We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Brenton Beach House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Brenton Beach House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Brenton Beach House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 214: English reviews
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 31 December 2014

Derrick and his crew are very friendly and caretaking hosts who make sure everything is set to perfection for their guests. Excellent breakfast, awesome, big and cosy rooms. A couple of minutes walking downhill to the beach.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X1548GBannam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 December 2014

This was our third visit to BBH and we were not disappointed. Derrick is totally focused on making your stay as comfortable as possible. If there is anything you need you only have to ask and he will be delighted to help. Derrick is very knowledgeable regarding local attractions, eateries, and recreational options (especially the many excellent golf courses nearby)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sgcam
manosque04, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review

You guys will always be welcome to stay at the BBH. You are not guests but friends to Joan and I. I will just need to uplift my golf game Steve. All the best for 2015.

Cape Town
Reviewed 17 December 2014

The rooms were spacious and accommodating with the opportunity of self-catering, as they had fridges, microwaves, etc. However, Derek needs to visit a few other B&B's to see how breakfast should be handled. For his cooked breakfast he only offered eggs - nothing to go with them. We were at a table for four, but the butter provided was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
manosque04, Owner at Brenton Beach House, responded to this review

Dear Susan Felps, I have just read your review and thank you for the comments. On behalf of all restaurant and hospitality owners, please let me ask that in future you interact directly with the owner or manager when you have constructive criticisms to make before leaving. In case you have forgotten, both your rooms were upgraded from a standard...

Stuttgart, Germany
Reviewed 2 December 2014

Familiar managed guesthouse. The owner himselves prepares breakfast and everything is affectionately designed. Also he was helpful and gave us practical tips Phantastic oceanview, although the guesthouse is not direct at the sea, but only a 10 minutes distance to walk

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 667katjas
Reviewed 29 November 2014

My boyfriend I stayed at the Brenton Beach House for two nights while exploring the Garden Route drive. We booked our stay last minute on hotels.com and the owner was very welcoming despite our late arrival. The room was very spacious, clean, and comfortable. The owner was very knowledgeable about the surrounding area and recommended two great restaurants nearby and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liza B
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2014

Slightly disappointed to find that the Beach House is not on the beach but that is the only real negative. We enjoyed 2 nights here in November 2014. Rooms large and well furnished and spotlessly clean if a little tired. Breakfasts were lovely and we enjoyed the lounge each evening with it's honesty bar. Derrick, the owner is an excellent...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed 12 November 2014

wasnt there long and arrived in late afternoon. Lovely place, friendly owners, breakfast good, stunning views. Great place for a stop over or to be used as a base to explore the surrounding areas. Ideally suited for couples, not much to do if you have little kiddies with (which is in my case)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 670abdulr
Mainz, Germany
Reviewed 6 November 2014

I enjoyed four nights at Brentons Beach house. Altogether it was the longest time within my 14-days journey to South Africa, because here I felt the most comfortable. The house is near to the sea, with a beautiful beach and Derrick the owner, is a very helpful and friendley man with a lot of knowledge about what one can do...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank macimetz
Reviewed 4 November 2014

The view from the property (if you have a ocean view room, or if not, when you come out of your room) is to die for. It makes you go - "This is where I want to retire". It is a bit away from Knysna town, but you don't miss it since it is a small town. Derek, the owner,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sumit J
Reviewed 21 October 2014 via mobile

Fantastic place with an excellent host. The house is very beautiful and very comfortable. Every thing you need you have. The view is amazing and it is a very calm place. I went with my wife and son and Derrick made us feel like we were at home and his suggestions were great, restaurants and things to do. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fernando N

64 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
2:17
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brenton-on-Sea
6.6 km away
Conrad Pezula
Conrad Pezula
#6 of 30 in Knysna
733 reviews
8.9 km away
Blackwaters River Lodge
3.6 km away
The St. James of Knysna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Brenton On Rocks Guesthouse
Brenton On Rocks Guesthouse
#3 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
88 reviews
0.2 km away
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
Brenton Haven Beachfront Resort
#2 of 8 in Brenton-on-Sea
74 reviews
0.2 km away
Brenton on Sea Cottages
Brenton on Sea Cottages
#1 of 5 in Brenton-on-Sea
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are situated just 5min walk away from the 6km long Brenton beach which has had Blue Flag status for the past 3 years. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Brenton Beach House

Address: 116 Watsonia Avenue, Brenton-on-Sea, Knysna 6571, South Africa (Formerly J&C's Beach House)
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Knysna > Brenton-on-Sea
Price Range: $98 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brenton Beach House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Brenton Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Brenton Beach House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All rooms good.”
 of 5 bubbles CJFP17, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for the Gary Player sea view suite.”
 of 5 bubbles Venetia2013, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The honeymoon suite is magnificent!!”
 of 5 bubbles wendyallison, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Blue Room under the breakfast/bar lobby”
 of 5 bubbles HeleneHugues, 25 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We had the standard garden upper level room. Very Spacious!”
 of 5 bubbles butler46203, 28 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5