We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cantaloupe Aqua

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 189: English reviews
Start your review of Cantaloupe Aqua
 Click to rate
Sant Julia de Loria, Andorra
Reviewed today NEW

Even if when we arrive we realize the hotel was not really walking distance from Unawatuna and where a little disapointed, I would really recommend this place if you want good quality for service and quite hotel (finally is only 10 minutes away by tuk tuk). the staff and management were really helpful all time, for example the last day...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ester S
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Cantaloupe aqua is a nice boutique hotel with beautiful views of the ocean. Rooms are nice, spacious and very comfortable. Breakfast is served outdoors overlooking the ocean and the menu has three options: continental, western and Sri Lankan. Lunch and dinner are offered as well. The manager and staff were very nice and they did help us is every way...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marta F
Gorinchem
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A nice resort but 10 km from Galle at a fairly remote location. Nicely styled and pool with view over the ocean. We had our suspicion about the quality of the food since we both got sick. Staff is friendly and courteous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurens_gudde
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great retreat from busy Unawatuna. Fantastic, friendly staff. Especially Shanthi and Sandun. Everyone did their best to make us feel welcome. A highlight was the guests inclusion in the new year celebrations. The food was also of a high quality.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just spent 5 nights at the Aqua and had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautifully located right on the beach and the noise of the sea from our room was fabulous and lulled me to sleep every night. The staff are absolutely amazing without exception they are friendly and helpful and such a delight. The food is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BindyMcCallum
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Dear Bindy, We hope you reach home safely and are so happy with your glowing review and that you enjoyed your stay with us. The sound of the sea and waves is the best way to fall asleep and our team are thrilled with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming . you back to Aqua and please keep in...

Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 3 nights and only left the hotel for long walks on the beach. Perfect for a few days of relaxation! The room was clean, with a small balcony and sea view. Bathroom ok, needs a little facelift, but all in all good standard. Although the road is behind the building, this is a quiet place, perhaps...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaJ_HH
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you so much for your in depth review and we do appreciate the feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed the milk rice ( kiri bath) it is our favorite, we will work on our speed of service, especially for the kitchen. We are planning to give the spa room a facelift soon but as you mentioned...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here during the second day of our anniversary​ getaway. Aqua was recommended to us by Imran over at Cantaloupe Levels. The room we booked, a Zen room, was quite small. The bathroom was extremely small and was uncomfortable for us to move around. Hence book a Ultra Zen room if you need a less congested setup. Food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wishwa P
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Dear Wishwa, We are happy you chose to spend your anniversary celebrations with us and thank you for the feedback and the review! Zen is indeed smaller than ultra zen but many couples find this size suitable for them. Our F&B team will be delighted with your feedback on Coconut, we focus on quality Sri Lankan ingredients with an international...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a very relaxing time at Cantaloupe Aqua. The setting is amazing.. the closest we have stayed to the sea/beach. The food was very good and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The personalised service was great. Special mention should be made of Prasanna and Jayashanthi.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shehani S
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Dear Shehani, Your review made us so happy as we aim to be a home away from home! We appreciate your comments on the food and the team and will give your regards to Prasanna and Jayashanti. Thank you!

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We wanted to stay within Galle fort, so were a bit disappointed that the hotel didn't have the colonial feel we were looking forward to BUT a simple, but nice room; a deck just above surf crashing against the sea wall of the hotel, and a palm fringed beach to the left were a terrific consolation. Sitting on the deck...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil M
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Dear Phil, Thanks very much for your honest and complementary review. Indeed we do not provide the colonial feel which you get when staying in the Galle fort however i'm glad you enjoyed the deck and on the water like atmosphere at Aqua. Our team will be so happy to hear from you and we will pass on the feedback....

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had an amazing time at this lovely hotel. The staff were excellent. Prasanna was our favourite but all staff went out of their way to make sure we were well looked after and happy. The rooms were slightly smaller than we expected but they were clean and well serviced. What a view though-you are right on the sea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarita n
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Dear Sarita, We are thrilled with your review and glad you had such a fantastic time. It was a great time of year that you visited and had direct beach access and we do agree with you on this being one of the cleanest and most beautiful beach strips in the south! Wow our kitchen team will be so happy...

563 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (318)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (200)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Aqua Zen Garden Room (53)
Viewed
Aqua Zen Room (55)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
6.5 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
386 reviews
5.6 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
866 reviews
6.8 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
801 reviews
2.1 km away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#16 of 31 in Unawatuna
267 reviews
5.4 km away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Cantaloupe AQUA, our private hotel and beach club. AQUA again has been awarded the Trip Advisor 'Certificate of Excellence'for for 6 consecutive years. Cantaloupe Aqua is a 15 room affordable seafront boutique hotel style in Unawatuna (Galle) Sri Lanka. The concept of the hotel is inspired by famous beach clubs around the world; it's the only one of its kind in Sri Lanka. AQUA combines contemporary spaces, amazing music, and food to create the ultimate beach getaway. "Dine where the action is infinity poolside, beach side, indoors, outdoors, under the stars, on a deck or on the beach!" AQUA offers you numerous options and spaces to wine, dine, lounge, party or just chill! 'Due to unforeseeable circumstances, Cantaloupe Aqua being primarily a beach front property has encountered difficulties providing guests with direct beach access in front of the property depending on the time of year and the seasonal weather changes. Due to man made structures built into the sea on the coastal line and global warming, which has caused inconsistent patterns of sand deposits. Sea erosion has caused Aqua to lose it's beach during some months of the year. In the event the beach is inaccessible our front desk staff will be more than happy to offer you complimentary transport to the closest beach on the right hand side of the property, which is also accessible by a 10 minute walk' - Management ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cantaloupe Aqua

Address: Matara Road | Talpe, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Price Range: $139 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cantaloupe Aqua 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cantaloupe Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantaloupe Aqua Hotel Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cantaloupe Aqua staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Cantaloupe Aqua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Far from Galle where you can find shops and cosy restaurants and nightlife”
pietrom208, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I think all rooms have great sea views. we had a first floor room which had a superb panaora of the coast”
amesburydruid2014, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms other than Aqua Ocean Play, may not be affected by road noise.”
keefos, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors have a spa”
726GaryW, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the 1st floor rooms with a balcony”
NayLon, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5