We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Monteverde Rustic Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,056 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 882: English reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed 2 nights at Monteverde Rustic Lodge with our 2 kids (9&11). Great place - basic but comfortable & very clean. The owner and his brother made much of the furniture themselves and if you love woodworking you'll find it all beautiful. We got great recommendations at the desk for tours and food - spot on for what we needed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon trip travelling around Costa Rica. We arrived to a very friendly welcome and carried my very heavy luggage off the bus. Breakfast was excellent and they were happy to bring out extra portions for my husband, who likes a lot a very heart breakfast. Great wifi connection in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OHonestOne
Downey, California
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My stay in low season was a rip off . Plan on having them change overnight price depending on who you are . I paid $55 last year for decent room . And the unfriendly girl at front counter tried to get $75 from me for same room . I told her I paid less last time so she dropped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank douglasangulo
erickht, Manager at Monteverde Rustic Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Douglas Douglas We think you are confused with our hotel. Anyway we will clarify each point so you can know about us. 1. Our prices have been $ 75.00 in single or double room including taxes and breakfast. Also, the products that are in the bathroom are organic. We do not know where you got $ 60.00 but it...

Rijswijk, The Netherlands
Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

The staff was very friendly. Rooms are very dark and not really decorated but clean. Nice seating area in front of the room. Breakfast area is really nice. Location is within walking distance of the centre and many restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maartennig
Herradura, Costa Rica
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This is how one feels when staying in this proud family run lodge, like home sweet home. Yes the rooms are clean. Yes the beds are comfortable. Yes the breakfasts are tasty. Yes the grounds are beautifully kept. But don't we all remember places when the people are kind, welcoming and yes, a family. My second trip to this lodge...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angusdorval
Reviewed 14 October 2016

I was only in Monteverde for two nights, but my stay at Monteverde Rustic Lodge was very enjoyable. The rooms were simple, spacious, and very clean. The staff is incredibly friendly and hospitable, from Denise at the front desk to Jose at breakfast time (and everyone else in between). The fact that the hotel is also eco-friendly is a cherry...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kristina N
Buenos Aires
Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is very beautiful, everything was clean, not noisy. For the price I think it really was an opportunity. And the hotel is very well located!! The guys are really really nice, they will help you to find the activities that suit you. I really recomend you this place!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank soso1981
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

I arrived exhausted during dawn in Monteverde after driving an impossibly hard grovel mountain road. Found the small hotel on top of a hill, a tropical oasis. Staff was beyond expectations helpful &friendly. Clean rooms breakfast cocked to order.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Georgiuo
Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights while visiting the rain forests.. The rooms are clean...big.. The breakfast menu was rich... The hotel staff was very helpfull.. Our lost luggages were sent to this hotel by Air France ...while we were visiting the rain forests ..the hotel staff received them and transferred to our rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Özlem C
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Good Breakfast, nice location, friendly owner and staff. nice animals in vicinity for your kid who is missing their cats and dogs! Walk to town and good restaurants. Do not miss Santa Elena Preserve. Selvatura was fun as well, both can be done in a day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seth J

317 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (248)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.5 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
1.0 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
936 reviews
1.7 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#6 of 22 in Monteverde
169 reviews
1.5 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
155 reviews
0.8 km away
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Monteverde Rustic Lodge is a small family run hotel in the heart of Santa Elena Monteverde. Our lodge is recommended for solo travelers, couples, nature lovers and families. Our mission is to make sure that every single guest we have has a great individual experience and that each of you will go home with wonderful memories. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monteverde Rustic Lodge

Address: 800 mts north from Santa Elena | Santa Elena Monteverde, Santa Elena 50309, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: $97 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Monteverde Rustic Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Monteverde Rustic Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Rustic Hotel Santa Elena
Monteverde Rustic Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monteverde Rustic Lodge staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Larkspur, Colorado
7 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Monteverde Rustic Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms have many options: extra beds, porches, glassed in area, etc. web site is good.”
 of 5 bubbles Angusdorval, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are located near each other as it is a fairly small place. Therefore, in my opinion, all the rooms are fabulous.”
 of 5 bubbles P1920XSbrianj, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I trust all rooms are great”
 of 5 bubbles 263teresag, 7 Apr 2016 | Read review
“We had the large room next to the office and it was perfect for our needs.”
 of 5 bubbles clairefA8092MG, 30 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back are very private. Great for couples travelling together with a private outdoor sitting area.”
 of 5 bubbles P177VHbrianb, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay