We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel El Sueno

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Hotel El Sueno
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel El Sueno
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
Victoria, Canada
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This hotel was fine. Nobody speaks english though. The breakfast was really good. The rooms were fine but they didnt have AC. The bathroom was fine. Overall it was fine. Pretty cheap place. I dont think I would stay here again but it was fine for the two nights we were there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank puccinibear
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We were travelling with a group of students and while one of the students was showering, the showerhead caught fire and filled the bathroom with smoke and then the room with smoke. No smoke detectors or alarms went off in the room or in the halls. Once the front desk was advised, they instructed us to time the water use...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank LLL654321
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Stayed here on a two day excursion to the Monteverde Cloud Forest. The facility is a bit rustic but is quite good for the area. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast, which was included, had a number of options including eggs, pancakes, rice and beans, as well as a variety of fruits and juice. They serve very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gpotvin
London
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights it was 35 dollars a night. The rooms are wooden and quite small and basic, they do the job. There is no aircon or fan or sadly no hot water! Not good when it gets a bit chilly in the evening. You get two towels and one soap, the sink also hangs a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChilliLondon
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We are a 30 something couple traveling Costa Rica and found this hotel to be very clean, comfortable, and hospitable. Traveling in September, this is the off season. So it's very quiet. I would highly recommend this hotel. Notably, we booked a deluxe room at Pension Santa Elena on Lonely Planet's recommendation and, immediately upon seeing the room, cancelled our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arthur D
Rome, Georgia
Reviewed 11 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group on a school trip, while basic, it was clean and safe. The manager even came and lectured some of the kids on hotel safety after they left their room key in their door. The location can't be beat in the adorable town of Santa Elena- right around the corner from the "downtown" area with shopping,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Holly A
San Diego, California
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Wonderful hotel, the son of the owner was very helpful and helped us set up a coffee plantation tour, zip line and transportation over to Playa Hermosa. The rooms were cozy although it can get a little loud if large groups are staying there. Breakfast is delicious and the staff is friendly. Would definitely recommend to anyone just wanting an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank biowiz15
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I went to Costa Rica with a group of students from my school and a few other schools, and also chaperones. I was with the group mentioned in the comment below. Upon arrival, I immediately disliked the hotel. It was completely open to anyone. Also, the smell was absolutely horrible. After sleeping the night there, I woke up to my...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Worldtraveler781
rafa t, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

thank you for your comments now I wonder this ( we are a group of high school students. None of us are old enough to drink alcohol. ) I hope you were prying at the bar, and not driking doors were not forced and you claim you were robed early in the morning so the only way if you were...

Reviewed 17 April 2013

Took a group of high school students from the United States on an educational tour of Costa Rica and this was one of our scheduled hotels, the location was close to our planned activities and they were reasonably priced. Upon arrival our rooms, the bathroom particularly was filthy and had a lingering septic smell, not a huge deal if you...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Itravelight9
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear Itravelight9 we are sorry for all the trouble caused however after you and your group came back late a night from the bar, how can you blame us from your acts, doors were not forced, we have never had this issues here we dont want to say or mean to say is your fault for whatever you did that...

Montpellier
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We booked 2 nights to the hotel El Sueno with hostel bookers. When we arrive the owners of the place (i think the son and the father) told us there was no room reserved for us :/ Finally the son said that he goona put us in other hotel just next to him, but the quality was much lower and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Talvi1
rafa t, Public Relations Manager at Hotel El Sueno, responded to this review

Dear Talvi1 we thank you for your comments it help us get better every day please note you did not reserve directly with us, therefore is your responsibility to make sure you have a room, with who ever you book with. we try to do our best to get you a place at another hotel, we even offer you breakfast...

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
24.3 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
155 reviews
25.0 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#7 of 22 in Monteverde
170 reviews
22.9 km away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.4 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
23.2 km away
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
Sunset Hotel Monteverde
#10 of 22 in Monteverde
168 reviews
23.4 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel El Sueño is a family owned and operated lodge in the center of Santa Elena, a small village next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve. A favorite for budget travelers and backpackers, the lodging is hosted by a family originally from the Monteverde area. The eating/kitchen and reception areas are surrounded by the rooms, all with their outside private entrances. Three new rooms have been recently built at the back of the property. Breakfast is served daily between 6 and 8 a.m. and is very reasonably priced. Lunch and dinner are also available by request at good prices, and a homemade lunch will be made to go upon request, if you're spending the day in one of the nearby parks. Transportation service is also available to the parks as well as Arenal Volcano. The friendly owner, Rafa Trejos and his family, are helpful hosts, and offer horseback tours from their nearby farm ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel El Sueno

Address: Santa Elena Center | next to the Monteverde Cloud Forest Reserve, Santa Elena, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: $40 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel El Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel El Sueno Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel El Sueno staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If traveling on motorcycles, there is a great place to keep your bikes on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles connors776, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take room 18 - with big panorama window.”
 of 5 bubbles V9227LE_, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“As stated by another reviewer. Upstairs room at end of hall with view of town is nice.”
 of 5 bubbles RCJO, 13 Dec 2015 | Read review
“Second floor room with an opening window.”
 of 5 bubbles Traveloir, 15 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Something not facing the street”
 of 5 bubbles SNG56, 9 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay