Hockley Valley Resort

Hockley Valley Resort

Wedding set up at Montclair ballroom
Traveller (383)
Room & Suite (89)
Dining (69)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 1 hotels in Mono
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Hockley Valley Resort is a year-round resort located in the heart of some of Ontario’s most picturesque countryside, one hour from downtown Toronto. Since opening its doors in 1985, Hockley Valley Resort has become a leading culinary tourism, leisure, corporate meeting and wedding destination. The 300-acre boutique property features 104 luxury rooms and suites, 14 meeting rooms, an 8,000 square foot full-service spa, a championship 18-hole golf course designed by renowned Canadian golf course architect Thomas McBroom, and 15 scenic ski and snowboard runs for all levels.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Ski rentals
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Outdoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Ski school
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Ski In / Ski Out
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Private balcony
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Seating area
Telephone
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English

Location

793522 3rd Line EHS, Mono, Ontario L9W 5X7 Canada
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 43 out of 100
43
Toronto Pearson Intl Airport
47.3 km
See all flights
Kitchener-Waterloo Regional Airport
63.4 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles970 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Hockley Valley Resort offers a picturesque setting that guests typically appreciate, nestled in a scenic location perfect for dining and unwinding. While some travelers commend the resort for its clean and comfortable rooms, others are disappointed by dated interiors and the noise from event celebrations. The amenities garner mixed reviews; the food and activities are highlights for many, but concerns over staffing and outdated facilities persist. Service experiences vary, with instances of professionalism offset by reports of inconsistency. Overall, many guests question the value, feeling the costs are high considering the need for updates.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Outdated
Rooms
Dated
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
970Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 494
  • 202
  • 114
  • 84
  • 76
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Moondoggie1957 wrote a review Aug 2022
Woodbridge, Canada576 contributions179 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We recently visited the Hockley Valley resort for a family wedding.

The front desk staff were friendly and professional and had us checked-in in no time at all. Our room was spacious and clean. The wedding went off without a hitch and the food was delicious

We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Hockley Valley Resort
Responded Feb 10, 2023
Thank you for taking the time and leaving us with your positive feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Warm regards, Hockley Valley Resort
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Navigate792332 wrote a review Oct 2020
Newmarket, Canada25 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Our milestone anniversary fell on a mid week day and we were able to take advantage of a special price they offer which includes breakfast.
We ate at their in house restaurant called The Cabin. We enjoyed a leisurely and delicious dinner that would rival any fine dining restaurants in downtown Toronto. Tables were set far apart from each other and our seating time had only 8 other people dining at the same time. Covid safety measures are strictly followed and we felt safe at the resort. The bar area had two stools with plexi glass divider and then a few properly spaced tables if you like enjoy a cocktail before dinner. Enjoy a stroll around the property or at the nearby hiking trails.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Facing the golf course for a pretty view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Other at Hockley Valley Resort
Responded Nov 10, 2020
Thanks for spending your anniversary with us!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Guy F wrote a review Feb 2020
Toronto, Canada23 contributions32 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed at Hockley a few times over the years, and unfortunately, our room was showing its age and could use some TLC.
The location, food, and spa are part of the appeal of this resort. This is why it's disappointing if you decide to stay overnight as our room wasn't clean, and showed signs of disrepair.

I appreciate that the resort runs year-round with golf in the summer, and skiing in the winter, however, they really need to evaluate and prioritize renovating their rooms as they are currently overpriced based on the condition.

When we arrived in our room, we found an empty beer can in the corner of the room, the bedsheet wasn't fully draped over the once corner exposing a dirty and stained mattress. The showerheads were covered in limescale, there was what appeared to be black mold in the corner, and bars in the shower that should have had something on top to act as a shelve.

If you live close enough to visit and enjoy the delicious food and property I would recommend it. I would return for a day visit.
However, I would advise against staying overnight at the $300 price point (Saturday Night) as it was not worth it, and had a negative impact on the visit. If they aren't willing to update and clean the rooms, the price needs to be lower to match expectations.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Other at Hockley Valley Resort
Responded Feb 27, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, I apologize that your room was not up to standards and your expectations. If you could send us a message directly, we would like to discuss the concerns you have raised personally. With feedback from individuals like yourself we can improve and we will certainly be acting on your concerns. Thank you!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Travis B wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
An unexpectedly awful experience.

I've been to Hockley before as part of a wedding party which was motivation for me to book a romantic weekend for my partner and I during the August long weekend. We booked a room that was two floors with a fireplace. At the time of booking we were told that all of the amenities would be open congruent with the current coronavirus level alert.

On arrival, we were greeted by the hotel staff and tried to arrange lunch, having just driven from the city. We were told it was over an hour to get a table. It occurred to me that, at this rural resort with no other sources of food available, the resort is booked beyond the capacity of socially distanced amenities. Including vitals amenities, such as food.

But thats coronavirus life and is forgivable.

There was no firewood in the room. The hotel had no intentions of meeting this advertised amenity until I threatened to cancel the booking.

The hotel made dinner reservations for us at the winery. We showed up, and were told there were no reservations, very embarrassing for us. They ultimately made us a table in a corner by a bush, away from the main eating area. Also embarrassing.

On our second to last day, we had booked a game of golf. We are amateur golfers. They booked us with another pair unexpectedly (what happened to social distancing?) who took quite a long time to play their holes. This caused the course Marshall to give a warning to my partner and myself, and in an extraordinarily rude tone tell us, "you only get one ball per tee and one shot per hole going forward." He was unreceptive when i tried to explain the other pair were holding us up (its my habit to simply skip a hole if I feel the group behind me is catching up because I am taking too long - the people we were paired with disagreed with that which ultimately through the whole thing into disarray).

Very upset and disappointed by this awful experience. I would warn you all against coming here.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Other at Hockley Valley Resort
Responded Aug 12, 2020
Thank you for leaving your review. It is with comments like this that we can strive to get better. As for the golf experience, we will address this with our staff and use this to improve our service in the future. I would like to extend our apologies for the way in which our Marshal acted it is certainly not the manner in which we would have any message delivered to our golf guests. We are, as other courses in Ontario - booking groups of 4 players. While on course golfers are expected to practice social distancing and from our experience that is working very well. Again, thank you for sharing this and we are sorry about the manner in which this situation was handled on our part.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
BCD family wrote a review Feb 2020
7 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
we have been a regular customer over the last 5 years to hockley valley, as we love golf and ski, and often the hotel offers good package deal for us to keep coming back.

however, we stayed in the hotel on Jan 31 - Feb 2 for a wedding and had to say that we will NEVER come back due to the poor and rude service from the mgmt team.

we paid $388 one night plus tax plus resort fee for the suite, check the photos, do those worn out furniture deserve the price, especially when the bed base collapsed right under your butt?

it's not large size of lobby, but they decided to put 2 weddings on the same day, plus they lured large crowd of skiers to the hotel with some promotion. So, we were wiping the wet floor with evening gowns and push our way through the crowded space to figure out who were in our parties.

and... the hotel manager decided to put a curfew at 11pm sharp to kick my guests out of our hotel room on the first night of our stay; but allowed someone else to keep their room party beyond 2am the next evening. there must be a double standard which i am not aware of?
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: their promotion price comes with a catch: poor services and huge crowd!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HVR_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hockley Valley Resort
Responded Feb 6, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience and let me apologize that we did not meet your expectations. The type of experience you are reporting certainly is not one that Hockley Valley Resort is known for, nor do we ever want anyone to experience. As a 4 season destination resort, winter does bring a large number of skiers to the resort being close to Toronto and with our 16 Ski runs. We also attract many visitors with our Golf, Winery and Spa. We do ask skiers to keep their snow boots and ski equipment limited to the ski area and obviously we need to do a better job managing any water left on the floor, whether from them or our regular hotel guests tracking in snow from outside. We take comments from our guests very seriously and use them to improve. We would appreciate it if you could respond to us in a private message with your contact information so we can address your concerns directly. Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ERQ wrote a review Oct 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the second time that I spent a friend’s birthday at Hockley Valley Resort and for the second time in a row it did not disappoint. The surrounding fall scenery was so beautiful. I had a tee time at 3:30pm and brought two of my friends along (they paid a rider’s fee) to enjoy the scenic course. Then once golf was done we had dinner at the restaurant called the Cabin. I was impressed by the server Jarek who was friendly and prompt. Also the food was absolutely delicious. We shared the charcuterie board but I had to have another appetizer: the octopus. So good! I had the beef tenderloin and it was cooked to medium rare perfection. After our filling meal, my friends and I took a stroll around the resort and enjoyed more of the scenery. Front desk and reception were so helpful and accommodating especially when we needed extra towels. The next day I woke up comfortable and rested because the bed and pillows were like sleeping on a cloud. My friends and I had breakfast around 9:30am and once again the food was excellent. Get the Eggs Benedict and Banana Bread! I also had a mimosa because why not?! Our server Jessica was so cool, calm, collected and friendly. She anticipated when we needed coffee, ketchup or another spoon. Lastly, after breakfast we headed to Adamo Winery for wine tasting, which is Hockley Valley’s winery. Such a great experience overall. We will be back again for the snowboard/ski season!!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Other at Hockley Valley Resort
Responded Oct 19, 2020
Sounds like you had a wonderful time! Snowboard/Ski season is just around the corner and we are looking forward to it! Can't wait to have you back.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
L T wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Really dissapointing experience. We read a lot of reviews before coming and most were okay, some bad reviews but they seemed circumstantial.
Check in was good-excitedly we went up to our room and immediately realized our room was in the middle of two families with young screaming kids. We accepted it was family day weekend and that was to be expected, however, spent the weekend listening to groups of kids running up and down the halls screaming the entire time.
Rooms were small but decent with a nice view.
Breakfast the first morning was sub par, we were placed again, in the middle of tables with screaming kids. The second morning, thankfully, we were placed on the other side with other older adults where it was quiet.
The Skii Hills were very good and staff were very good with assisting with equipment and rental information.
I wish we had known ahead of time to make reservations at the very few places to eat offered there - as we were left without options for food and had to drive 15 minutes to bring in pizzas. Not a lot of options for water as well throughout the hotel as we did not anticipate bringing our own water bottles. The girl at the front desk was kind enough to give us "complimentary" water bottles, but still dissapointing considering how much we paid.
I wish we had stayed at a local hotel instead.. definitely not worth $700+ dollars.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Traveller Rob wrote a review Jan 2020
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Matthew Polcz(reservations manager) and Bav (restaurant manager): it is people like this that make this resort fantastic and worthy of return visits. Matthew took care of an issue with our reservation (before we even got there) with superior customer service, and was courteous with an in-room issue we had, though Minki wasn't as quick to offer goodwill gesture to relieve the room issue.

Bav (restaurant manager) was absolutely friendly and caring. This guy never stopped moving, ensuring all guests were tended to, and seated in a timely manner.
Seriously, it's this kind of customer service that brings people back to a facility. With so many places to choose from for our vacation dollars, Hockley Valley just earned repeat attention, and positive word of mouth referrals to our friends and family.

We stayed over the Christmas Holidays (Jan 2,3 2020) and even with the larger crowds and resort at capacity, the staff kept the lineups to a minimum.
We were a family of 4 (2 adults, 2 kids) and there was plenty for the kids to enjoy (especially had fun at the smores outdoor fire feature...a nice touch, especially since the resort offers this at no cost = MUCH APPRECIATED). Also the pool was at a GREAT temperature, nice and warm. Also appreciated as some hotels/resorts cheap out on heating the pool to a comfortable temperature.

Note to resort:
1) sliding doors to balcony needs to be replaced with more modern light-weight version. It was extremely heavy and difficult to open/close.
2) Please do NOT raise the "resort fee". It is too high ($29.95 per night).
3) Cafeteria food prices too high. Make it reasonable for a family to get food there while skiing. Burger and pizza prices need to be more affordable for families. Too far to go into town for fast food, so stuck paying the inflated prices at the cafeteria.
4) Ski hill lift ticket prices: too high. It is a very limited runs hill to validate the high ticket price. Resort guests who stay overnight should get lift tickets at least half price.

Keep up the good customer service, and please mention to Matthew and Bav that Rob from Hamilton says thanks for your good hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from HVR_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hockley Valley Resort
Responded Jan 30, 2020
Hi Rob! Thanks for the review and I will definitely pass along the kudos to Matthew and Bav!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lisa Gordon wrote a review Jul 2020
Brampton, Canada1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When the server is clearly smiling behind their mask, whether they’re disinfecting a table or serving up a glass of wine, you know you’ve found a good place to eat and drink.

The food and drink at Cabin is great, we felt comfortable with the dining room’s space and with the distance from other tables, and the staff are carefully cleaning tables between guests. I love what the place offers and trust the people there who make it so great.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Guest Services, Other at Hockley Valley Resort
Responded Jul 21, 2020
Thank you! I will pass along your comments to the staff!! We hope to see you again soon
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tourist50-11 wrote a review Jun 2020
Niagara Falls, Canada26 contributions32 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Best Idea & Great Value - Take Out Dinner for 2 at a cost of only $44 + tax. & definitely a gratuity is well deserved. Everything was nicely packaged in a wonderful carry out box, great portions of everything, more food then we needed, so enjoyed remainder the next evening. Easy to prepare, all done on barbeque. Well done Chef(s), Management & staff at Hockley Valley Resort Dining Room. I hope you offer this Meal Kit again soon, as we will definitely purchased and will tell our friends/family too!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from HVR_GuestRelations
Mono, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello! We do have restrictions on the number of people within the pool enclosure but we have not had a problem with crowding at all. We have plenty of lounge space outside of the pool enclosure for relaxing and sunbathing. Currently we are not having guests reserve a swimming time.
aztekpaula asked a question Oct 2018
Canada23 contributions1 helpful vote
Do they offer valet parking?
Answer from Kevin C
Mono, Canada
Hello, Unfortunately, the Resort doesn't offer valet parking. Thank you
Answer from Kevin C
Mono, Canada
Hello, Some of rooms have a balcony. You can request at the time of booking to have one. However, smoking on the balcony is prohibited. We have a separate smoking area outside of the Resort.
Answer from Ruth-Anne B
Toronto, Canada27 contributions9 helpful votes
The pool is closed right now. It is only open in the summer.
jrnewman asked a question Jul 2017
Barrie, Canada3 contributions1 helpful vote
Is it pet friendly
Answer from Walkdal
Milton, Canada21 contributions35 helpful votes
Sorry, I don't know
Dieter N wrote a tip Jun 1
Toronto, Canada12 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask what exactly what is included with your food orders and what cost extra."
Read full review
Hilary D wrote a tip Oct 2023
Quinte West, Canada5 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go somewhere else."
Read full review
Stella k wrote a tip Jun 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"I asked in advance for a high-floor room, and my request was not taken into account..."
Read full review
Rachael D wrote a tip Jun 2023
Toronto, Canada3 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask for a renovated room."
Read full review
Navigate792332 wrote a tip May 2023
Newmarket, Canada25 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms are very small and outdated. Bring a cooler, no bar fridge. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mono area.
PRICE RANGE
C$313 - C$360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
hockley valley hotel orangeville, hockley valley orangeville
LOCATION
CanadaOntarioMono
NUMBER OF ROOMS
104
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hockley Valley Resort - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hockley Valley Resort
Which popular attractions are close to Hockley Valley Resort?
Nearby attractions include Island Lake Conservation Area (5.9 km), Theatre Orangeville (7.4 km), and Mono Cliffs Provincial Park (7.7 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hockley Valley Resort?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hockley Valley Resort?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Hockley Valley Resort?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Hockley Valley Resort?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hockley Valley Resort?
Conveniently located restaurants include Forage Restaurant, Bluebird Cafe & Grill, and Rustik.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Hockley Valley Resort?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Hockley Valley Resort offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Does Hockley Valley Resort have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
Is Hockley Valley Resort accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Mono HotelsMono Hotel DealsHotels near Hockley Valley Resort
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars