We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Oysterfleet Hotel

Expedia.comUS$56*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Oysterfleet Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Oysterfleet Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 176: English reviews
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

A very freindly family orientated bar in a hotel food Is excellent with a nice bar menu or later in evening an extensive restaurant menu in the restaurant overlooking the lake nice hotel to stay in also a function room for concerts weddings

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Both our bar and restaurant menus have lots of variety and we are glad you enjoyed your meal with us. I have passed on your comments to the departments and we hope to see you again in the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 June 2016

Overall you get what you pay for. The hotel itself isn't bad. It's clean, the room was spacious and it is very reasonably priced. However it is a shame that the staff just don't seem bothered. We stayed for a wedding, and found them hard work. Any opportunity to go the extra mile was ignored. When wanting to decorate the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SarahLeanneG
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay at the hotel. It would have been helpful if you had spoken to the Receptionist on duty when you checked out and passed on your feedback as then we could have tried to deal with your complaints. The staff...

Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Went for the roast dinner on Father's Day, service was shocking and the beef was smelly and tasted off. Told waitress and it took 15mins for them to finally stop serving it. No apologies! Then had to wait another 15 mins for Bill.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Prodigygee
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent meal on Fathers Day. We are disappointed that you felt the beef was off. Our Sunday Carvery is very popular especially on occasions such as this and we aim for the highest standard with both the food and...

Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2016

I stayed for a long weekend to visit friends, having previously lived in the area but never stayed in hotel I was open minded but aware of some negative reviews. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the room clean with a topped up supply of tea and coffees. The shower was good hot and powerful but a shelf...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristineandBruceG
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Our staff aim to provide a welcoming, friendly service and I'm happy we were able to continue with our high standard of customer service. It's also good to hear that you enjoyed your meal in the restaurant, it...

Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2016

Today I organised lunch for 59 pensioners at the Oysterfleet, everything was perfect, service of Haley and staff, high quality of food. Everybody enjoyed the day and we will be back next year on demand rm members

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am glad to hear you had a brilliant lunch in our Lighthouse restaurant. Hayley and the team work extremely hard and I'm happy to hear the service was of high standard. I will pass on your comments to Hayley our restaurant manager and Steve our head chef. Thank you for...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2016

I used to eat here some years ago when I lived on Canvey Island probably last time 8 years ago. Was always great and one of the best locally. Sadly things have slipped. Had burgers with my girlfriend which were ok, but the chips were frozen not fresh. Menu outdated and needs a revamp. Don't think we will return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AshtonSeymour
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent meal. Our bar menu has an extensive range and has been updated recently. We are a busy establishment and the chefs work hard in producing a menu suitable for everyone. I will pass on your comments to the head...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We stayed at this hotel for two weeks and suffered through the whole experience because there are no other hotels or motels on the island. The walls are paper thin and TV's and conversions can be clearly heard in the adjacent rooms. We endured noise from the Function room at the weekends which was so loud that it drowned out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gortradingpost
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay at the hotel. It would have been helpful if you had spoken to the Receptionist on duty when you checked out and passed on your feedback as then we could have tried to deal with your complaints. Although we...

Reviewed 30 May 2016

We had family room (23) a wedding was on and we were made aware before hand of noise until it finished around 12.30 ,we were directly above disco and it sounded as if he was in the room (very good disco) However then at 1am a argument in the next room 24 which we could here every word as the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
Charlene C, Hotel Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay due to the music from our function room and the disturbance from the room next door. As you stated we do always warn all of the guests staying in rooms that are situated above the function room as...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2016

We were warned when we booked that an event was happening the night we were staying but had no idea the music would be so ridiculously loud, the walls in our room were vibrating and there was no chance of sleeping until the night had finished. The receptionist was lovely, and the room was big. Bit weird there wasn't a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shystate
Leigh R, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Oysterfleet Hotel. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay due to the music from our function room. As you stated we do always warn all of the guests staying in rooms that are situated above the function room as they are the ones that are affected by...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Room was clean and tidy, and appeared to have been recently renovated. Towels in the room along with Shower Gel The pub associated with the Hotel is great, lovely location overlooking the lake, and the local wildlife Didn't eat at the Lighthouse restaurant attached to the Hotel but the food looked good as did the pub food

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
Charlene C, Head Receptionist at The Oysterfleet Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of The Oysterfleet Hotel. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. All our rooms have recently been renovated and it's great to see positive feedback from this. It is always nice to receive positive feedback from guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the...

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canvey Island
0.7 km away
Endeavour Hotel
Endeavour Hotel
#2 of 2 in Canvey Island
50 reviews
9.6 km away
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eastern Esplanade) Hotel
Premier Inn Southend On Sea (Eas...
#1 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
692 reviews
7.5 km away
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hot...
#8 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Westcliff Hotel
Westcliff Hotel
#2 of 5 in Westcliff-on-Sea
578 reviews
8.6 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Southend-on-Sea
Park Inn by Radisson Palace Sout...
#12 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
1,150 reviews
9.0 km away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Food & drink at the hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Oysterfleet hotel is a family run hotel situated in the town centre of Canvey Island. The hotel has 40 rooms that are all en-suite with tea and coffee making facilities, TV's and hairdryers. A wide range of accommodation is available including single rooms, double rooms, twin rooms, family rooms, interconnecting rooms and our suite. Complimentary parking is available on site. Access to the internet is BT Open Zone and charges will be applied. We have both a pub that serves bar meals every day and an a'la carte restaurant on site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Oysterfleet Hotel

Address: 21 Knightswick Road, SS8 9PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Canvey Island
Price Range: $85 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Oysterfleet Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Oysterfleet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Oysterfleet Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Oysterfleet Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for Room 26 upwards were possible”
AndyCorns, 30 Apr 2017 | Read review
“pre-book taxi”
darrenb_12, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“avoid room 20 there is a fan noise all night.”
Hippychris, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Enjoy your food we did.”
benfleetjan, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Find another hotel, plenty of choice off the island”
196pamelah, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$56* /night
View Deal
HOTEL.INFOUS$68
Toprooms.comUS$64
TravelocityUS$56
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates