We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Save
Share
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (5)
Overview
Hotel website
From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556 Costa Rica See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Family Rooms
Laundry Service
Free Parking
Pool
2 Star accommodation
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Reviews (350)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
144
79
16
9
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
144
79
16
9
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pancakes the owner the kitchen fruit free breakfast hot water fast wifi book tours la fortuna place to stay nice breakfast rooms are clean three nights private bathroom san jose cloud forest hostel
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 266 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2018

The negative reviews made me nervous after I had already booked this place. However, I didn't have a single bad experience here. Stayed five nights in a private room. Great location, plenty of food options nearby. The place was extremely, extremely clean. Nice hot water....More

Thank Knurly_Blog
Reviewed August 21, 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights and was really pleased with my experience. Both of the people I met on reception were incredibly helpful in regards to the hostel itself and the tours they could book for me. My room was very clean and the...More

Thank lucyd20453
Reviewed July 29, 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hostel for three nights in total. We booked the first two nights via booking.com for 10$ per Person for four of us and booked one more night for the same price for three of us. The rooms are clean, wifi works...More

Thank JojenR
Reviewed July 25, 2018

A group of 12 college students including myself were taking on Monteverde for the weekend and had absolutely no idea where to begin. We booked our stay with Sloth Backpackers B&B through Airbnb and were delighted to spend the weekend there. As soon as we...More

Thank Anakaren L
Reviewed April 27, 2018

I’ve travelled to many places around the world and this is the worst hostel experience I’ve had. I don’t know how the reviews are positive about this place but I really would read all of th negative reviews before booking a night here. The owner...More

1  Thank Dannybear24
Response from HotelSloth5, Gerente at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & BreakfastResponded July 12, 2018

Hi. we tried to help you ... we called the police, the police came to the hostel and I checked the security cameras and found nothing. It was your fault, to leave your things near the street, it is your responsibility to take care of...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and More travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. Less
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Room Service
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
5
Price range
US$21 - US$62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Location
Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Number of rooms
5
Price range
US$21 - US$62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Location
Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Photos
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (14)
Dining (5)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 8 nearby hotels
Hotel El Tucan
175 reviews
.03 km away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
822 reviews
.18 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
1,278 reviews
.36 km away
Hotel Jardines de Monteverde
189 reviews
.58 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 52 nearby restaurants
Orchid Coffee Shop
994 reviews
.07 km away
Beso Espresso
313 reviews
.08 km away
Raulito's Pollo
159 reviews
.09 km away
Toro Tinto
173 reviews
.10 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 35 nearby attractions
Monteverde Orchid Garden
547 reviews
.09 km away
Monteverde Butterfly Garden (Jardin de Mariposas)
741 reviews
.88 km away
Monteverde Frog Pond
290 reviews
.25 km away
Ecological Sanctuary
105 reviews
.53 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"The private rooms are great for the money"
Knurly_Blog
Aug. 25, 2018
Read review
"Don’t get any of the rooms"
Dannybear24
Apr. 27, 2018
Read review
"Some rooms have 2 bunk beds so you have more space specially you're traveling with 4 single people"
_ligayaginsburg
Apr. 3, 2016
Read review
"the best rooms are in another hostel/hotel"
961kierann
Feb. 22, 2016
Read review
Show More 
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing