We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thainstone House

Save
Share
Inverurie, Inverurie AB51 5NT Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
US$128
View deal
Booking.comUS$128
eDreamsUS$128
TripadvisorUS$128
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
View all 10 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (357)
Dining (59)
Room & Suite (57)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Read more
Updated 21-04-27 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Thainstone House
Updated 21-04-27 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#2 of 5 hotels in Inverurie
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Sitting resplendent in 44 acres of lush meadowland, Crerar Hotel's Thainstone House has been lovingly restored to provide the very best in private and corporate hospitality. All 48 bedrooms which have been tastefully refurbished at Thainstone are created especially for your comfort. Elegant furnishings and restful décor are complemented by all the facilities that you would expect to find in a luxury hotel. In the sumptuous Georgian setting of the 1 AA Rosette awarded Green Lady restaurant you can linger over a mouthwatering menu prepared by our team of internationally trained chefs.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Full body massage
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
867Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 418
  • 231
  • 115
  • 67
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
kathleen g wrote a review Jul. 13
Dundee, United Kingdom59 contributions45 helpful votes
Cant fault the staff in the hotel very friendly and helpful. We ate Lunch on the Saturday and diner in the evening. Breakfast the next morning the food was amazing but the waiter and waitresses seemed rushed off their feet. Dinner was especially noticeable as we had a long time to wait. The servers were very professional. We would however have liked our rooms closer together but this was not possible as we had a twin room and a family room. The family room was up a staircase at the top of the building.Wish I had asked this before booking as I am not the fittest. We had a problem with the sink in the family room and the toilet in the twin room. We also noticed a lot of dust in the communal areas. Which I realise this is a housekeeping issue. As it was a spa break and there was 5 of us we were taken at 2pm 3pm and one at 4pm.We did not use the pool facilities. We were all a little dissapointed with the treatments that were supposed to last 50 mins but were over in under 40 mins. The foot treatment sounded good on paper but very dissapointing in reality. It was just another name for a pedicure 3 of us had this treatment. One had hot stone massage also cut short. Also not what was advertised. One had a full body massage. Cut short also. And not what was advertised. I have been for treatments at the spa a few years ago and found it delightful and well worth the money. We were very dissapointed with this and reflects badly on the hotel. Think the Spa should be honest about the treatments advertsed and not make it out to be something it is not. Date of Stay 10/7/2021
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McDonald, General Manager at Thainstone House
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Kathleen, Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent stay with us. Whilst it was pleasing to see that you enjoyed the majority of your stay it was disappointing to read your comments regarding. May I ask that you contact Rachael, Spa and Leisure Manager on spa.thainstone@crerarhotels.com. Kind Regards Scott
Read more
Leanne G wrote a review Jul. 9
Forres, United Kingdom20 contributions23 helpful votes
We had a 2 night midweek stay and unfortunately we were quite disappointed with the food and lack of knowledge from the waiters/waitresses (we spoke with the supervisor on duty the evening we had dinner - 8/7/21 - and she explained they were having supply issues and there was going to be a new menu come Monday, which for other guests I really hope is good! Also not sure if the waitersses are new but they had very little knowledge of drinks on offer and seemed very nervous. Also on arrival we were told that the pool had to be booked in slots and we were not able to just go and use it before/after our spa treatments that we had already booked in advance. The receptionist tried her best to accommodate us and we understand that we are in covid times but we would of appreciated being informed of this prior to arrival. Thankfully my husband was able to get in for a swim before his spa treatment however I wasn't. We both have massive praise for the service/kindness given from the spa team, they were very polite and helpful and really the reason for our 3/5 stars. Breakfast this morning - 9/7/21 - arrived and wasn't too busy. The lady supervisor on duty did not come across as friendly at all, she seated us at a table and the butter looked like it had been sat there since the previous morning, half melted (was not a hot day). We asked for a new one and we were given one but we're still left with the yucky looking one. In my opinion the butter should be brought out fresh with your toast. There was a young girl on shift too and when I asked for marmalade she promptly got it and was very polite and friendly, high praise for her! Unfortunately would not return here to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Call and book pool in advance of arrival. Go into Inverurie to the Sabai thai restaurant - was...
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McDonald, General Manager at Thainstone House
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your balanced review and the constructive feedback it contained. I will be sharing this with the team and asking them were possible to use it in a positive manner. Kind Regards Scott
Read more
Ruthieg1986 wrote a review Jul. 7
3 contributions
We had come here a few years ago and Wanted to return. Was as good as we remembered. Husband and I both had spa treatments, pool prebooked and hot tub/sauna lovely. Few niggles at dinner, had booked for 7 and waited a good while for our main. But the staff were apologetic and attentive. Second night we had our infant son with us and dinner at 5;30, quick service and all so friendly to our son especially which made the experience even more enjoyable that he was made most welcome. Would recommend staying in “the nursery”. Food was good. Lovely grounds to enjoy a drink or run around with a ball if you wish. Depends who you’re in company with ;) I wish I remembered names for special mentions but the ladies on reception on the morning of the 24/6 and also morning of 25/6 were so good. The waiting staff on the 23/6, the young man was brilliant. Showed maturity beyond his years and the manager of the restaurant also on both nights 23/6 and 24/6 was great and made sure we had an enjoyable stay. Would come back again definitely! Loved our time here and felt a great break being away. If you’re in the area and want to try an ice cream: definitely recommend Barra Berries in old meldrum area.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McDonald, General Manager at Thainstone House
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for your brilliant review following your return to Thainstone, I will be sharing your kind words with the team. Best regards Scott
Read more
JMRS33 wrote a review Jul. 5
Aberdeen, United Kingdom48 contributions63 helpful votes
My adult daughter and I stayed here for a spa break. Booking was great, we received our proposed itinerary within a few days of booking and were able to upgrade the spa treatment for a reasonable additional cost. On arrival, staff were friendly and competent. Our room was lovely and well appointed and ready for use even though it was 1pm. We had afternoon tea in the lounge with lovely views over the grounds, bonus was the wedding. Food was good and preferences were accommodated, waitress was knowledgeable and friendly. The hot tub/pool/ sauna time was prebooked for us and being outside sitting in the warm water in the hot tub was a real treat. Our spa treatments were fine, therapists were good, though the form used to identify the areas to concentrate on or to avoid may need to be clearer as there was an impression that the 'concentrate' were the only areas to massage when doing full body massage? I'd also suggest that some assistance to manage the covers for the client when they are balancing on a small table while mostly undressed and not in first flush of youth would be very welcome. There was a small issue with my treatment which was dealt with quickly and efficiently. Our package included an allowance for dinner, and we both chose steak. This was very nice, though mine was undercooked (medium/well done - more like medium rare), I sent it back once but still the same. Staff were apologetic and this certainly didn't detract from the overall lovely meal and experience in the green lady dining room, and desert is recommended. Breakfast was just fine. Overall we had a lovely break in a very nice country house and while we had a few small issues, staff were very good at managing these. We would recommend this hotel and the spa break.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McDonald, General Manager at Thainstone House
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent visit. Whilst it was pleasing to see that the team were good at managing the few small issues you encountered, I am sorry that these happened. Kind Regards Scott
Read more
Moira S wrote a review Jul. 3
Falkirk, United Kingdom7 contributions7 helpful votes
I would like to praise the staff at my daughter's wedding were brilliant they were so helpful with everything nothing was any bother This a lovely hotel in a stunning location I would definitely recommend it thanks to all the staff for help.making it an amazing day
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Scott McDonald, General Manager at Thainstone House
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Moira, Thank you for your review and recommendation, I am glad you all had an amazing day. Kind Regards Scott
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$79 - US$1,292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
swallow thainstone house hotel inverurie, swallow thainstone hotel, thainstone house hotel, swallow thainstone inverurie, thainstone hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandAberdeenshireInverurie
NUMBER OF ROOMS
48
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Thainstone House
Which popular attractions are close to Thainstone House?
Nearby attractions include Castle Fraser Garden & Estate (7.8 km), Garioch Heritage Centre (3.4 km), and East Aquhorthies Stone Circle (4.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Thainstone House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Thainstone House?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Thainstone House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Thainstone House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Porterhouse Steakhouse and Coffee Bar, Fennel, and Via Roma.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Thainstone House?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Thainstone House?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Thainstone House?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Thainstone House offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Thainstone House?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Castle Fraser Garden & Estate (7.8 km), East Aquhorthies Stone Circle (4.4 km), and East Aquhorthies Stone Circle (4.4 km).
Does Thainstone House have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.