We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thambapanni Retreat

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 294: English reviews
Start your review of Thambapanni Retreat
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I booked a holiday for my parents who were celebrating their 45th Wedding Anniversary and it was all organised by Nuwani as I had to communicate with her by phone and email . She did it all in an excellent manner as it was a surprise to my parents. They had a fantastic holiday . Nuwani organised the dinner on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Sandra, We thank you for choosing our Thambapanni Retreat for your stay in Unawatuna. We are grateful that you took out the time to review our hotel. It is our constant endeavor to provide you best of the services while you stay in Thambapanni as our guest's satisfaction is our main priority. We would like to take this opportunity...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Soon as we arrived at the secluded entrance to the hotel, we knew it was going to be a lovely relaxing holiday. On arrival the receptionist Nuwani , was polite, welcoming and friendly and helpful, she told us about our lovely room 101, overlooking the swimming pool and with views of the monkeys playing in the trees. It was unusual...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zoejersey2017
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear value guest, We thank you for choosing our Thambapanni Retreat for your stay in Unawatuna. We are grateful that you took out the time to review our hotel. Also our Thambapanni Ayurvda spa and YOGA also giving traditional treatments to relax you self in real srilankan way. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very friendly staff, awesome rooms and delicious food. We stayed there for a week and where happy all the time. Will definitely come again. Everything was very well organised. Clean rooms, healthy food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alain B
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear value guest, We thank you for choosing our Thambapanni Retreat for your stay in Unawatuna. We are grateful that you took out the time to review our hotel. Also our Thambapanni Ayurvda spa and YOGA also giving traditional treatments to relax you self in real srilankan way. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your...

England
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at Thambapanni hotel last year and had a fabulous time. The staff were excellent. The room lovely and kept spotlessly clean. The only one thing I would say is that there is a lack of comfortable chairs on the balcony and around the hotel, also the restaurant is too bright and bland. Would certainly recommend and return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TaskEngland
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear value guest, We thank you for choosing our Thambapanni Retreat for your stay in Unawatuna. We are grateful that you took out the time to review our hotel. Also our Thambapanni Ayurvda spa and YOGA also giving traditional treatments to relax you self in real srilankan way. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your...

uk London
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Mahendra,Piyumi & Nuwani could not do enough for us from our arrival until leaving and really made the last leg of our holiday a huge success.As we drove into Galle we felt a different energy than the rest of Sri Lanka and was a little worried but that was soon put to rest after our first night stay.the restaurant food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacksonfamilyusatour
Canton of Zug, Switzerland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel surrounded with the beautiful garden gives you the peace and atmosphere you are looking for. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and they make you feel at home. Especially Nuwani at the reception, Ishan from the housekeeping and Dameni in the restaurant have always an ear for you. The yoga lessons and massages from Ranjan were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danieltrachsel
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear value guest, We thank you for choosing our Thambapanni Retreat for your stay in Unawatuna. We are grateful that you took out the time to review our hotel. Also our Thambapanni Ayurvda spa and YOGA also giving traditional treatments to relax you self in real srilankan way. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Unawatuna and Thambapanni was an unpleasant meeting with mass tourism for our family. Unfortunately, we had booked 8 nights in advance at Thambapanni Retreat, which was our biggest flop ever as travellers in Asia. Compared to the nice guest houses and hotels, we had stayed in during our Sri Lanka round trip, Thampabanni was in our view a heavily over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mette G
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Mette, Thank you very much for staying with Thambapanni retreat. We have no wonder to have such a review from you. you have booked a room with us for eight nights and it seems trying to get free cancellation which can not offer from the hotel as a Hotel cancellation policy, we strict on due to heavy seasonal period...

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

Beautiful room of absolutely luxury, with a fabulous balcony overlooking the wonderfully kept plants and trees. A fabulous place to stay, and the staff were incredibly welcoming and friendly - particularly Ishan who was so helpful and kind from day one, Nuwani on reception, and Hashan in housekeeping - thank you all! I stayed 10 days and could happily have...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank kathmoss2017
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Kath, Thank you for the great review following your recent stay at Thambapanni Retreat, Unawatuna. We are glad to know your stay with us had been a memorable experience. Nuwani and the whole staff is an asset to us,their giving the fullest corporation and giving exceptional service standard to the guests who are staying with us. We are very...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed here only for 2 night unfortunately. Better book a week! It is a beautifull place Just 5 min from the beach. Directly when you enter the hotel you feel the warm welcome from the staff especially the lady Nuwani who is behind the reception, but actually taking care of you at all time. Just to make sure you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anneroos S
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Anne, It gives us a great pleasure that it was your great relaxing hotel ever .and glad to see all positives that you have written such as airy and spacious room. And we are happy that you enjoyed by using our all three properties. That is one of unique features that who have staying at Thambapanni Leisure hotels. It...

Reviewed 11 February 2017 via mobile

Overall we enjoyed our stay at thambapanni retreat. We had been staying in budget hotels so this was a one night treat! And compared to some places we stayed we were ecstatic when we saw the room! Very big with a bath outside the back! But then we noticed a huge trail of ants continuously marching through the room, very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty M
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Kirsty, Thank you for your stay at Thambapanni Retreat, Unawatuna and for sharing your experience on Trip Ad visor. We strive hard to offer our guests, clean and serene accommodation, we are grateful that you recognize this. Thank you once again for choosing Thambapanni retreat as your preferred Hotel. Best Regards Front Office Manager

712 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (449)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (103)
Viewed
Room/Suite (72)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (56)
Viewed
View from Room (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Other (142)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (46)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Room (36)
Viewed
Superior Bungalow (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#4 of 29 in Unawatuna
846 reviews
0.5 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#9 of 29 in Unawatuna
792 reviews
0.2 km away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 29 in Unawatuna
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
642 reviews
1.1 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
373 reviews
5.6 km away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#10 of 29 in Unawatuna
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A luxury boutique hotel with 16 rooms, surrounded by lush greenery and two minutes walk from the lovely Unawatuna Beach. All rooms are air conditioned, has en suite bathrooms with hot and cold water and mini bar. Some rooms over looking the sea or the the pool. The bungalows surrounded by many trees and view of the jungle. Most rooms have large balconies and on request a hammock will be included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thambapanni Retreat

Address: Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna, Galle 60800, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle > Unawatuna
Price Range: $83 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thambapanni Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Thambapanni Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna
Thambapanni Retreat Hotel Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#1 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thambapanni Retreat staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Thambapanni Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 101 had the perfect location, the rooms with balconies are best.”
 of 5 bubbles zoejersey2017, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“request superior and confirm if you have ocean view as there are not many rooms for ocean view.”
 of 5 bubbles jacksonfamilyusatour, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Top of the main hotel”
 of 5 bubbles BellePlagneNickP, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 110, 111, 112”
  • View of reception from the poolside
 of 5 bubbles MarionL683, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 10, 11 and 12 are superb”
 of 5 bubbles Elaine_Smith44, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5