We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Monteverde Country Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Monteverde Country Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 197: English reviews
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed a couple of nights and found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. Very windy at night! The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful in arranging things that we needed. Breakfast was OK, didn't try the dinner. There are several restaurants near the hotel, or it is 10-15 minute walk from the centre of the town. Overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shakenit2017
amsterdam
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here a couple of nights to do Monteverde. And left one night earlier than we had reserved and paid for. The wind in Monteverde is strong at night, very strong. So strong that Monteverde Country Lodge creaked and squeaked so loud that we couldn't sleep. And, according to the locals the wind was very mild in the week we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank flyguy68
Sacramento, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for two nights while exploring Monteverde. Rooms were minimal but clean and comfortable. Monteverde isn't really a place where you lounge about your room, so it was fine for the amount of time we spent there. Staff were nice and we took advantage of their happy hour- 2 drinks for $5 USD! The restaurant food was average. No...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beyag16
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr / Mrs Beyag. Thank you for your very nice review, we´d really like our guests to grade our restaurant much better, we try to offer a nice local menu, CostaRican food, good service and good quality. We are improving every day and hopefully our future guests will agree with us. We have very good added values, service, personnel,...

Lubbock, Texas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Rooms were average. No heater or AC in room. maybe because they are eco friendly hotel. Breakfast was below average. Nothing note worthy, just your average hotel. Price to value received is not bad. my teenage daughter complained about wifi.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank m p
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Mrs M.P. Greetings. Amongst the mid-range, mid-level, average hotels is you wish, we are the best of all, we have the nicer grounds, ambience, a sister property with a pool and hot tub, our superior rooms are very nice compared to the local standard. Our restaurant features local recipes, local food and its very good. Prices are very good,...

Norcross, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This lovely facility is working hard to be eco friendly and sustainable. The rooms are all wood, all disposable items are recycled, including the TP. Meals are good and very reasonably priced.there is often music in the restaurant, and they provide 2 for 1 drinks during Happy Hour. There are a few additional restaurants located nearby. Amenities one a TV...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcia P
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Marcia. Greetings from Hotel Poco a Poco, thank you very much for your review. We have improved our environmentally friendly practices during the past years and we have gained higher levels of Sustainable Tourism Certification, we try our best and really appreciate your comments. At Monteverde Country Lodge we are part of the solution!!! We try our best...

San José
Reviewed 4 December 2016

This is an excellent choice to rest and have a good night in Monteverde. This is a beautiful quiet hotel, the room is so confortable, breakfast was great. This is also a green hotel, so, you contribute to nature getting there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cris A
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Cris. Thank you for your comments and for recommending Monteverde Country Lodge to others. Your feedback will allow us to improve, correct and supervise the standard of service and to achieve excellence. We try our best to provide the best service, best experience and to show the old fashioned - Mountain style of hotels from the classic Monteverde....

Reviewed 29 November 2016

Maybe because our travel days were not in peak season, our room had a weird smell when we first entered the room. We suspect the smell from sheet and comforter. But after one night, the smell mostly disappeared. Breakfast was buffet style and was good. Unexpectedly, TV channel also includes CCTV4 (中央电视台国际频道)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Xiaoqin Z
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr/ Mrs Z. Thank you very much for your review, we do have situations sometimes, ( especially during off season ) when rooms get a bit of moldy smell, when we endure some harsh rainy, wet, and cold weather here at the continental divide. Before guests check in, we clean and inspect rooms thoughtfully, yet sometimes the damp smell...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as part of a prepaid tour package. Considering the first hotel and last hotel we stayed at were top notch, this one was extremely disappointing. This hotel did not seem to fit in with the rest of our package, and I've emailed the company to advise them to exclude this property from their selections. Upon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor user, we are very sorry this was your experience while staying with us, It sure looks like you had it all!! Karma perhaps? Bad vibes?? You have summarized all the bad things mentioned by others in one single stay, from cold weather to basically a room with a bed and a shower. I´ m not denying such...

Victoria
Reviewed 8 November 2016

The staff were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The room didn't have air conditioning, though we were here during the rainy season and it wasn't very hot. No wifi in the rooms. The room we were in didn't have a very nice view, not sure if other rooms had better views or not. For the price I don't think we'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheresaPen
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Pen. Thank you very much for your comments. Let me remind you we had special discounts during the slow season, i´m sure your rate had an attractive discount, specially due to our remodeling works. We hope you change your mind and come visit us again. There are no A/C hotels in Monteverde. Except for our Hotel Poco a...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 8 October 2016

We were here for one night as part of 3 day tour around costa rica booked through Costa Rican Trails, maybe that is why we got a bit of a discount or something. The breakfast is good, I dont know what the other posters were expecting. The dinner is reasonably priced seeing that this hotel is up on a mountain....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travellingmonkey89
GuidoMontero, Director General at Monteverde Country Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Mr Travelling Monkey. Thank you very much for your very nice review, sometimes I think about what other might be expecting, since as you stated, our breakfast, meals, prices, and overall quality is very good. I´m not saying were are a 5 stars, yet, we deliver good service, good food and comfortable, clean facilities. I do believe our Superior...

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (34)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
0.3 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
169 reviews
0.4 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
980 reviews
1.3 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
185 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
0.5 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Monteverde Country LodgeMonteverde Country Lodge is Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco's fully renovated sister property. It compresses the philosophy, experience and desire to create a new lodging option where tradition and personalized service are the most appealing features. Monteverde Country Lodge offers the comforts of modern establishments with the rusticity, warmth and tradition of the Monteverde from 1980's. Starting Jan 1st, 2014; Monteverde Country Lodge will offer two different room categories, based upon amenities, area and construction materials. 36 Wooden, warm and comfortable Classic or Standard rooms. Guarded by front corridors on both, lower and higher levels, with gardens and neat open areas. Room's amenities are: Cable tv, telephone, safe, and private bathroom with hot water shower. Classic rooms offer: 1 or 2 double beds, 1 single and 1 double bed and 2 double beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.24 Superior rooms. Newer and more modern, with more space; more comfortable bathrooms, corridors, balconies and great views of sunsets and surroundings. Cable tv, telephone, safe, wireless internet access, hair dryer and coffee maker available. Superior rooms offer: 1 king size bed, 2 queen size beds or 2 queen beds and 1 single. Maximum occupancy: 5 people.All hotel rooms are surrounded by patios, fountains and gardens which provide the ideal location for relaxation and enjoyment. Wireless internet access, laptops and a fully equipped meeting room are also available for guests and visitors. Children will enjoy a great time at the playground and open areas. Construction materials, techniques; and regular operation procedures are compatible with the environmentally friendly practices of our times, as well as accessibility, security and new standards of comfort, quality and service. Monteverde Country Lodge was granted by the Costa Rican Tourism Board with 3 levels on the Sustainable Tourism Certification. Ecological Blue Flag and Green Flag Accreditations have been awarded to Monteverde Country Lodge by two consecutive periods. Our well trained personnel cater for the satisfaction of our guests at all times. Clients interact with dedicated, informative, capable hotel representatives willing to assist and provide the best service possible. Whether at Front Desk; at the restaurant, where quality, homemade style and fresh ingredients are combined or at the bar, with a friendly, familiar atmosphere where our guests can enjoy our warm hospitality and amenities.Music: For over a year now, Monteverde Country Lodge has embraced music as a new, fulfilling way to reach to guests and provide them with special experiences. Live music at Front Desk, during meals at restaurant, recitals on the gardens, serenades and more is available for the guest's enjoyment. Monteverde Country Lodge: a great lodging option in Monteverde!!! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monteverde Country Lodge

Address: 3 blocks south and 50 meters east from the Rafael Arguedas elementary school | Cerro Plano, Santa Elena 506, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: $100 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Country Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Monteverde Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Country Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monteverde Country Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Monteverde Country Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“as for a room closer to reception for good WiFi.”
 of 5 bubbles travellingmonkey89, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Probably best to try somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles martingY4002VA, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the second level are great. Nice view.”
 of 5 bubbles TeacherFreddie, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Any room will be fine...they are all in a cluster”
 of 5 bubbles donlewis1985, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Wifi is not in the rooms, but downstairs.”
 of 5 bubbles musicsunset, 21 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay