We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa

15/05/2017 16/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

964 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 300: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 11 January 2017

It was our first trip to Zanzibar and it will not be our last. Karafuu on an all inclusive package is good value for money. The setting is awesome with amazing views and beautiful blue seas and palm trees. The rooms were comfortable the best part being the air-conditioning. The food could be improved on, much of the same thing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Any comments and feedback is very important to us and thank you very much for giving us clue where to improve which will lead us to better and quality service. This is already been discussed with our chef and immediately food variety and quality being looked into to accommodate our international clientele. Thank you also for pointing out...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Stayed here for a week before Christmas 2016. Beautiful setting - palm trees, powdery white beaches and warm, blue sea - a bit like paradise. We had a wonderful, restful time - friendly service, wonderful weather etc. I would definitely not classify it as a 5 star hotel though, probably 3 star. A few areas for improvement: 1) FOOD. Really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jphansen81
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First I do apologize for the disappointment you encountered during your vacation. Definitely we have to admit negative feedback as well in order to improve our standard and some of them we have already solved. All these points such as food, Wi-Fi internet and beach boys are being handled and we are very sorry for inconvenience caused. We...

Tzur Igal
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I've been staying at Karafuu a few weeks each time around this past 2 years, total over 4 month all and all (work related – I’ve also stayed in many others hotels in Zanzibar) I've seen the hotel around the year and had the chance to enjoy some of the room types. The complex is HUGE, beautiful and got some...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barak C
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is with a great pleasure to thank you for having shared with us this review. We are sorry on the side of the Drink prices which are not to your recommendation. Points noted and discussion to follow with the management for prices assessment. Thank you for your feedback and good affection towards your second home away from...

Greater Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 January 2017

I went to Karafuu with my family , Three children 8 12 and 14 . We stayed in the villa suite. The accomodation had lots of space. I think we where lucky to get this upgrade and the standard accomodation would have been cramped for a family of 5 in 2 rooms . The food however was very poor, Poor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JustinHawes
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review which touches both negative and positive feedback. I would like to inform you that we have already some changes which have been put in place since then. With our new Italian chef a lot of changes on food. All pool Towels have been replaced with the new ones and I believe all is...

Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Me and my husband came 2 Zanzibar for the first time. The trip was great. Due to health issues we r very selective in our food. We met there Chef Materekaj Juma who is a special person, and prepared us what we needed,took care of all our needs even on his day off, always with a smile and with all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank נתלי ואמיר י
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is very important to go extra mile when delivering services to valued guests. Thank you for recognizing our special Chef Matereka and he is really very special and into detail to so many selected foods ie Kosher, Vegetarian, Gluten-Free food etc. He will offer you any meals that will meet specific dietary either medical or religious. What...

Sargans, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

We had a great time here. The bungalows are much bigger than we expected. The view is incredible. If your room is on seaside, the ocean is directly in front of your room. You have plenty of space in your room. Dinner as well as breakfast is delicious in the restaurant, where you not have to make a reservation. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ladina87
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest It is great that your needs and expectations were met to your satisfaction even though you were disappointment somehow with some of the service delivery in other ala carte Restaurants. I really apologize for this and your feedback is going to help me very much to rectify the problem of staff that seems to be lazy in those...

Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 November 2016 via mobile

I have mixed feelings about this hotel. Il start with the pros: The beach is absolutely breathtaking and if you enjoy sea life you will love it as the tide goes quite far out and you see lots of rock pools. You can walk for miles! The pool is also gorgeous and is right on the beach. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank hana d
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is really very exigent to me and I fail to understand how I can explain to disapprove your disappointment which should have not be there and I am defeated to explicate one point after the other. Before any comments, I would like to thank you very much for sharing your positive and negative review with us. On...

בית נחמיה
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

we were a week in this wondrfull place. the staff is very kind, specialy hawa from thr recepion desk. the room was exallent. very clean! very good service at the bars, restaurants and in general. the locion is exallent. highly recomended!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Iirisrubin6
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We highly recognize you as our valued guest. We are proud that the team including Ms Hawa made it to your expectation by going extra mile that led to your successful vacation. You got all you need as per your expectations. Thank you very much for sharing with us your review. Yours sincerely, Dominic Ouko Manager Assistant

Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Usually I preferr writing a positive opinion rather than writing a bed review, but in this case I choose to make an exception because that it is Surprising that this hotel is rated as 5 star hotel when in reality it is barely feels like a 3 star hotel . The hotel is located on the south east of Zanzibar...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank monicaVini
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It is also sad to me as well to read your review with all you have stated that everything was poor according to your experience. I cannot imagine it happens here but if is true you encountered all you have mentioned then I really apologizing for your disappointment. We always admit both positive and negative comments. Your Review...

Reviewed 10 October 2016

Dears We are back from wonderful holiday in Karafuu beach resort and spa – be relaxed and ready for daily responsibilities home in Prague – Czech Republic. Thank you for a great opportunity to spend our rest in paradise, including excellent service during our stay in your hotel from all members of your team. We are not able to thank...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivana H
Dominic O, Manager at Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Ivana & Karel, It is a pleasure to take this opportunity on behalf of the Management and the Karafuu Team to thank you for sharing with us your wonderful review. I am very happy that the team went extra mile and made it possible for your satisfaction during your stay with us. Thank you once more for recognizing lovely...

1,830 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1292)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (353)
Viewed
View from Room (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (126)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (175)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (42)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (11)
Viewed
1:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (490)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (521)
Viewed
Amenities (117)
Viewed
Beach (34)
Viewed
Bondeni Pool (11)
Viewed
Cottage (78)
Viewed
Junior Suite (66)
Viewed
Masai Pool (9)
Viewed
Pool (18)
Viewed
Dining (109)
Viewed
Samawati Spa Pool (8)
Viewed
The Hotel (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (10)
15/05/2017 16/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pingwe
26.6 km away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,478 reviews
52.4 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
28.2 km away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Azao Resort & Spa
Azao Resort & Spa
#4 of 6 in Pongwe
85 reviews
28.0 km away
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
Diamonds Mapenzi Beach
#1 of 3 in Mahonda
740 reviews
36.0 km away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 167 in Zanzibar Island
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
On a deserted white sandy beach, at 65 km from Stone Town, lies Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa, an international five-star hotel, winner of the World Travel Awards as Tanzania Leading Resort and Africa Leading Beach Resort 2011 .It is one of the most luxurious hotels on the east coast of Zanzibar, where, even during low tide, it’s possible to enjoy a comfortable swim in the ocean. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa

Address: PO Box 71, Pingwe, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Pingwe
Price Range: $205 - $649 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Jovago.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karafuu Beach Hotel Pingwe
Karafuu Hotel Beach
Karafuu Resort Beach
Karafuu Beach Resort And Spa Zanzibar Island/Pingwe, Tanzania
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa staff and other travellers.
65 questions
Ask a question
Abu Dhabi

See all questions (65)

Questions? Get answers from Karafuu Beach Resort and Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“facing the ocean”
rochelleboston, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We recommend beach front huts”
J-Dissing, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“make sure it is in the front line by the beach”
  • balcony
maddyy, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A bungalow on the cliff overlooking the ocean is the best choice.”
748inbaln, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“ask for a sea front room in order e to sit on the veranda which is shady day and you get to see the beautiful sunrise from your bed.”
dgershon, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.com
Jumia Travel
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates