We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thainstone House

Hotwire.comUS$146*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
13/06/2017 14/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$163*
US$146*
US$148*
US$163*
US$146*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Thainstone House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

599 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 595: English reviews
Start your review of Thainstone House
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Enjoyed my stay at Thainestohe although my top floor room is n the eaves was extremely warm. Good wi Fi. Great food apart from a minuscule portion of cured salmon. Good wine list! Great breakfast. Lovely grounds and courteous staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harry H
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed here recently from Friday afternoon to Tuesday checkout at 11am. This is a lovely hotel with very friendly and helpful staff who are prepared to bend over backwards to make your stay as comfortable as possible. However the hotel was not without a few a couple of problems, and my stay not without a couple of mistakes. That...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Marie S
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Set in the quiet countryside of Inverurie, this is a beautiful hotel with an eclectic mixture of old and new. There is a lovely pool, gym and spa area. The bar is well stocked and there were people having afternoon tea when we arrived. It looked delicious. The room we were in was a standard double. It was clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elsie S
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for your feedback and kind comments regarding your recent stay with us. I have taken your points on board and we are always happy to provide more toiletries should you require. I am really please that you enjoyed the food and we certainly look forward to a return visit. Kind regards, David McDonald General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Beautiful hotel, beautiful location, and if you can catch Steak Night on a Thursday then you are on a real winner. £17 for a fillet steak of the highest quality, with trimmings to match. I'll be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for your kind comments. I have passed your feedback to the team and we hope to see you back again in the hear future. Kind regards, David McDonald General Manager

London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I've now stayed here twice on business (2 nights each time), and basically the hotel is fine. The building is lovely, the rooms are pretty good, and the food is ok. But there are things I noticed during both stays that have bothered me to the point that I wouldn't stay here for pleasure. 1) the main restaurant only does...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BobAlmighty
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to highlight the problems that you have encountered during your recent stays with us. With regards to the food I would like to apologise that the reception team have not highlighted all the various dining options. In our Green lady restaurant we have the six course taster menu priced at £35 to...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for a special birthday afternoon. Had a lovely afternoon tea with delicious food and very helpful staff. Lovely location and very peaceful setting for a great afternoon out. Would happy spend every afternoon relaxing here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VisitingHay
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for your kind comments relating to your recent visit. We hope to see you again soon for another lovely afternoon tea. Kind regards, David McDonald General Manager

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Both my wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Thainstone house and felt that the service was excellent. The staff were very accommodating when I asked for their help organising a little surprise for my wife at dinner both nights. They made us feel welcome and also gave my wife a happy birthday plate of gorgeous chocolate strawberries. I...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anne O
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to talk with you on check out and as promised we will feedback the positive comments to the team and we will work hard on the points that you raised...

Carluke, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked an overnight as a surprise for my husband's birthday, stayed in an executive king room. The room was very spacious with a large, modern bathroom. The view wasn't great (overlooking the bins!) but this didn't bother us as we were there to use the spa facilities and try the 6 course tasting menu on a DB&B rate. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AngieHam76
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, many thanks for taking the time to provide us with your very honest and generous feedback on your recent stay with us. I am so glad that you and your husband enjoyed his birthday treat and it was our absolute pleasure looking after you. I have noted your positive and negative comments and will ensure this is communicated...

Aberdeen
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Hadn't been here for ages so thought it might be nice to visit for lunch with my elderly (but sprightly) mother and teenage daughter. The set up for lunch was less than ideal with low sunken armchairs and higher tables. The most practical table/chair combinations were all reserved though not used during the time we were there but we rearranged...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amvAberdeen
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to let me know of your disappointing experience with us. I have raised your comments with the team and we fully intend to take your points on board. We should have offered you a table in the restaurant that would have suited better I think. Should you provide us with the opportunity...

Aberdeen
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had a family celebration here last night and had a meal in the Green Lady restaurant. There are lots of positives about this place - the old style country house decor, leather sofas & armchairs in a cosy bar, excellent food (at least in the Green Lady restaurant) and so long as you don't mind the service being a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jackiefarquhar
GMThainstone, General Manager at Thainstone House, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Many thanks for taking the time to provide me with your honest feedback and also for your continued support towards Thainstone House. As you will see from my recent posts I started just over 6 months ago and whilst I believe we have made progress in a number of areas you have identified we still have some work...

197 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (167)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Dining (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Other (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
13/06/2017 14/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Inverurie
9.1 km away
Macdonald Pittodrie House
Macdonald Pittodrie House
#1 of 1 in Chapel of Garioch
588 reviews
21.0 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Ardoe House Hotel and Spa
3.5 km away
Strathburn Hotel
Strathburn Hotel
#3 of 5 in Inverurie
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Ardennan House Hotel
Ardennan House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Inverurie
77 reviews
31.8 km away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
20.1 km away
The Marcliffe Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sitting resplendent in 44 acres of lush meadowland, Crerar Hotel's Thainstone House has been lovingly restored to provide the very best in private and corporate hospitality. All 48 bedrooms which have been tastefully refurbished at Thainstone are created especially for your comfort. Elegant furnishings and restful décor are complemented by all the facilities that you would expect to find in a luxury hotel. In the sumptuous Georgian setting of the 2 AA Rosette awarded Green Lady restaurant you can linger over a mouthwatering menu prepared by our team of internationally trained chefs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thainstone House

Address: Inverurie AB51 5NT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Inverurie
Price Range: $108 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Thainstone House 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Thainstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swallow Thainstone House Hotel Inverurie
Swallow Thainstone Hotel
Thainstone House Hotel
Swallow Thainstone Inverurie
Thainstone Hotel
Thainstone House Inverurie, Scotland, UK
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thainstone House staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Thainstone House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front have a good view of the surroundings.”
ElsieS923, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“Junior suite Rm 405 is wonderful”
, 4 May 2017 | Read review
“I believe some of the rooms are a bit on the small size but ours was fine.”
GCH1, 18 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Pay for a better room”
LindaJ56, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for the 6 course taster dinner - very good value!”
jaysofatherton, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotwire.com
US$146* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$148
TripAdvisorUS$146
CancelonUS$163
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates