We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wheelwrights Arms

TripAdvisorUS$124*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$124*
US$124*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Wheelwrights Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wheelwrights Arms
See the most recent reviews
Showing 283: English reviews
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

We loved it. Big room, warm bed, lovely staff and beautiful food. Recommended to anyone if you want to visit the city of Bath. The staff organised a taxi for us and educated us a little bit on the place. It was absolutely lovely!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2015 via mobile

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here 1st of December. We had an amazing time, the Xmas market and Bath had so much charm and I highly recommend visiting them. The Wheelwrights Arms was a perfect place to stay. The food was of a very high standard and our room was very comfortable. Thank you to all the staff and have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jay A A
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 November 2015

Family concerns required my presence in Bath. The Wheelwrights Arms took my last minute booking and were able to extend my stay and keep me in the same room. The staff could not have been more caring and at the end of some very long days I came back to an oasis of calm and some delicious food. I subsequently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Springharvest1991
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Room was clean and tidy however we had little or no hot water to bath in so it was cold and uncomfortable then we find out the boiler was not working properly ( we only knew as we over heard the landlord on the phone.) Food was good would have liked more choice though. The Staff were friendly and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie B
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2015

Visited this place on Tuesday 17th for lunch and although the venue is well presented..........Steaks were sent back 3 times because they were not cooked correctly. Furthermore the food was very poor, very very salty and despite this having been a problem in the past the food was presented in exactly the same manner. Fish pie and vegetables was virtually...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank MikeMar09
WheelwrightsArms, Manager at Wheelwrights Arms, responded to this review

Hi Mike, We were disappointed to see that you had chosen to write such an aggressive review. We think it is only fair to set the record straight on two matters: 1) You didn’t know how you wanted your steak cooked, and so asked the young lady who we presume was your daughter how you should have it. She recommended...

Penarth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2015

We loved the peaceful charm of this hotel & restaurant. The room was cosy & comfortable and just a short walk from the restaurant, which has retained it's pub roots. Real log fire and excellent food. Staff were very friendly. Will definitely stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
WheelwrightsArms, Manager at Wheelwrights Arms, responded to this review

Thank John, see you again soon!

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2015

We were a group of six foodies & none were disappointed. They gave us a private area & looked after us v well. I can't now remember what anyone had to eat, but i do remember that the wine list was good. Not cheap, but worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigAnnII
Reviewed 8 November 2015 via mobile

Our friend has moved to the West Country recently and we took her for lunch to a pub not far from her new home. She had been recommended the pub by a friend we found it very good with wonderful friendly service the food was very good indeed and the puddings were great I had sticky toffee pudding and ice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Westno
london
Reviewed 7 November 2015

2 night stay while visiting Bath The wheelwright arms s about 10 minutes drive from bath Booked a 2 night stay Room 5 clean twin bed room with a lot of space and large bathroom Coffee tea and chocolates in the room and you know when places want to make a difference bottles of water On 1st night had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank skyblue87London
WheelwrightsArms, Manager at Wheelwrights Arms, responded to this review

Thanks we are pleased that you had a good time. We have firmer pillows available - just ask us next time you come to stay!

Reviewed 25 October 2015

My son has recently moved to Monkton Combe. We went here while visiting for a few drinks. The area is beautiful and the Wheelwrights Arms fits perfectly. The place was small quiet and peaceful. The staff were friendly, polite and efficient. We had a lovely relaxing evening and will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean S

273 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (24)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (207)
Viewed
First Floor Double Room (31)
Viewed
First Floor Double Room with View of Valley (36)
Viewed
Ground Floor Double Room (35)
Viewed
Ground Floor Single Room (29)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
05/06/2017 06/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monkton Combe
6.0 km away
Apsley House Hotel
3.6 km away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
1,226 reviews
4.2 km away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#13 of 35 in Bath
1,337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Bailbrook House Hotel
3.9 km away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
3.4 km away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wheelwrights Arms Country Inn is nestled in the peaceful village of Monkton Combe and surrounded by picturesque hills and valleys on the edge of Bath ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wheelwrights Arms

Address: Church Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath BA2 7HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath > Monkton Combe
Price Range: $169 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheelwrights Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wheelwrights Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wheelwrights Arms Hotel Monkton Combe
Wheelwrights Arms Monkton Combe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wheelwrights Arms staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Wheelwrights Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try top right room (I think nos is 3). Has best views - one with ladder door. I think there is one family room.”
Plankton786, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose the annex rather than the main building if you want a quiet room”
428JamesB428, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are located in quiet positiosn away from the main building.”
DavidPickett, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms 6 and 7 are beautiful and room 3 has a shower if preferred.”
334brianu, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“With only 7 rooms, but the one upstairs at the back was lovely”
happytrippers20, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$124* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$124
Agoda.com
PricelineUS$124
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates