away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Jack in the Green Backpackers
Jack in the Green Backpackers
#9 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
78 reviews
0.8 km away
Kakapo Lodge YHA
Kakapo Lodge YHA
#4 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
76 reviews
1.0 km away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hanmer Backpackers is the most centrally located hostel in beautiful Hanmer Springs. Our hostel is a small, cozy, friendly and warm Swiss chalet style backpackers providing excellent accommodation and service at low prices. We are the most affordable accommodation provider in Hanmer Springs for the independent traveller. The main attraction in Hanmer Springs are the Thermal Pools, which are located a 3-4 minute walk from our hostel! But there's more, Hanmer Springs is a fabulous place for mountain biking, hiking / tramping, skiing, rafting, bungee jumping, quad biking, golf, fishing, shopping and many more things. Our kitchen is well stocked with all the essential cooking equipment, fridges / freezers, free tea, plunger coffee, instant coffee, hot chocolate, milk for the hot drinks and a complete spice rack. There is a nice outside patio with comfortable garden furniture and a gas BBQ + utensils. The lounge has some comfy sofas, extensive book exchange, board games, guitar and a massage chair to take care of your sore muscles after a day full of activities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hanmer Backpackers

Address: 41 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $55 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hanmer Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hanmer Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hanmer Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a Private if in your budget!”
 of 5 bubbles mann0nj, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the room upstairs if after a private double with shared bathroom (where we stayed) and you won't be put next to the showers”
 of 5 bubbles mcnlo, 9 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Upstairs room is warmer (it's just above the fire) but backs onto the 6 person dorms, so can be noisy. It has a skylight which is nice. Downstairs rooms are closer to the bathrooms but look out on the carpark”
 of 5 bubbles jemmah3, 30 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Dorm room upstairs in the main building was awesome!”
 of 5 bubbles JRo85, 8 Jul 2014 | Read review
“Make sure you check out the bird nest in the garden If you stay in one of the rooms that aren't in the main building you get a free wifi voucher but to buy the wifi is really affordable so don't worry about that too much”
 of 5 bubbles Rachel462014, 21 Jan 2014 | Read review
5 of 5