We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cantaloupe Aqua

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

201 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cantaloupe Aqua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 162: English reviews
Switzerland
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We had an amazing stay at the Cantaloupe Aqua. Our Room was lovely and always clean. Thank you for the beautiful flowers in our room.The hotel has an amazing view threw the ocean. A wonderful beach is close to the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They always take care of us and our wellbeing. We meet two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadja S
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Conny and Nadja, It was a pleasure having you and we hope you have had a fantastic holiday in Sri Lanka in general! We are happy to hear your stay with us has been amazing and that you enjoyed the rooms, environment, our staff and service. On your return we will await you with fresh fruit juices and cocktails!...

Sherborne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 December 2015

The staff are very good, the food excellent, the room very nice. However, because there now is no beach at all outside the hotel (it was washed away) and the nearest beach is not recommended by the staff due to strong currents, if you want to swim in the Indian ocean and lie on a beach, it requires a tuk...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank anthony j
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Anthony, We are happy to read your satisfaction on our quality of service and food. The rooms are indeed very spacious and provide a great view over the Indian ocean. It is unfortunately true that the beach has not built up yet. We are in the unique spot to be the closest property to the ocean in the Galle...

Reviewed 13 December 2015 via mobile

This little hotel merits it's overall rating of 4/5. It is clean, with very friendly and helpful staff, lovely views of the sea and the small neighbouring beaches and offers good access to both Galle and Waligamma (about 25mins). Unfortunately it does not have a beach of its own and the steps from the back gate no longer offer direct...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CJFlintoir
Nadira_Jayasuriya, Owner at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Dear Jules, Thank you very much for your review and we are happy you think the hotel lives up to its rating. Our staff, service and stunning views are some of our best assets as you could see for yourself. As mentioned our beach is not yet directly accessible but luckily there is a lovely beach a few minutes walk...

Reviewed 30 November 2015

Beautiful View, Great outdoor seating, rooms are clean and comfortable!, staff is friendly. There's a great outdoor garden with chairs for sunning but no direct beach access. You must walk a little bit to get to a quiet and very pretty beach and but beware the water has strong currents. We had higher expectations but in comparison to other options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
Cantaloupe_Aqua, Director of Sales at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Alexandra, Thank you for taking the time in providing us feedback on your recent stay with us at Cantaloupe Aqua. Our team were delighted to have you with us for 12 days given that most travelers usually stay for 4-5 days with us. The beach is getting better by the day in terms of colour as we are going...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 13 November 2015

This was the 1st place me and my wife went to. We were here for about 4 days. Both of us were looking for a good hotel to let go of some steam, and that's exactly what this property had to offer. The staff is amazing, very helpful and polite,they helped us in getting around and exploring the near by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karthikjohn
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Karthikjohn, We are glad to hear you completely relaxed being in our care. It has been a pleasure to cook for you, make cocktails and provide you with the information needed to make your stay in The South an unforgettable experience! It is true that the beach is unfortunately not (easily) accessible at the moment. On the positive note,...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We stayed a week from 31/10/15 - 07/11/15 and the hotel was literally on the ocean. It was a beautiful and relaxing stay. It was a quiet period and so were given a complimentary upgrade to an Aqua Ultra Zen duplex suite on the first floor with floor to ceiling doors and windows and a balcony overlooking the ocean. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharksgift
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Chris and Paddy! We hope you had a pleasant return journey Down Under. Thank you for such a great review on our hotel and staff! The kitchen staff is happy with your feedback on the food and it is a wonderful to read your appreciation for our service. We were excited you were on our trial round of the...

Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

After a hectic journey my wife suggested me staying here for an overnight and it's worth for the every rupee we spend. Staff were very supportive even the duty manager had a curtsy to talk to us even he was super busy. Nice place with superb rooms. I suggest to refurbish the bathrooms to a well managed ones.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thusitha P
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Thusitha! We probably all know that partners can be quite persistent in holiday choices, which can lead to disagreements. We are thrilled to hear your wife made the decision to stay with us and that you both enjoyed your time to the fullest! Since we are a small boutique hotel, we always try to make some time for our...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

we highly recommend this hotel! We loved it ! the staff is great, especially at the bar/restaurant, Madhawa, a young very smiling and helpful boy! the food was delicious! never been disapointed once. the swimming pool is small but it did not stop us to really love this hotel! we had great time there, we wish you to enjoy it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Astrid S
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Astrid, How has your return to Belgium been? It was great having you as a guest in Aqua and we are excited to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Our chefs have been doing their best to create the best food possible with the fresh products we daily obtain from local markets. We agree our swimming pool is...

Tilburg, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 November 2015

If you book this keep in mind that its just a random party hotel. So no rest at night. Very overpriced. THe personell is just after your money. We have both not been well after dining here so better find a nice restaurant somewhere else

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank zandenjoris
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Dear Joris, Thank you indeed for your brief review in support of your spouse right below which obviously came as a mere surprise especially considering the current circumstances. It is well noted generally reviews are posted as couples, not as individuals as in this case. It is clear and agreeing you were dissatisfied over the incident which occurred on the...

Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Never stayed in such a worse hotel.. these days had to be our last days of relaxing in Sri Lanka, but we didnt get a chance to sleep at all, because some customers were all night long in the pool with their own music and drinks and no one of the security told them to be quiet.. there were only...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Evy T
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Evy, We thank you sincerely for having posted your experience of Cantaloupe Aqua. Kindly accept our apologies due to the unforeseen incident. Furthermore, we would like to clarify as below: It was noted a group of guests were playing their own music in the restaurant. This was initially addressed by the manager on duty and was halted immediately. We...

563 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (292)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (191)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Aqua Zen Garden Room (53)
Viewed
Aqua Zen Room (55)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (67)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (18)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
6.5 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
363 reviews
6.8 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
622 reviews
5.6 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
777 reviews
2.1 km away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#13 of 29 in Unawatuna
262 reviews
5.4 km away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Cantaloupe AQUA, our private hotel and beach club. AQUA again has been awarded the Trip Advisor 'Certificate of Excellence'for 2014. Cantaloupe Aqua is a 15 room affordable seafront boutique hotel style in Unawatuna (Galle) Sri Lanka. The concept of the hotel is inspired by famous beach clubs around the world; it's the only one of its kind in Sri Lanka. AQUA combines contemporary spaces, amazing music, and food to create the ultimate beach getaway. A further attraction of AQUA is that it features a private beach in one of Sri Lanka's most upmarket beach strips, Talpe. Through the year Aqua changes it's character from Up-beat to relaxation based on events and promotions taking place at the hotel. During the peak season (Dec-Jan, Mar-Apr, July-Aug) Cantaloupe AQUA hosts numerous sun set cocktails and Brunch Parties with an upbeat atmosphere. In keeping with our relaxing weekdays and Upbeat week ends. The parties however do not go on much later than mid night. All guests are given free access pass to the eventDuring quieter months of the year Cantaloupe is the prefect retreat for families with kids and Guests looking for ultimate relaxation. Please confirm with front desk on dates of events coinciding with your arrival to make sure if alternative accommodation needs to be arranged on the day/night of the event. AQUA cuisine just like aqua is inspired! Our inspiration created a menu, which is a combination of Thai Fusion, Japanese, Western and Sri Lankan. From fresh seafood platters with tamarind sauce to Prime Imported Steaks COCONUT will provide you with an exquisite culinary experience. The restaurant area is a veranda, which opens out to the Jacuzzi area. The theme is euro chic with white taking prominence with feature art adding color and character."Dine where the action is infinity poolside, beach side, indoors, outdoors, under the stars, on a deck or on the beach!" AQUA offers you numerous options and spaces to wine, dine, lounge, party or just chill! Nandana, Cantaloupe AQUA's Executive Chef, who has recently returned after completing a culinary course at the world famous, Blue Elephant Cooking School, is always busily preparing some delectable dish for the Coconut Restaurant guests. Nandana's food philosophy and culinary style is extremely simple but never fails to impress, any one of his dishes will have sentiments from at least two nations of the world. Fusion is his greatest skill. When describing his technique, the characteristically shy Chef, becomes vividly animated by his passion. His guests are constantly in an exciting state of anticipation, awaiting the next surprise Nandana will turnout. He prides himself in stocking the kitchen with the finest and freshest local produce and ingredients. His latest culinary conquest is Coconut's new Tapas Menu, which he has painstakingly crafted to weave in elements of Sri Lanka's tantilising flavors. He also just finalized the Thai-Fusion menu and it has already racked up rave reviews. The dining experience Cantaloupe AQUA plate up is easily one of the best in the south! 'Due to unforeseeable circumstances, Cantaloupe Aqua being primarily a beach front property has encountered difficulties providing guests with direct beach access in front of the property depending on the time of year and the seasonal weather changes. Due to man made structures built into the sea on the coastal line and global warming, which has caused inconsistent patterns of sand deposits. Sea erosion has caused Aqua to lose it's beach during some months of the year. In the event the beach is inaccessible our front desk staff will be more than happy to offer you complimentary transport to the closest beach on the right hand side of the property, which is also accessible by a 10 minute walk' - Management ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cantaloupe Aqua

Address: Matara Road | Talpe, Unawatuna, Galle 80630, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: $169 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cantaloupe Aqua 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Cantaloupe Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantaloupe Aqua Hotel Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#4 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cantaloupe Aqua staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Cantaloupe Aqua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles joakims19, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Think they will all be good.”
 of 5 bubbles robsaw, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Best view is from ultra chic room as its a corner room”
 of 5 bubbles meow1991, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“This place doesn't offer driver accommodation, so you'll have to keep that in mind and check with the staff before hand.”
 of 5 bubbles Huda09, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Fabulous for solo women travellers. The Aqua Zen suites are the ones with the best view”
 of 5 bubbles Stardust2605, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5