We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

65 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 65: English reviews
Start your review of Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Was a bit nervous before arrival as they had not taken any money (booked thru Expedia) however when we arrived the owner told us they don't take money prior for a few different reasons (all valid) we stayed in the Smithy. A self contained lodge with plenty of history. There was enough room for 4 adults and 3 kids. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma W
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

On our way down from Hamilton to Dunedin we stayed here. We booked last minute and it was awesome that they had room for us. We had a cabin that was comfortable for two adults, a baby and a fox terrier. We had a lovely stay thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fuzz21
Warragul, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We looked at all the campgrounds and being in a mobile home thought the cheaper would be okay as we have everything. However we ended up parking in the carpark as that was a powered site and looking at the garages! The shower block was very small, old and very wet. The men's had no hot water and very cramped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gita W
Reviewed 9 February 2017

The owners were lovely and went out of their way to make sure my wife, myself and our little daughter had all we needed. 'The Smitty' covered all the bases was a beautiful place stay. The distance from Hanmer itself wasn't an issue, it just meant that we drove instead of walked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nic A
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Thanks so much for the lovely review. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay.It is a delight to read a genuine review from someone who actually stayed with us. It is hard to deal with reviews that trip advisor have allowed to go through, without the people actually staying here. An example is, a group of people highly intoxicated...

Reviewed 1 February 2017

We visited this campground during the end of the christmas holidays to meet up with family and possibly stay for a couple nights in Hanmer. We waited in what appeared to be a carpark for the office to open as we were 30mins early, the office lady was extremely rude and unhelpful, we realise our family members were not staying...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lizzy L
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Hi, I do not recall you coming in regarding meeting up with family.I always try to find where people are meant to be, if they are not on our booking system. Are you sure you have the right Campground. Our office entrance does not resemble a Carpark. The Office is straight off the main road. I am so sorry you...

Reviewed 23 January 2017 via mobile

No Wifi, and only 2 electricity plugs for all the people!! We asked the owners if we could plug some devices in their office. They were not helpful at all, and after we started arguing about the missing wifi (because in their web advertisements they say wifi is available) they said if we don't leave the office now they will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beat G
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Wow!!What a mouth full. On check in, a lovely lady came in, we explained since the earthquakes we were having trouble with our Wifi, and she was very understanding. A few hours later you two guys that were with her came into the office complaining of no Wifi,and that all the plugs in the Camp Kitchen had devices and you...

Hokitika, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 January 2017 via mobile

Lovely hosts, beautiful setting with heaps of room for kids and adults. However the hot water situation was terrible. It's is good luck if you get a warm shower as there is only one hot water cylinder servicing 4 showers & kitchen. ( if it runs out then there is a boiler unit available for the kitchen sink ) but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AuntyChezzaNZ
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Uhh!! not sure where you got info on our hot water systems from, but this is a campground. We surveyed Campers last year and asked, if they were happy with the wait for hot water in showers or whether they wanted meter paying showers.The majority didn't want to have to pay for their showers and realized some would spend longer...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Rencently stayed with family, warm welcome on arrival and great accommodation, good facilities free barbecue facilities and good showers. Kids park and volleyball available free of charge. Short walk from hamner, pet friendly and great value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scouser1978
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Hi, thanks for the review, Great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Have a happy day. Lee

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

I booked here during the xmas period with my family. I booked directly thru their website for 2xAdults 1xChild and 1xInfant and was charged $210 but when I arrived at the holiday park i was told i had to pay another $30 for the child because it hadn't showed up on their system. I showed her my confirmation email stating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Hi, I am sorry you feel cheated about the extra charges to stay with us. I did point out to you that Booking.Com only charged you for 2 adults, I even showed you on our Web page that the cost of the rooms are on a 2 adult rate and children are $10 extra, and infants are free. According to...

Timaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 January 2017

At the last minute we decided to add 1 night in Hanmer Springs to our Christmas Holiday. I did not think we would find somewhere to stay in our Camper Van, but the friendly people at Motueka Top 10 rang around and found 1 night for us. We were all surprised at the price quoted, $32 is very cheap for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Is_Manson_2004
Alpineapartments, Owner at Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for taking the time to write a review, especially when you are on holiday. comments like that are such a pleasant read after a long day/night, we wish you well for the rest of your journey Cheers Lee.

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (16)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
1.9 km away
Heritage Hanmer Springs
Heritage Hanmer Springs
#8 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
649 reviews
2.2 km away
Hanmer Springs Top 10 Holiday Park
3.5 km away
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
Alpine Adventure Holiday Park
#8 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Kakapo Lodge YHA
Kakapo Lodge YHA
#3 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
86 reviews
2.0 km away
Hanmer Backpackers
Hanmer Backpackers
#6 of 12 in Hanmer Springs
127 reviews
1.6 km away
Forest Peak Motel
Forest Peak Motel
#15 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground

Address: 200 Jollies Pass Road | 9 Fowlers Lane, Hanmer Springs 7360, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $54 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Alpine Holiday Apartments & Campground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the other caravan park in the middle of Hanmer.”
gitaw2014, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The Smitty has all you need.”
, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The apartments have stunning views of the snowcapped mountains and surrounding forest.”
ellenphillipscollis, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the cabins are well furnished and comfortable”
456derickc, 7 May 2016 | Read review
“Family room with shared bathroom is good value if on tight budget with kids”
tash_nigel, 26 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5