We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thambapanni Retreat

Booking.comUS$36*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Thambapanni Retreat
Thambapanni Retreat
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

464 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thambapanni Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 307: English reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

I can't recommend Thambapanni enough! My family and I had an incredible stay there. The friendly staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home. The hotel is charming and beautiful and has magnificent tropical outdoor spaces. The children enjoyed swimming in the gorgeous pool. The restaurant is fantastic, and opens out onto the tropical...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicky V
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2017

This was our favourite hotel throughout the sixteen day of Sri Lanka. We arrived at 1:00 in the morning after a long journey from the airport and were amazed at the beauty of the hotel and grounds. We found our room (104) large and comfortable with a huge balcony overlooking the trees. We did have to climb 103 steps to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank mje777
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Value Guest , Thank you for your review about our hotel following your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear that your overall stay with us was pleasing and truly our hotel is situated in a very unique location. With a lush garden filled with varieties of flora and fauna and a bright blue pool with a...

Kansas City
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

We spent a week here in room 111 which I think is a bit larger than rooms 110 or 112. It is on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool area. The bed was comfortable. There is A/C and a ceiling fan which kept us very comfortable. We also had a veranda to sit on. There was a clothes drying rack...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank dixiepeach
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

I booked a holiday for my parents who were celebrating their 45th Wedding Anniversary and it was all organised by Nuwani as I had to communicate with her by phone and email . She did it all in an excellent manner as it was a surprise to my parents. They had a fantastic holiday . Nuwani organised the dinner on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sandra H
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Sandra, We thank you for choosing our Thambapanni Retreat for your stay in Unawatuna. We are grateful that you took out the time to review our hotel. It is our constant endeavor to provide you best of the services while you stay in Thambapanni as our guest's satisfaction is our main priority. We would like to take this opportunity...

Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Soon as we arrived at the secluded entrance to the hotel, we knew it was going to be a lovely relaxing holiday. On arrival the receptionist Nuwani , was polite, welcoming and friendly and helpful, she told us about our lovely room 101, overlooking the swimming pool and with views of the monkeys playing in the trees. It was unusual...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank zoejersey2017
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear value guest, We thank you for choosing our Thambapanni Retreat for your stay in Unawatuna. We are grateful that you took out the time to review our hotel. Also our Thambapanni Ayurvda spa and YOGA also giving traditional treatments to relax you self in real srilankan way. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your...

Reviewed 13 March 2017

Very friendly staff, awesome rooms and delicious food. We stayed there for a week and where happy all the time. Will definitely come again. Everything was very well organised. Clean rooms, healthy food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alain B
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear value guest, We thank you for choosing our Thambapanni Retreat for your stay in Unawatuna. We are grateful that you took out the time to review our hotel. Also our Thambapanni Ayurvda spa and YOGA also giving traditional treatments to relax you self in real srilankan way. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your...

England
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Thambapanni hotel last year and had a fabulous time. The staff were excellent. The room lovely and kept spotlessly clean. The only one thing I would say is that there is a lack of comfortable chairs on the balcony and around the hotel, also the restaurant is too bright and bland. Would certainly recommend and return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TaskEngland
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear value guest, We thank you for choosing our Thambapanni Retreat for your stay in Unawatuna. We are grateful that you took out the time to review our hotel. Also our Thambapanni Ayurvda spa and YOGA also giving traditional treatments to relax you self in real srilankan way. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your...

uk London
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Mahendra,Piyumi & Nuwani could not do enough for us from our arrival until leaving and really made the last leg of our holiday a huge success.As we drove into Galle we felt a different energy than the rest of Sri Lanka and was a little worried but that was soon put to rest after our first night stay.the restaurant food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacksonfamilyusatour
Canton of Zug, Switzerland
Reviewed 9 March 2017

The hotel surrounded with the beautiful garden gives you the peace and atmosphere you are looking for. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and they make you feel at home. Especially Nuwani at the reception, Ishan from the housekeeping and Dameni in the restaurant have always an ear for you. The yoga lessons and massages from Ranjan were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danieltrachsel
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear value guest, We thank you for choosing our Thambapanni Retreat for your stay in Unawatuna. We are grateful that you took out the time to review our hotel. Also our Thambapanni Ayurvda spa and YOGA also giving traditional treatments to relax you self in real srilankan way. We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your...

Reviewed 2 March 2017

Unawatuna and Thambapanni was an unpleasant meeting with mass tourism for our family. Unfortunately, we had booked 8 nights in advance at Thambapanni Retreat, which was our biggest flop ever as travellers in Asia. Compared to the nice guest houses and hotels, we had stayed in during our Sri Lanka round trip, Thampabanni was in our view a heavily over...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mette G
Thaproban, Front Office Manager at Thambapanni Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Mette, Thank you very much for staying with Thambapanni retreat. We have no wonder to have such a review from you. you have booked a room with us for eight nights and it seems trying to get free cancellation which can not offer from the hotel as a Hotel cancellation policy, we strict on due to heavy seasonal period...

751 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (488)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (108)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (60)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (79)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Other (160)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (234)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (46)
Viewed
Pool (22)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Standard Room (36)
Viewed
Superior Bungalow (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (40)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Unawatuna hotels
0.1 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 31 in Unawatuna
874 reviews
0.5 km away
Flower Garden Hotel
Flower Garden Hotel
#10 of 31 in Unawatuna
805 reviews
0.2 km away
Gloria Grand Hotel
Gloria Grand Hotel
#1 of 31 in Unawatuna
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 31 in Unawatuna
670 reviews
1.1 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 31 in Unawatuna
391 reviews
5.6 km away
Cantaloupe Aqua
Cantaloupe Aqua
#9 of 31 in Unawatuna
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A luxury boutique hotel with 16 rooms, surrounded by lush greenery and two minutes walk from the lovely Unawatuna Beach. All rooms are air conditioned, has en suite bathrooms with hot and cold water and mini bar. Some rooms over looking the sea or the the pool. The bungalows surrounded by many trees and view of the jungle. Most rooms have large balconies and on request a hammock will be included. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thambapanni Retreat

Address: Yaddehimulla Road, Unawatuna 60800, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Unawatuna
Price Range: $58 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thambapanni Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thambapanni Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thambapanni Retreat Unawatuna
Thambapanni Retreat Hotel Unawatuna
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Unawatuna
#2 Spa Hotel in Unawatuna
#8 Romantic Hotel in Unawatuna
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thambapanni Retreat staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Thambapanni Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay out of 115 and 116 - faces onto the Yoga course at 8 each morning.”
ricky_indo, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the beach house can be noisy. The retreat is quieter whilst still close to the beach & option to use facilitates there.”
scooney2017, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 101 with huge balcony overlooked the pool. really comfy bed. Some people struggled to climb to the higher rooms. 101 was perfect”
Lilly_Nell25, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Room 101 had the perfect location, the rooms with balconies are best.”
zoejersey2017, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“request superior and confirm if you have ocean view as there are not many rooms for ocean view.”
jacksonfamilyusatour, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$36* /night
View Deal
Agoda.com
PricelineUS$36
Hotels.com
View all 7 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates