We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cantaloupe Aqua

Expedia.comUS$82*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$115*
US$82*
US$83*
US$115*
US$82*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cantaloupe Aqua
See the most recent reviews
Showing 189: English reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Beautiful View, Great outdoor seating, rooms are clean and comfortable!, staff is friendly. There's a great outdoor garden with chairs for sunning but no direct beach access. You must walk a little bit to get to a quiet and very pretty beach and but beware the water has strong currents. We had higher expectations but in comparison to other options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra B
Cantaloupe_Aqua, Director of Sales at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Alexandra, Thank you for taking the time in providing us feedback on your recent stay with us at Cantaloupe Aqua. Our team were delighted to have you with us for 12 days given that most travelers usually stay for 4-5 days with us. The beach is getting better by the day in terms of colour as we are going...

Bengaluru, India
Reviewed 13 November 2015

This was the 1st place me and my wife went to. We were here for about 4 days. Both of us were looking for a good hotel to let go of some steam, and that's exactly what this property had to offer. The staff is amazing, very helpful and polite,they helped us in getting around and exploring the near by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karthikjohn
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Karthikjohn, We are glad to hear you completely relaxed being in our care. It has been a pleasure to cook for you, make cocktails and provide you with the information needed to make your stay in The South an unforgettable experience! It is true that the beach is unfortunately not (easily) accessible at the moment. On the positive note,...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We stayed a week from 31/10/15 - 07/11/15 and the hotel was literally on the ocean. It was a beautiful and relaxing stay. It was a quiet period and so were given a complimentary upgrade to an Aqua Ultra Zen duplex suite on the first floor with floor to ceiling doors and windows and a balcony overlooking the ocean. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharksgift
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Chris and Paddy! We hope you had a pleasant return journey Down Under. Thank you for such a great review on our hotel and staff! The kitchen staff is happy with your feedback on the food and it is a wonderful to read your appreciation for our service. We were excited you were on our trial round of the...

Dehiwala-Mount Lavinia, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

After a hectic journey my wife suggested me staying here for an overnight and it's worth for the every rupee we spend. Staff were very supportive even the duty manager had a curtsy to talk to us even he was super busy. Nice place with superb rooms. I suggest to refurbish the bathrooms to a well managed ones.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thusitha P
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Thusitha! We probably all know that partners can be quite persistent in holiday choices, which can lead to disagreements. We are thrilled to hear your wife made the decision to stay with us and that you both enjoyed your time to the fullest! Since we are a small boutique hotel, we always try to make some time for our...

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 10 November 2015 via mobile

we highly recommend this hotel! We loved it ! the staff is great, especially at the bar/restaurant, Madhawa, a young very smiling and helpful boy! the food was delicious! never been disapointed once. the swimming pool is small but it did not stop us to really love this hotel! we had great time there, we wish you to enjoy it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Astrid S
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Astrid, How has your return to Belgium been? It was great having you as a guest in Aqua and we are excited to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Our chefs have been doing their best to create the best food possible with the fresh products we daily obtain from local markets. We agree our swimming pool is...

Tilburg, The Netherlands
Reviewed 2 November 2015

If you book this keep in mind that its just a random party hotel. So no rest at night. Very overpriced. THe personell is just after your money. We have both not been well after dining here so better find a nice restaurant somewhere else

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank zandenjoris
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Dear Joris, Thank you indeed for your brief review in support of your spouse right below which obviously came as a mere surprise especially considering the current circumstances. It is well noted generally reviews are posted as couples, not as individuals as in this case. It is clear and agreeing you were dissatisfied over the incident which occurred on the...

Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Reviewed 2 November 2015

Never stayed in such a worse hotel.. these days had to be our last days of relaxing in Sri Lanka, but we didnt get a chance to sleep at all, because some customers were all night long in the pool with their own music and drinks and no one of the security told them to be quiet.. there were only...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Evy T
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Evy, We thank you sincerely for having posted your experience of Cantaloupe Aqua. Kindly accept our apologies due to the unforeseen incident. Furthermore, we would like to clarify as below: It was noted a group of guests were playing their own music in the restaurant. This was initially addressed by the manager on duty and was halted immediately. We...

Maharagama, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 28 October 2015 via mobile

Me and few friends of mine visited this place during October. It is kind of a boutique resort. The place was extremely well planned and structured within the capacity of available space. Simply dressed pleasant staff was there to welcome us and it was overwhelming. Room and the accessories were perfectly fine and cleanliness was top class. Small Jacuzzi styled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sajitha J
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Sajitha, Awesome that you tried out our half board/ full board three course menu! As we recently launched it feedback is most welcome, we are glad to hear it was to your liking. Luckily it is possible to enjoy water sports as surfing even in off season. By now our surf guide must have taught you the tips and...

Victoria, Australia
Reviewed 18 October 2015 via mobile

We loved every minute at this hotel. Awesome location, friendly and extremely hospitable staff (shout out to Madawa, he was always there to help)! Rooms are great, very spacious. Food delicious! Only positive things to say about this place.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank maddie_mcnab
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Maddie, We are happy to hear you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us. Our staff is thrilled with your positive review, thank you! If you ever decide to return to Sri Lanka we hope to see you again! Team Cantaloupe Aqua

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 13 October 2015

This is an amazing place. Loved every bit of it. I booked the Aqua Zen room and it was lovely, i loved the way they have utilized the room space with the bed on the top. The view from the room with a private balcony is stunning. Such a cozy room it was. Only thing that was missing in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AmryJiffry
Anne V, Guest Relations Manager at Cantaloupe Aqua, responded to this review

Hi Amry! Thank you for reviewing our hotel! It was great having you and a pleasure to hear you loved every bit of your stay with us. We have noted your feedback on the lack of milk powder in the room and took action instantly! We are happy to inform that you can dink your tea in the room with...

563 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (318)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (34)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (200)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (204)
Viewed
Amenities (43)
Viewed
Aqua Zen Garden Room (53)
Viewed
Aqua Zen Room (55)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
6.5 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
386 reviews
5.6 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
866 reviews
6.8 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
802 reviews
2.1 km away
Apa Villa Thalpe
Apa Villa Thalpe
#16 of 31 in Unawatuna
267 reviews
5.4 km away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Cantaloupe AQUA, our private hotel and beach club. AQUA again has been awarded the Trip Advisor 'Certificate of Excellence'for for 6 consecutive years. Cantaloupe Aqua is a 15 room affordable seafront boutique hotel style in Unawatuna (Galle) Sri Lanka. The concept of the hotel is inspired by famous beach clubs around the world; it's the only one of its kind in Sri Lanka. AQUA combines contemporary spaces, amazing music, and food to create the ultimate beach getaway. "Dine where the action is infinity poolside, beach side, indoors, outdoors, under the stars, on a deck or on the beach!" AQUA offers you numerous options and spaces to wine, dine, lounge, party or just chill! 'Due to unforeseeable circumstances, Cantaloupe Aqua being primarily a beach front property has encountered difficulties providing guests with direct beach access in front of the property depending on the time of year and the seasonal weather changes. Due to man made structures built into the sea on the coastal line and global warming, which has caused inconsistent patterns of sand deposits. Sea erosion has caused Aqua to lose it's beach during some months of the year. In the event the beach is inaccessible our front desk staff will be more than happy to offer you complimentary transport to the closest beach on the right hand side of the property, which is also accessible by a 10 minute walk' - Management ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cantaloupe Aqua

Address: Matara Road | Talpe, Unawatuna 80600, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Price Range: $139 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cantaloupe Aqua 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cantaloupe Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantaloupe Aqua Hotel Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#5 Luxury Hotel in Unawatuna
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cantaloupe Aqua staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Cantaloupe Aqua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Far from Galle where you can find shops and cosy restaurants and nightlife”
pietrom208, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“I think all rooms have great sea views. we had a first floor room which had a superb panaora of the coast”
amesburydruid2014, 3 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms other than Aqua Ocean Play, may not be affected by road noise.”
keefos, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Upper floors have a spa”
726GaryW, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the 1st floor rooms with a balcony”
NayLon, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$82* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$83
TripAdvisorUS$82
ElvolineUS$115
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates