We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Heritage Hanmer Springs

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Heritage Hanmer Springs
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

647 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 634: English reviews
Start your review of Heritage Hanmer Springs
 Click to rate
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

One night stay on our way to Kaikoura. Booked this last minute and was pleased with the hotel and location. Lovely comfortable bed. Helpful staff who checked on the progress of access into Kaikoura for us. Great location if you were visiting the Thermal pools . Lots of places to eat and drink . Didn't use the hotel facilities.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank midge_10
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel provides a lovely nostalgic experience. We stayed for two nights over Easter break We had an outside room We found that the bed was warm with electric blanket on arrival. The bed very comfortable and staff very helpful The hotel is central , few minutes from the walks and thermal pools Food of very good quality The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GizaN7
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was very disappointed esp in the price knowing I had a baby. I asked for a portacot and couldn't understand why my baby wouldn't sleep in it until the last night, there was no mattress in there it was a double over duvet I couldn't understand why you would do that, she's also on solids and I had no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tarynm781
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear tarynm781 Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our baby cots should be set up with mattresses so I have spoken to the Housekeeping team to remind them in...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The hotel is years over due for a make over. We usually stay in a lovely motel down the road but decided to treat ourselves to the the towns "flash hotel". Paid $300 for an outdated rundown room (had to prop the old sash windows open with books). Complete waste of money. 1/10 across the board

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jeff S
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Jeff S Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are disappointed that we didn’t meet your expectations during your stay. We are currently working through a soft refurbishment program. This is an ongoing process and we hope...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is in a good location close to spa and restaurants. Hotel restaurant was OK but nothing special. Enjoyed a glass of wine, relaxing during happy hour, looking out over the garden before heading out for our evening meal. Staff polite but didn't offer to carry bags upstairs even though there was no lift so not overly thoughtful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Kevin C Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. While we are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, we are disappointed that assistance with your luggage was not offered. I have spoken to the Reception team to...

New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were there for a car club AGM with about 45 members attending. We were in a garden room with a WOW factor with quiet and solitude. Very comfortable beds and lovely reception rooms in the hotel itself. The service cannot be faulted and we look forward to returning in the future.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank orangeNewZealand
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear orangeNewZealand Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The garden rooms were clean and tidy, but the highlight was definitely the comfortable beds. Gardens were nice and well laid out. Hotel is very well placed being in the centre of town, so minutes away from pools

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mirandas450
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear mirandas450 Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

New Zealand
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here as we were in Hanmer Springs for a friend’s wedding and this was the venue. The room we had was at the back of the pool and was just lovely; clean, tidy and warm. The setting is just wonderful, and all the staff we interacted with were very happy and polite. Good place to stay if you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wigsNZ
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear wigsNZ Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here the same night as the Tour of New Zealand cyclists arrived - the hotel was packed but all of the staff were extremely helpful and efficient. Our room was lovely with an extremely comfy bed. This hotel is within walking distance of everything you need within Hamner Springs and they have overflow parking available close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daisy M
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Daisy M Thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First impressions were good. The foyer was lovely, light and airy but it all went downhill from there. We were in a garden room (semi detached lodge) which had no allocated parking so we had to park on the road outside the hotel grounds. We were not to impressed by this. The garden room was a little disappointing, quite small...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judi M
duncanmackenzie-GM, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Judi M Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services we offer. We are disappointed that you didn't enjoy your stay with us and that we didn’t meet basic expectations for dinner service. This is definitely not the standard of service...

134 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant
Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Tennis Court
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $140 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heritage Hanmer Springs staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Metro Manila, Philippines
Ballarat Victoria Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Heritage Hanmer Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For independence choose a garden room.”
orangeNewZealand, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check that the room is not above the ballroom if you are staying over the weekend”
mirandas450, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Depends on whether one wants garden or street view and of course, superior or Deluxe.”
AnFrahols, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The villas have a lovely outlook.”
DomAustralia, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Don't come here, If they book a wedding you will have hardly any access to facilities and restaurants for 2 days.”
TroyHartzer, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5