We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Booking.comUS$97*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$129*
US$97*
US$99*
US$129*
US$97*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

441 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 338: English reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

Amazing biodiversity, great for walks, you need like 4 hours to see it all, you can shoose the short road to, in the area there are plenty activities to make, canopy, rapel, bungee, tarzan swing, and more

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mau E
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed our facilities.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 10 April 2017 via mobile

Remotely located from Santa Elena town (which is the city center in Monteverde) in the middle of the forest - a great Lodge with friendly staff and delicious breakfast + superb dinner. Down sides: If you don't have a car you will need a taxi to get to town (restaurants, supermarket) Wi fi sucks... Still highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nhashai
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Cloud Forest Lodge.

Logan, Utah
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We took a quick side trip from the Pacific coast to this lodge and were so glad we took the time! It's a bit of a drive to get there with plenty of windy, gravel roads, but this place is not to be missed. We only had a couple of days, so the onsite tours (night hike to explore local...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review!! I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Cloud Forest Lodge.

Reviewed 7 April 2017

This place is wonderful! Beauty everywhere you look. The staff is amazing and the food is delicious. They prepare most of their food from scratch...yum! The rooms are comfortable, but not posh. It's a wonderful lodge ("off the grid") experience. If you are looking for a place to party, choose other accommodations. If you want to experience the magic of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Teresa B
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed the Magic of Monteverde at Cloud Forest Lodge. Looking forward to your next visit.

Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 6 April 2017

After a bone jarring ride up to Monteverde, you arrive at this beautiful lodge. Animals and birds abound here on the property attracted by the fruit the staff puts out several times a day! Coatis, agoutis, armadillos, hummingbirds and a huge array of other birds and bats coexist here. Rooms are spacious, bungalow style - no TV and no need...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherrywyse57
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge.

Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 April 2017

lovely hotel, cabins in the grounds were very nice and you could hear the jungle noises, great. Food was very good too. there are trails within the grounds which you can walk and spot the wildlife, also zip lining, which is rather noisy as people scream past you overhead, so unless the birds are used to it, best to go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Timber2013
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed nature and adventure at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge.

Reviewed 1 April 2017

We had a great time at the cloud forest lodge. They have their own trails around the grounds, and even have night hikes on site. The restaurant and bar were also fantastic--bartender (Gustavo?) was super friendly and made some great cocktails. They have hummingbird feeders at the bar, which was fun to watch. They also have feeders out off a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shonna M
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! I am glad you enjoyed our hospitality at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge. Hope to serve you again in a near future.

Lichfield
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Breakfast is superb especially the homemade granola. Dinner is extremely disappointing. Bird table next to restaurant attracts birds and monkeys. 30 minute walk down into Monteverde town and $6 taxi back. Several trails and zip wire on site to keep children happy. Adjoining wall of attached lodge is paper thin so aware of neighbours.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChorleyLichfield
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! Sorry you found dinner to be "extremely disappointing". As you can see from other reviews, dinner is "extremely good" according to other guest. I do apologise for the thin walls, we are trying to figure out a way to solve this problem. Most of our clients book our lodge precisely because we are away from...

northeast
Reviewed 22 March 2017

I went with my sister and brother-in-law. We loved our little cabin. The rooms were wonderful, and we enjoyed sitting on our little porches watching birds, and having a cup of coffee before breakfast. It was chillier than we thought up in the mountains, but that didn't matter. It never took away from our enjoyment. We spent a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank loves2takepics
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge. We are the ideal place for nature and relaxation.

Maine
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Traveled to Monteverde as a change of scenery from Nosara. Picked the lodge based on other reviews and glad we did. Our cabin was extremely clean and cozy - who would think I'd be glad for a fleece blanket on the bed in Costa Rica? Breakfast was quite good, though a limited menu. Dinner in the restaurant was also quite...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MaineLab_mom
Taylorinnbnb, Owner at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge.

284 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (256)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (85)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (97)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Elena
1.3 km away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 21 in Monteverde
1,068 reviews
1.6 km away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 21 in Monteverde
229 reviews
1.3 km away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 21 in Monteverde
1,290 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 21 in Monteverde
230 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Cipreses Monteverde Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Your one-stop location at Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge offers 72 acres of primary and secondary forest, canopy tour, over 3 miles of private trails and more than 180 species of birds in a quiet and wonderful place. Our beautiful gardens and bungalow-style bedrooms make a great place to relax, rest and enjoy nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge

Address: PO Box 531-1000 | northern Tilaran Mountain Range, Monteverde, Santa Elena 232-5150, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde > Santa Elena
Price Range: $134 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monteverde Cloud Forest Hotel Monteverde
Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge Costa Rica - Santa Elena
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Monteverde Cloud Forest Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I had room 14 - only complain was the shower floor should be slanted so the water goes down the drain not stay.”
Beckyher1541, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“N1 and N2 are near where the staff throw out fruit for the animals otherwise all of the rooms are well situated”
sherrywyse57, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for cabin with an unobstructed view.”
socaltravelers2016, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“some rooms over-look car park”
528RichardW, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms are the same”
799Phyllis, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$97* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$99
TripAdvisorUS$97
CancelonUS$129
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates