We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Heritage Hanmer Springs

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Heritage Hanmer Springs
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

560 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Heritage Hanmer Springs
See the most recent reviews
Showing 547: English reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

1. Room - odd lay out and small in places it shouldn't have been. Table and chairs at the end of the bed leaving very little room between them and the bed to walk past. Could not move the table and chairs as they were right up against the window. TV on a wall to the left of the bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rdnkh
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Rdnkh Thanks for your review of Heritage Hanmer Springs. We really appreciate your feedback but are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed the shower and the restaurant and we will have a good look at the issues that you have raised about your room (111) to see what we can do...

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Great location in the centre of Hanmer Springs so able to walk everywhere. Lovely hotel although it felt a bit dated and in need of some attention. Good value for money. Lovely garden area to have a drink or something to eat.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bernardrenee2016
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear bernardrenee2016 Thanks for your review of your recent stay with us. We really appreciate your feedback and will take it onboard. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Hotel a bit tired not as good as it looks on the internet Views on the internet made it look very up market but the whole hotel really needs a make over Heated towel rail in the bathroom didn't work neither did the heater The bed was however very comfortable and the room was clean

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShazzaW62
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear ShazzaW62 Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We really appreciate your feedback because it helps us to identify areas where we can improve. We are currently working through a soft refurbishment program for the hotel to lift the appearance of the rooms and the public areas. This is an ongoing process and we...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 25 October 2016

As it was a gift voucher we expected that the giver was familiar with the venue. The booking receptionist was more intent on ensuring over the phone of what was NOT included in the voucher and where we'd have to pay extra etc etc all of which we knew as equally we can read its contents! The waiter at dinner...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kingkoroki
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear kingkoroki Thanks for your review. We really appreciate your feedback. I have passed on your comments to the Front Office Manager and the Restaurant Manager so that they can follow up with their staff. Thanks again for your feedback. Regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

We spent half a day soaking up the hot selection of pools great to hire a locker & pools were in clean lovely surrounds showers were clean well msintained - the trees were magnificent! Great value - ideal for couples & families very friendly staff - car parking out front is monitored so keep an eye out how long you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca S Thanks for posting a review of your stay in Hanmer Springs! We are delighted that your enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. Best regards, Duncan Mackenzie General Manager

Italy
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Where to start! The heritage was a dream from start to finish as our wedding venue. The honeymoon suite was great, and my guests gave me great feedback about the rooms they were staying in. The heritage staff did everything with a smile and made it all easy—it was reassuring to know everything was taken care of while we worried...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libby D
HHAN-DianaW, Front Office Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Libby, thank you very much for your review. Congratulations again on your wedding. We are so pleased to hear that you had a wonderful wedding here at the hotel and that your guests enjoyed their stay with us. I will make sure that your great feedback gets passed on to all staff. We hope to welcome you back to...

Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

I had high expectations of this place, it looks so pretty in the pictures and heritage is normally good. Grounds are amazing. But the service and room were disappointing. No mini bar, empty fridge, no bell boy, made us walk to our room alone at night in the freezing rain on arrival (room is about 300m from main building with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodney F
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Rodney F Thanks for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor of your recent stay with us. We appreciate all guest feedback because it helps us to maintain and improve the services that we offer. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as you should have. Customer service is...

Reviewed 15 October 2016

We were really impressed when we first saw the hotel, it was a beautiful building with an impressive entrance (and it looked even better after it snowed overnight). There was a bit of a mix up with our booking but the man who checked us in sorted this out easily. He didn't however offer any assistance with our luggage, which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samantha J
GM_HeritageHanmer, General Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear Samantha J Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. We do appreciate receiving feedback from our guests as it is very important to us in ensuring standards are maintained and improved. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, however we are sorry that the customer service you received was...

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

The hotel stands very well from the road, and is in a perfect location for hanmer which has become one of my favourite places on the South Island. The hotel is a little dated in places, but not bad for a quick stop off as there is more to see in hanmer.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
HHAN-DianaW, Front Office Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Dear James B, thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your feedback. Kind Regards, Diana Williams Front Office Manager

Oamaru, New Zealand
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Very central location with lovely rooms and a comfortable bed..... Best bed all around New Zealand. Could do with a lift for suitcases though! Staff were most friendly and Helpful. At this time parking was not an issue but in the busier times I imagine that it could be a bit of a problem.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shazschoch
HHAN-DianaW, Front Office Manager at Heritage Hanmer Springs, responded to this review

Hello shazschoch, thank you very much for your great review. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed sleeping in our beds. We receive wonderful reviews about the beds. We have taken on board your comment about a lift up to the first floor and are looking at options. In regards to parking, we have...

116 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (93)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (50)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanmer Springs hotels
0.2 km away
The St James
The St James
#1 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
397 reviews
1.0 km away
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
Hot Springs Motor Lodge
#4 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
259 reviews
0.2 km away
Village Lake Apartments
Village Lake Apartments
#5 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#3 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
536 reviews
0.5 km away
Chalets Motel
Chalets Motel
#6 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
357 reviews
6.0 km away
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
Select Braemar Lodge & Spa
#9 of 21 in Hanmer Springs
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant
Isobel's Hanmer Springs Restaurant
Cuisines: European, New Zealand
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just 90 minutes from Christchurch, Hanmer Springs is the perfect place to escape the pressure of the city and relax in the natural beauty of the Southern Alps. The Heritage Hanmer Springs is a landmark hotel in the heart of Hanmer Springs Village, just a short stroll from the shops and the famous Thermal Pools. Nestled in 9 hectares of beautifully landscaped gardens, the historic Hanmer Lodge building offers the perfect retreat from the stress of modern life. Relax and enjoy the peaceful outdoor setting that the hotel provides, including our tennis court and outdoor swimming pool (seasonal). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Heritage Hanmer Springs

Address: 1 Conical Hill Road, Hanmer Springs 7334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Hanmer Springs
Price Range: $147 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Heritage Hanmer Springs 4.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Heritage Hanmer Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heritage Hanmer Springs Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hanmer Springs Heritage
Heritage Hotel Hanmer Springs
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Hanmer Springs
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Heritage Hanmer Springs staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Metro Manila, Philippines
Ballarat Victoria Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Heritage Hanmer Springs staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a downstairs room if you prefer not to climb stairs”
 of 5 bubbles judyy2014, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No lift, garden room very quiet and large room but a little way from the main building.”
 of 5 bubbles margareth263, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Garden Rooms are really relaxing.”
 of 5 bubbles 666cruiser, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Avoid 111 at all cost”
 of 5 bubbles Rdnkh, 4 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Heritage by name and by nature. Creaky floors, dark woods, no lifts for heavy luggage but theyre happy to deal with the luggage”
 of 5 bubbles kingkoroki, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay