We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

68 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Showing 68: English reviews
Kilham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We have just had a weeks stay at the Granary cottage , it was our 5th time. We just love it here and are booking again for next year . The cottage is homely, , clean and tidy . Phil and Sue are great and gave us a lovely welcome

Helpful?
Thank Lucinda677
Chudleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2016

This is an excellent choice of accommodation if staying in the west of lancashire and you are after a rural experience. Great base to access all the larger towns and cities near by too, eg southport, Liverpool, Preston and Manchester. We were warmly received by the owner who allowed access to his own garden and fields for the children to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie H
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Stayed mainly in 'Shippon' we have one night in 'the Dairy' Phil and Sue have been very accommodating to us, especially last year when we had a family crisis. They are helpful and have created a family atmosphere here.

Helpful?
Thank Weymarkl
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed for a week at Martin Lane Farm. Our holiday here was idyllic. We stayed in "The Stable" and it was perfect; exceptionally clean (and I'm fussy!), lovely country cottage feel and extras such as washing up liquid, dish washer & dish washer tablets, clingfilm & tinfoil, sandwich bags, toilet roll etc. all included which makes a big difference.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Headrige
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2016

A lovely setting in farmland makes this a tranquil spot just minutes away from the Leeds and Liverpool canal and an easy drive to either Burscough or Southport. Phil and Sue are the new owners. They are most welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Together with help from Phil's parents they are working hard to improve the property and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Zita B
pemtek, Owner at Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you! we really enjoyed you both staying here and we are very grateful for your help (and cake). We enjoy sharing our farm, as we get to meet so many great people like yourselves. The work rate on the improvements is still far from slowing down as everything we touch turns into a bigger job than first thought! I... More 

Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Everything you need, and more, for self catering inc free wi-fi, large cobbled courtyard for parking, lovely gardens, hot tub and extensive grounds with sheep, lambs and chickens. Phil and Sue have only been running it for a few weeks but working energetically to further improve. Great green facilities, recycling etc and own eggs. Owners here to greet and live... More 

Helpful?
Thank QualityTraveller2
pemtek, Owner at Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! We have been working hard to improve the farm and the accommodation and your comments are very nice to hear when we have been working so hard. Thank you Phil, Sue and Charlie More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2016 via mobile

Having been before I would have recommended to friends and family. However, I was there in the same cottage as last time and was extremely disappointed in the standard of cleanliness. The bathroom floor was filthy. There was a previous residents scummy soap and shower gel in the shower. Round the bin on the kitchen floor had been washed without... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teri W
pemtek, Owner at Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review

Hi Teri, I am sorry you were disappointing and it is a pity you did not tell me of any issues when I came to greet you or at any other time. The "filth" in the bathroom you referred to and photographed was in fact Impact adhesive used for the door stop which had become dislodged. I agree there should... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2016 via mobile

We came here for a weekend over the Easter holidays, we are a family of five! The cottage we stayed is was Granary cottage which is a spacious 5 bed cottage. On arrival we met the owner who was very accommodating. The cottage itself was spotless and fitted our needs perfectly, very comfortable , With all amenities. Slightly dated but... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey N
pemtek, Owner at Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind review, it was nice to meet you all and I hope you can stay with us again. Phil, Sue and Charlie More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Visiting from Canada we stayed in the Shippon on this trip visiting family in the local area. We met the new owner for the first time, He was quite friendly along with the resident chickens in the courtyard. Still the same high standard and would recommend. This is our 7th stay at this location.

Helpful?
2 Thank Ray J
pemtek, Owner at Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, it was great to meet you. We hope to see you on your 8th visit :-) Phil, Sue & Charlie More 

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We chose to stay at the Stable because it had 2 bathrooms and was all ground floor. It also had its own gated entrance which would be nice and private in the warmer months when able to sit outside. The other cottages appeared to have a shared courtyard for the outdoor seating area. The cottage was very cold when we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank jandst1
Elaine S, Owner at Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. So glad you enjoyed your break and I hope you will visit Martin Lane Farm in the future. More 

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
0:22
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burscough
3.5 km away
Premier Inn Southport (Ormskirk) Hotel
6.3 km away
Rufford Arms Hotel
Rufford Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rufford
222 reviews
9.8 km away
Ramada Plaza Southport
Ramada Plaza Southport
#1 of 27 in Southport
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lancashire Manor Hotel
10.9 km away
Formby Hall Golf Resort & Spa
12.5 km away
Holland Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Four delightful, award winning, country cottages in Lancashire. Nestling in the rich arable farmland of West Lancashire between the beautiful seaside resort of Southport and the bustling market town of Ormskirk.The cottages, ranging in size and character, have been expertly converted from former farm buildings. The Stable has been specially designed to be fully accessible for guests with all disabilities, it is bright and spacious. All the cottages are fully equipped with every modern convenience yet still retain lots of the original features.The area is ideal for walking & cycling and being only 2 miles from the Wildfowl & Wetlands Trust at Martin Mere, it's a bird watchers paradise. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages

Address: 5 Martin Lane | Lancashire, Burscough, Ormskirk L40 8JH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Ormskirk > Burscough
Price Range: $77 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
tenerife
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Martin Lane Farm Holiday Cottages staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only had one point to raise and that is the main bathroom shower did not have a good power pressure and we mentioned this in our visitors book.”
 of 5 bubbles alisonmccartan, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are two ground floor cottages.”
 of 5 bubbles 241zita, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Self catering but great farm fresh meals available at Burscough Farm”
 of 5 bubbles 614668bc, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All the cottages were excellent and only the number of sleeping units would affect the choice”
 of 5 bubbles Kippa2403, 2 Oct 2014 | Read review
“Lovely, comfortable and clean " home from home". In a lovely spot just off the beaten track but a quick car ride to lots of places on the west coast. Enjoyed every minute. Would certainly recommend and go again.”
 of 5 bubbles joyced821, 2 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay