We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

324 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Showing 249: English reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2016 via mobile

Room was clean and it is in a central location. My breakfast was awful, overcooked rubber egg, bacon with more fat than meat, burnt toast and pancake. The second morning I requested just an omelette and it looked like it was made from one egg, full of cheese? I politely asked for more egg and they said no more :/...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig H
yorlesloth, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hi very sad you had this bad experience here. 99% of our clients love our breakfast, so sad you did not. we are always willing to help

New Minas, Canada
Reviewed 29 April 2016

Though located in town, there is not a lot of noise from the main road. Nice rooms, 1 db and set of bunk beds, small bathroom, fridge, alarm clock, good sturdy doors for security. I liked the fact that guests have to wear a bracelet to show that you are staying there as no guests are allowed in the rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Belinda G
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

thank you we are glad you had a great time with us. we hope to have you back soon

Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

I just had the most delicious and filling breakfast accompanied by friendly and happy guests. The staff is friendly and kind. This place makes me smile! Everything is very clean and colorful. I love it all! I will be back! And the juice they serve in the morning is amazing! I'm so full and happy! Thank you all!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget C
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hi we are always willing to provide with the best service, our breakfast is well known in all monteverde, thank you for your review

Australia
Reviewed 19 April 2016 via mobile

Had a really nice stay here for 2 nights. Our room was clean , comfortable and bright. We had a nice area with table and chairs outside our room. Breakfast was great - omelette, pancakes, fruit and toast! Loads of food. All day coffee and tea available - not instant! Showers were mostly hot - the earlier you have one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LeeAnn M
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hello this is what we are here for. that is our mission to provide with the best service. and provide with the best information about all the tours in monteverde thank you for your preference

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Small room one db bed & one bunk bed.small bathroom but good water.serve a nice breakfast ,kitchen open @ 0630 great coffee ,you can use the kitchen to cook your own food if you want,dont forget to leave a tip.staff very nice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _ligayaginsburg
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hello this is what we are here for. that is our mission to provide with the best service. and provide with the best information about all the tours in monteverde thank you for your preference

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 27 March 2016

I only stayed here for the one night while passing through to another town and what a mistake that was! the town was so cute I fell in love and this hostel was a great find. Very clean and well kept, the hammocks outside were a lovely touch and the included breakfast made it very easy for us to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brittanyshef94
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hello this is what we are here for. that is our mission to provide with the best service. and provide with the best information about all the tours in monteverde thank you for your preference

Reviewed 17 March 2016 via mobile

This is one at of the cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in. The free breakfast is the best you'll ever find anywhere and the communal kitchen is well stocked. Owner/manager isn't the friendliest gal in the world and it really isn't a good spot to drink and hangout. They force you to retire to your room by 10pm, lame! But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clayton A
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

From the moment i arrived the manager argued, made me feel uncomfortable and even charged us more than agreed on booking.com. When ALL other guests arrived in the evening they had all had a similar experiences and ranged in age from 25-50ish. The evening consisted of everyone recounting on how awful she had been to them until she threw us...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Kieran N
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 22 February 2016

If you want to be downtown then this is an excellent place. My husband and I stayed in a private room over the office. The room was clean, pretty large and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was nicely prepared and included fruit egg and toast daily plus either a pan cake or rice and beans daily. Coffee and tea are available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anchoragecontractor
HotelSloth5, Manager at Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

hello this is what we are here for. that is our mission to provide with the best service. and provide with the best information about all the tours in monteverde thank you for your preference

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2016

I stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed it. I was in a dorm room and the rooms were very clean and bathrooms very clean too. The free breakfast was great and a lot of food too. The staff were very friendly and helpful and could advise on paid and free activities too. The location was great too, right...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ilive4travel4eva

79 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
1:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.9 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#6 of 21 in Monteverde
218 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
223 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
#13 of 21 in Monteverde
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
1,054 reviews
0.1 km away
Pension Santa Elena
Pension Santa Elena
#5 of 34 in Santa Elena
679 reviews
0.1 km away
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
Santa Elena Hostel Resort
#13 of 34 in Santa Elena
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B is one the most famous hotels in thegateway to all touristic venues in Santa Elena of Monteverde. Personalattention by Owner YORLEWe are the number one option for backpackers and travelers in Costa Rica.In the Town, without Noise.The Hotel Sloth Backpackers B&B is in the perfect place to stay andrelax after a busy day of activities.Offers clean, Dorms and comfortable rooms, and each room has a private bathroomwith hot water 24 hours & Dorms with Bathrooms, towells, FreeInternet or Wi-fi, kitchen Fully Equipped Free, Free Coffee & Tea all Day.Free breakfast includes:Coffee, tea, pancakes, bread, butter, jam, eggs and fresh fruits.Also, Hotel Sloth Backpackers B & B, offers: laundry services, Office information with the best prices in activities, special for Groups and Students.2 Minutes from the only public bus station,Downtown, only 2 minutes to the bus stations, banks, restaurants, night life, souvenir stores, and supermarkets.If you need me (Yorle) pick you up at the bus station, send an email. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast

Address: From the bus station walk to the corner Popular Bank, on the left at 50 meters there is Sloth Backpackers | 75 metros este from Chamber of Tourism, Santa Elena 5556, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: $40 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast Monteverde, Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Sloth Backpackers Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms have 2 bunk beds so you have more space specially you're traveling with 4 single people”
_ligayaginsburg, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
“the best rooms are in another hostel/hotel”
961kierann, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Stayed in a private triple room, it was great and very comfortable.”
Cy_roar, 22 May 2015 | Read review
“Rooms 10 & 11 are the farthest away from the road. They have private baths. We were able to get wifi in room 10”
DarDarTheRockStar, 18 Feb 2015 | Read review
“Prefer to stay on first floor. Less traffic and they placed and extra router for wifi which works great now”
475stephana, 13 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5