We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Falcon Hotel

Save
Share
St. Johns Street, Bridgnorth WV15 6AG England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
US$190
US$167
View deal
SAVE US$23
Free cancellation until 21-08-30
Booking.comUS$190
eDreamsUS$190
Priceline
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (34)
Dining (15)
Room & Suite (9)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-out
Read more
Updated 20-07-15 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Falcon Hotel
Updated 20-07-15 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 3 hotels in Bridgnorth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
The Falcon Hotel is a 17th century coaching inn on the east bank of the River Severn at Bridgnorth. It is one of Bridgnorth’s best known hostelries. The hotel has been under new management from October 2012. All rooms have been refurbished and the top floor has been totally re built with en suites added. This has created a hotel with a total of 16rooms, provided with a mixture of double, twin, single, family rooms and two apartments The rooms are all on a bed and breakfast basis. The Falcon is a substantial building that retains many of the original features. It is a Grade II Listed period property of traditional construction.There are two outside seating areas. One is enclosed at the rear of the hotel and the other is at the side of the hotel allowing access to both the carpark and the town centre, via the arch. The car park is open to the public on a pay and display basis but residents are issued with a parking permit during their stay. Due to Covid - 19 , we have taken the decision to temporarily keep our downstairs facilities closed at this time. This includes our Bar, Lounge & Restaurant areas. A continental Breakfast box is prepared ready in your room. Local businesses still offering food & drink including cooked breakfasts are available within walking distance and we can recommend these to you.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free public parking nearby
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Hiking
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Paid private parking on-site
Car park
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Canoeing offsite
Fishing
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Walk-in shower
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Radio
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
152Reviews3Q+A16Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 86
  • 37
  • 20
  • 8
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Alan T wrote a review Oct. 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom160 contributions43 helpful votes
My family and I stayed here for 2 nights, as my sister was getting married in Bridgnorth. We were advised 48 hours before our stay that the facilities in the hotel were closed until the 31st of October, which was disappointing as that was part of the reason we booked this hotel. We'd booked 2 family rooms, and my partner and I stayed in Room 10 which was nice enough, very spacious, and a bathroom that's HUGE. Unfortunately, there was no bath, just a small shower, which was, again, disappointing. The room itself was fine, but very basic. The hotel also has a small communal fridge in the hall, so we could put some drinks in to chill which was nice. The plumbing isn't great, and the shower doesn't drain all that well. Breakfast was included in the price, but due to their restaurant being closed, breakfast was served at the pub a few doors down called The Black Horse. When we arrived it was pleasant enough, but you have to get your own drinks from a very small table, used by other people, and nothing was being wiped down. Literally scooping Nescafe from a tin, pouring water from the kettle and a jug of milk, which everyone was handling. We had to shout from our table, across the restaurant what breakfast items we wanted, and the food was terrible. My partner and I were both feeling a bit unwell afterwards, and we chose not to eat there the following morning. The location of the hotel is great, with easy access to high town using Bridgnorth Taxis, who were superb, and we also went on the funicular for £1.60 return which was lovely, and would definitely recommend having a ride on it. I probably wouldn't mind staying here again, but would definitely look elsewhere before returning.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Falcon Hotel, Owner at The Falcon Hotel
Responded Oct. 24, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure meeting your family during such a special occasion. The food and beverage facilities are indeed closed at this time as stated on our website (in both an instant pop-up that you have to physically close, on a dedicated page relating to our covid response and on our restaurant page), in all correspondence you were sent, on our restaurant trip advisor page & on booking.com at least 9 times. So it is unfortunate if this important information was missed before booking with us. We have three rooms available on site with baths in the ensuite, next time let us know if this is a preference of yours and we will endeavour to accommodate. All rooms have an iron, ironing board, flat screen HD televisions, tea & coffee facilities which includes a selection of specialist fruit teas, and local still and sparkling water from Much Wenlock. Your room even has its own sofa. Apologies if you felt this was basic, I have passed the feedback on to the hotel management team. I have passed your comments regarding breakfast onto the team at that venue, it's such a shame that nothing was mentioned to them at the time. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your time here in beautiful Bridgnorth, for such a special occasion in such a special place. We hope to welcome you back soon Thanks for staying with us.
Read more
Richard R wrote a review Sep. 2020
Leicester, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Loved this hotel when we stayed here September 2019 so immediately booked again for this year. Well what a difference a year makes. The room wasn't cleaned to a good standard e.g paper in the toilet, cleaning of room in general wasn't to the standard we expected. Towels were changed but couldn't be bothered to wash the teacups we had used the previous day. We opted for breakfast at The Black Horse 3 doors away but this was so covid unfriendly we couldn't wait to get out. Very small breakfast room with everyone cramped in together. Everyone was asked to use the same fresh juice jug & the waitress serving breakfast wasn't coping well. The waitress was shouting from the buffet to ask what items of food you wanted on your plate & you had to shout back from your table what you required. You had to gather around a small table to get your own tea & coffee as well. How is the Black Horse Covd friendly? Needless to say we didn't go back the next day for Breakfast we ate out the next morning at another hotel in the town. No facilities open at The Falcon at all, the bar, the restaurant the whole downstairs area closed. I believe the Hotel is up for sale & the excuses they make for their own facilities not being open because of covid reasons dosn't add up. I won't be going back unless the hotel opens up fully. Better off going self catering.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Falcon Hotel, Owner at The Falcon Hotel
Responded Oct. 24, 2020
Richard, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent stay with us. It's great that we have so many returning guests. As explained to you in correspondence and upon check-in, the rooms are not fully serviced during your stay to limit contact between guests and team members during this world pandemic, as stated towels are changed if requested. I have passed your comments regarding breakfast onto the team at that venue, it's such a shame that nothing was mentioned to them at the time. The food and beverage facilities are indeed closed at this time as stated on our website (in both an instant pop-up that you have to physically close, on a dedicated page relating to our covid response and on our restaurant page), in all correspondence you were sent, on our restaurant trip advisor page & on booking.com at least 9 times. So it is unfortunate if this important information was missed before booking with us. The hotel is not for sale, and we are currently refurbishing the food and beverage facilities to open very soon, due to our industry guidelines being much clearer and government support for the sector now being available - but we thank you for your concern. Thanks for staying with us.
Read more
ostrich719 wrote a review Sep. 2020
London, United Kingdom70 contributions31 helpful votes
I couldn’t rate The Falcon more highly from the moment we arrived Jon took the time to explain why the restaurant was currently closed (too small an area for staff to work safely) and the options of a continental breakfast in your room or a cooked breakfast in the next door restaurant. The rooms are clean and well presented. But what made the difference was the team. Everyone was super friendly, helpful and delivered a great service and we had a great time as a result.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Hawkins, Guest Services / Front Office at The Falcon Hotel
Responded Sep. 4, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave such an amazing review, the team are all wearing beaming smiles as I type this! It's great to read you enjoyed your stay with us and you found your room to be clean and well presented. I really do appreciate your understanding in regards to our Covid-19 policy and procedures in place and with reference to our restaurant and bar remaining temporarily closed, we can't wait to get them back open soon, but the safety of our team, guests and all of our loved ones is our absolute priority during this time. I thank you for joining us and hope to welcome you back to The Falcon again soon!
Read more
Derek B wrote a review Aug. 2020
London, United Kingdom245 contributions38 helpful votes
The hotel looks great from the outside and they have made a real effort to be covid safe. It seems the restaurant and bar is closed as the hotel is up for sale not for covid reasons. My room was fine for the price but cleaning was not up to scratch. there was a large cobweb from the window across to the kettle. Facilities were basic but value for money as it is not expensive. I hope that when it is bought that some redecorating of the rooms and a little extra thought into room facilities will be implemented.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Andrew J wrote a review Aug. 2020
Warrington, United Kingdom33 contributions50 helpful votes
Lovely hotel and free parking. Restricted usage due to the pandemic meaning the bar was closed. Very friendly staff and rooms are clean and well presented. They are warm in the summer months as no air conditioning. Traffic noise from the street can be annoying but 7 pints of Stella made sure that wasn’t a problem. Breakfast was served at their sister pub a couple of doors down which was excellent - but the cleaning of the tables between guests was a little to be desired... a cursory wipe of the placemats is all that took place. But overall excellent. The breakfast was superb... highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Jon Hawkins, Guest Services / Front Office at The Falcon Hotel
Responded Aug. 3, 2020
Andrew, Thank you so much for a lovely review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We really do appreciate your understanding in regards to the steps we're taking to keep guests, team and our loved ones safe during this time. We can't wait to have our full facilities back open again either! I have passed all comments regarding breakfast onto the team there. Thank you for choosing to stay at The Falcon, it was a pleasure meeting you both, we hope to welcome you back soon!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$110 - US$155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
falcon hotel bridgnorth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandShropshireBridgnorth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Falcon Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Falcon Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Bridgnorth Castle and Grounds (0.4 km), Bridgnorth Town Hall (0.4 km), and St Mary's Church (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Falcon Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, meeting rooms, and a golf course.
Which room amenities are available at The Falcon Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a sofa bed, and a walk-in shower.
What food & drink options are available at The Falcon Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Falcon Hotel?
Yes, free public parking nearby, a parking garage, and paid private parking on-site are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Falcon Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Boatyard, Bamboo Wine Bar, and Eurasia tandoori restaurant.
Is The Falcon Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 km away from the centre of Bridgnorth.
Does The Falcon Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Falcon Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Dudmaston Estate (5.0 km), St Mary's Church (0.4 km), and Upton Cressett Hall (6.4 km).