We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Beauty Guesthouse

Save
Traveller (134)
Room & Suite (26)
Pool & Beach (19)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent54%
  • Very good32%
  • Average7%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“mosquito net”(8 reviews)
“swimming pool”(8 reviews)
“sri lanka”(16 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Breakfast Available
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (195)
There are newer reviews for Black Beauty Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
49
43
5
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
49
43
5
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmosquito netswimming poolsri lankaguest housethe hotel managerthe main roadstayed nightsmonkeysbeatybeach
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
61 - 65 of 108 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Nice Guesthouse, We stay on a 2nd floor room, great tree top views, lots of nature & life. Water was hot, rooms were cozy & clean. We ate breakfast & dinner here & the food was top notch, all freshly prepared, reasonably priced. Staff were...More

1  Thank Dan P
Response from brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty GuesthouseResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your review. I will show it to the staff. We always try to improve and are always grateful for constructive comments. Have a good time. Britta and the Black Beauty Team

Reviewed February 27, 2013

We came to Black Beauty off the back of some good TripAdvisor reviews - I'm not sure why it got such a good rap. We had an awful time. Don't be fooled by the Lonely Planet. Scores more hotels have opened in Unawatuna since it...More

Thank apatsyapatsy
Response from brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty GuesthouseResponded March 1, 2013

I am sorry that you did not enjoy staying with us and I am surprised that you did not come up with your issues to us when you were here, so we would have had a chance to make your stay a pleasant one. My...More

Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here 10 days early December 2012. Our first impression was that the place was well run, clean with pleasant gardens. The room was a decent size, nicely decorated, large bathroom with plenty hot water, the bed comfy & with a large balcony with...More

Thank DurhamMary
Response from brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty GuesthouseResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your review, I will show it to the staff. They will enjoy that. Regards, Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna

Reviewed February 5, 2013

The room was fine and clean. The pool was great to have with the kids and our daughter got on well with the daughter of the hotel. The staff seemed friendly and helpful apart from when I tried to negotiate a better price for a...More

Thank Giles D
Response from brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty GuesthouseResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your respond on trip advisor. I will also show it to the staff, so they can improve their service for our guests. Regards, Britta Black Beauty Team, Unawatuna

Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed here from Dec 21st 2012 until Jan. 6th 2013. This is really a nice place close to the beach and away from traffic. Nice rooms with AC and your own balcony. Lovely food with a fruitplate, eggs, toast and coffee/tea for breakfast and...More

Thank SuzanneAhlLars
Response from brittawegner, Manager at Black Beauty GuesthouseResponded January 19, 2013

I am happy that you have had a great time at Black Beauty Guesthouse. I will show the boys your comment, it makes them proud to see that our guests were satisfied with their service. Hope to see you again. Regards, Brittta

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Unawatuna
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Pool
Restaurant
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Breakfast Available
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Pool
Restaurant
Details
Price range
US$18 - US$66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$18 - US$66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (134)
Room & Suite (26)
Pool & Beach (19)
Dining (13)
Family and Play Areas (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
morrisdancer19
June 29, 2016|
Answer
Response from BrittaBlackBeauty | Property representative |
Dear Valued Guest, from the air port to Black Beauty it takes about two hours. If we pick up our guests from the airport the driver uses the high way to come down to the south coast. Best regards, Britta, Black Beauty Team... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"ocean view room"
Read review
"Pay a bit more and stay somewhere else."
Read review
"Grab a room on the ground floor below the terrace restaurant"
Read review
"I recommend the second floor, very calm"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing