We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (65)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (12)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent64%
  • Very good31%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“garden suite”(3 reviews)
“the owner”(16 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Beachfront
Airport Transportation
Room Service
Suites
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
77 results
Traveller rating
47
25
4
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
47
25
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitetraditional housethe ownersri lankalike coming homebeautiful gardenminute walkhomestaytsunamijunglebeach
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 77 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2018

Very beautiful traditional house, we stayed in the garden suite which was spacious and giving onto the beautiful garden - and has a super comfortable bed and lovely furniture. The house is perfectly located, only a minute's walk from the beach, but yet away from...More

Thank juliamoune
Response from Homestay S, Owner at Home Stay StrandResponded March 29, 2018

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

Reviewed March 17, 2018

Sri Lanka thee is noise every where you go, tuktuk many people but here at Asoka's place its so quiet and you can sit and relax, read a good book and drink some good tea. I visit his homestay since 1995 and of course Sri...More

1  Thank photoned
Reviewed January 29, 2018

Nice house with potential (but seriously need some work on it!), "jungle" garden, 1min walk to the beach. We never saw that many mosquitos in a room (after 1 month being in Sri Lanka), room was kind of dirty, mattress looked like it was 100yrs...More

Thank Panamaabcd123
Response from gr8asoka, Owner at Home Stay StrandResponded January 31, 2018

Thank you,we take note of your criticism and look into lapses.

Reviewed July 15, 2016

I had a chance to stay in this hotel on our way to see bath @ Unawatuna with my Japanese Friend. And the hotel was quite nice and really attracted the surroundings and natural garden. Since its a off season for them only we met...More

Thank Vajeendra
Response from Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay StrandResponded September 6, 2017

Thank you!

Reviewed May 29, 2016

To finish our holiday we went back to Unawatuna (we were last there 3 years ago) and because we enjoyed it so much last time, we stayed at the Home Stay Strand. This time we had the Duran Duran room one the first floor at...More

Thank BobBelgium
Response from Asoka_una, Owner at Home Stay StrandResponded September 6, 2017

Looking forward to your next visit and we will offer you our best room, THE NEST at a very special Rate! Book directly with us!

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Unawatuna
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Beachfront
Room Service
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Room Service
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Details
Price range
US$19 - US$34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites
Details
Price range
US$19 - US$34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (65)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (12)
Pool & Beach (7)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (2)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Home Stay Strand staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"You can see images of the rooms on The Strand website"
Read review
"We stayed in teh "Blue" room... avoid it!"
Read review
"Antiques styled rooms and well maintained"
Read review
"Try and get a room with a balcony or a small terrace."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing