We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Brenton Beach House

Certificate of Excellence
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Brenton Beach House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

272 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Brenton Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 221: English reviews
Sydney
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

This place is amazing. A must stay for anyone passing through the area even if only for a couple of nights. Great service, amazing local knowledge of the area, attractions and prices. Loved the rooms and the style, and was obviously a lot of work and love has gone into keeping the place looking as amazing as it is. Breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank dpepps
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewed 29 December 2015

Unfortunately pretty outdated in terms of style. The interiors good definitely do with a brush up. The breakfast was ok, but far from overwhelming. Along the garden route you'll find other places with more value for less money.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank peterJ4651LD
Derrick C, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review

I suppose the old saying still holds good, "you can please them all...." Thank you nevertheless for your review. We appreciate all productive criticism. I would have prefered to have discussed any suggestions you had in mind face to face. For information, the house is a Cape Cod style and thus we strive to maintain the style. We are at...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2015

Our fourth visit to Brenton Beach House and once again a fantastic stay. Derrick and Joan, our hosts, could not do more to make us comfortable and do all they can to make a stay in the Knysna area as fulfilling as possible. All the rooms are very spacious and well appointed. The fantastic Buffelsbaai beach is only a walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sgcam
Derrick C, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review

Oh if 100% of our guests were like you, we would not require TripAdvisor as we would be perfect. However, every now and again, we may do a double bogey and then we need to up our game so we appreciate poor comments as well. As long as such remarks are constructive. We look forward to having you back again...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 17 December 2015

The guest house was very comfortable, the host was friendly, and my stay was enjoyable. The nearby beach is as beautiful a beach as I have every seen. Bring a detailed map or gps as it is a little challenging to find.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank C5689FLtims
Marburg, Germany
Reviewed 15 December 2015

A wonderful situated wooden house near the ocean painted in light colours. Derrick gives every advice You need and he knows the most intersting parts of the region. A quiet place for relaxing and for long beachwalks. Thomas & Maike

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank thomasmA6647ME
Reviewed 12 December 2015

Beautiful house with very spacious rooms and a great and kind host. The room had a very large bathroom and was fully furnished for self catering. We used the braai on our balcony. The house is in walking distance to the beach, the city center of Knysna is a 15 min drive away as is the closest supermarket.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
Derrick C, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review

Wat delight to see happy guests...... Nice having you and doing your own BRAAI

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 6 December 2015

We were delighted with our stay at Brenton Beach House. The rooms were comfortable, the breakfast delicious, close to a gorgeous beach, and the host very welcoming and helphful. As a bonus, the southern sky was enjoyed by us stargazers.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 582joanh
Reviewed 3 December 2015 via mobile

We spent three nights here last month, Derek was very friendly and very helpful with recommending things to do and places to eat. The location is beautiful and the rooms are kept clean and tidy, we are looking forward to our next visit. Highly recommended. 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ZimboDes
Derrick C, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review

It is only a pleasure to welcome guests of your type. Looking forward to welcoming you again one day

Dusseldorf, Germany
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Thank you for being so friendly and kind. This house is created and filled with love. It was the best place were we have stayed on our journey through SA. The rooms are clean, lovely and beautiful decorated. And the beds are sooooo much comfortable to sleep in. The breakfast is made freshly. We loved this place and will come...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank sabrina812015
Magog
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Good views, excellent breakfast, good location, good suggestions of Dereck about restaurants and activities. Warm welcome. Cleanliness of the house Good site near the beach, very quiet and safe. We liked everything

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank R2540CJnicolef

61 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
2:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brenton-on-Sea
3.6 km away
The St. James of Knysna
6.3 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#5 of 30 in Knysna
791 reviews
4.4 km away
Villa Afrikana Guest Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
0.6 km away
Brenton On Rocks Guesthouse
Brenton On Rocks Guesthouse
#3 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
99 reviews
0.2 km away
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
#2 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are situated just 5min walk away from the 6km long Brenton beach which has had Blue Flag status for the past 3 years. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brenton Beach House

Address: 116 Watsonia Avenue, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6571, South Africa (Formerly J&C's Beach House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range: $91 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brenton Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Brenton Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brenton Beach House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the honeymoon suite - well equipped and faces on to the sea”
1JonathanF, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms good.”
CJFP17, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the Gary Player sea view suite.”
Venetia2013, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite is magnificent!!”
wendyallison, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Blue Room under the breakfast/bar lobby”
HeleneHugues, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Priceline
Hotels.com
Agoda.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates