We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

LakeFront Backpackers Lodge

Save
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (12)
Pool & Beach (3)
Overview
Lakeside Drive, Lake Tekapo New Zealand See on map
AMENITIES
Internet
Free Parking
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Golf Course
Laundry Service
Self-Serve Laundry
4 Star accommodation
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
15
41
40
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
15
41
40
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomten minute walklocation is greatlog firelake edgehot springsmount johngreat kitchenviewscabintoiletsdatamountainsheatingchurch
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

Stayed here for a night as part of a tour. We were put into the "glamping" tents on site. They were very spacious, but as we were here in April, so near to winter, it was freezing. The tent came with a mini heater, which...More

Thank Emalea S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Bad experience , charged 200 hundred dollars for a smoking inside when I smoked outside !!!! Paid upfront on Monday 3rd of September!then charged two days later , after one voicemail!!! Bloody outraged. Want my 200 dollars back. For only staying a room , money...More

Thank Extraordinary813443
Response from Andrea C, General Manager at LakeFront Backpackers LodgeResponded 1 week ago

Dear Erin Yes you paid on arrival being the 3rd for your stay and departed the next day. After you chose to ignore my message on the 4th regarding smoking in your room and didn't get back me I charged you on the 5th under...More

Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

Dorm rooms were very small, we stayed in a 4 bed mixed dorm that was incredibly small. Lodge seemed loud due to high number of people staying. Walls are really thin so you can hear doors closing and footsteps from your bedroom. Still have to...More

Thank X1on66
Response from Andrea C, Front Office Manager at LakeFront Backpackers LodgeResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we cannot offer free WiFi at this stage as because we are in such a remote part of the country, we do not have Optic Fibre. It will hopefully be coming soon :-) I can understand if the...More

Reviewed July 16, 2018 via mobile

We were apprehensive about staying in a shared room (it was all we could find for our budget) but we’re pleasantly surprised as the rooms were super clean and warm, we only shared one night with other people out of three nights- we were lucky-...More

Thank Adventure810645
Response from Andrea C, Front Office Manager at LakeFront Backpackers LodgeResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Amy, Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review. I will pass on your comments to the Lodge Manager :-) We always clean 3 times a day, so that guests can have a more comfortable stay. We are so...More

Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

We booked a double room with shared bathroom and we're absolutely delighted when we say our little set-up. We had a cabin with 2 toilets and 2 showers right outside our door. The room was heated when we arrived, the bed was extremely comfortable and...More

Thank Brutally_honest08
Response from Andrea C, Front Office Manager at LakeFront Backpackers LodgeResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi! Thank you for the great review :-) Lake Tekapo is a very popular place so the hostel can get full most days, but I am glad you found the facilities sufficient. We try to make sure everybody has enough space to cook, relax, and...More

View more reviews
About
Hotel class
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Golf Course
Laundry Service
Non-Smoking Hotel
Self-Serve Laundry
Shuttle Bus Service
Pool
Room Service
Restaurant
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
Kitchenette
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette
Number of rooms
14
Price range
US$23 - US$71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Lakefront Backpackers Hotel Lake Tekapo
Location
New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette
Number of rooms
14
Price range
US$23 - US$71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Lakefront Backpackers Hotel Lake Tekapo
Location
New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Mackenzie District > Lake Tekapo
Photos
Traveller (59)
Room & Suite (12)
Pool & Beach (3)
Dining (1)
Family and Play Areas (2)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 4 hotels in Lake Tekapo
Peppers Bluewater Resort
3,737 reviews
.97 km away
Lake Tekapo Village Motel
735 reviews
1.26 km away
The Godley Hotel
559 reviews
1.44 km away
The Chalet Boutique Motel
352 reviews
1.85 km away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 15 restaurants in Lake Tekapo
Kohan Restaurant
1,099 reviews
1.39 km away
Astro Cafe
837 reviews
1.58 km away
Mackenzies Cafe Bar Grill
1,168 reviews
1.34 km away
Reflections Restaurant
702 reviews
1.23 km away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 27 attractions in Lake Tekapo
Lake Tekapo
2,200 reviews
1.20 km away
Mount John Summit Circuit Track
39 reviews
.55 km away
Earth and Sky
831 reviews
1.16 km away
HeliServicesNZ Tekapo
81 reviews
1.35 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from LakeFront Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Room Tips
"Avoid this hostel"
Read review
"Stayed in room 9 & 10, which face the lake & right next to the kitchen! Also few steps away from..."
Read review
"If you choose a dorm room facing the lake, you also face onto the communal BBQ area (I'm glad we..."
Read review
"Try to get a room that face to the lake, you can just open the slide door and sit and enjoy =]"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing